We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A little pricey, low ceilings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little pricey, low ceilings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This Marriott is very clean and has a great location. What is weird about it, is how low the ceilings are in the hallways and the bathrooms. The hotel also is very oddly shaped and has multiple buildings, attached by long hallways.

It is an older property, but is up kept well.

The food services, while of excellent quality, is significantly overpriced.

It's a good stop over point and that's it. If you like a more modern approach - there are many other options that provide transportation to/from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ua85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    239
    140
    53
    29
See reviews for
99
116
52
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Due to a flight cancellation in the middle of a long itinerary, the airline put me up at the Dulles Airport Marriott. I was grateful for a very comfortable bed in a clean, spacious room. Located right on the airport property, I was surprised at how very quiet it was. The airport shuttle runs every 15 minutes. Only complaint is that there was a charge for wi-fi in the room, but it is free in the lobby and restaurant areas if you don't mind the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Dulles Airport Marriott is right on the airport property, so the courtesy van is a 2 minute ride to the terminal. Great for that early morning flight or late return. We used their Stay-Park-Fly package so what we paid for the room was less than long-term parking, and made it (somewhat) easy to catch that 6:00 a.m. flight! Room was clean, comfortable, and airplane noise was not a problem. We travel 6-10 times per year, live about 90 miles from major airports, and therefore use the Stay-Park-Fly packages frequently either before or after our trips. We have found that Marriott properties have consistent quality and use them frequently

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fosoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location is convenient to the airport and the hotel is modern. Their service was good including breakfast restaurant. The staff were professional and friendly. My room was quite spacious, modern and with comfy bed. Unfotunatelly there was no free WiFi conection in the room and it was overpriced. But generally good impression and stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chambersburg,pa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

i agree with other reviewers, this is THE most convenient hotel to the airport and takes some stress out of the traveling process. The lobby restaurant is a little busy and hard to get service at times. Definitely not someplace where you can de-stress, but you can get some grub before you hit the road or the sack. The rooms are a little smaller than usual, but most are only going to spend a few hours sleeping there anyway so its not a factor, if you just want to park and fly and save the cost of parking at a Dulles economy lot. You do still have to pay a nominal parking fee but its cheaper than the Dulles fee and you have less risk of missing your flight for sure. My main complaint is that they must have the worst system for the shuttle. I have stayed there several times before flights and twice on my return we had problems with the shuttle. Once we even had to walk back to the Marriott because the 'substitute' shuttle vehicle only had a sign in its window indicating it was affiliated with the Marriott...and the sign had fallen out of the window!! i dont know how many times it passed us but at 1 AM i was not going to wait forever. Unfortunately, i had entered their phone number incorrectly in my phone and could not reach them. The second time, i did have the correct phone number and called them 3 times letting them know every other hotel shuttle had passed us, some twice! (i told them the Bed Bug Inn had even passed us by, i guess i was a little upset:)...oh well:)...it did eventually arrive, but after returning from 80 degrees in the caribbean, 40 degrees was pretty darn chilly to wait for half an hour! we were traveling with 2 other couples and they appreciated the closeness to the airport for our departure. Not impressed by the shuttle service either, especially after the HORRENDOUS experience of getting thru customs at Dulles, Seriously, there were hundreds of arriving passengers, 50 "brand new immigration kiosks" and only 6 were manned! i guess i cant review the customs service can i...lol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's apparent from the time you step inside the hotel that the entire staff has a sense of pride in serving its clientele. Speedy professional check in. Rooms are arranged in a large square with only 3 floors.Rooms are small be Marriott Hotel standards. My double bed room did not have an easy chair (it wouldn't fit if there was one), but the furniture is above average and the work desk area is adequate. Clock radio has a mp3 hook up. Heating/cooling easy and accurately controlled. Bathroom is small with toilet, sink, tub in the same room. Went to take a shower and discovered the conditioner bottle was previously opened and was nearly empty. Room service missed that one. Bed was very comfortable and led to a good sleep. Good shower head, average shower amenities. Work out room was large with 4 of the 5 treadmills working, 3 ellipticals, 2 bikes. Full rack of dumbbells, adjustable bench and two leg machines. Fruit is stocked. Easy logon and reliable wireless connection. The bar/restaurant has a good selection of entrees and beer styles. Check out the potato chip appetizer. Blue cheese and full strips of bacon pilled high. G'head- indulge! Deduction for very chilly hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Futbol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had to stay here after I missed my connection from Dulles to Jacksonville; it's not a bad hotel, functional is the best word for it.

My room had TWO connecting rooms too it and the soundproofing was poor; I heard their TVs and other noises during the night. Not the best Marriott I've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choubi_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing