We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“great property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location is convenient to the airport and the hotel is modern. Their service was good including breakfast restaurant. The staff were professional and friendly. My room was quite spacious, modern and with comfy bed. Unfotunatelly there was no free WiFi conection in the room and it was overpriced. But generally good impression and stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    230
    133
    53
    29
See reviews for
96
108
52
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chambersburg,pa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

i agree with other reviewers, this is THE most convenient hotel to the airport and takes some stress out of the traveling process. The lobby restaurant is a little busy and hard to get service at times. Definitely not someplace where you can de-stress, but you can get some grub before you hit the road or the sack. The rooms are a little smaller than usual, but most are only going to spend a few hours sleeping there anyway so its not a factor, if you just want to park and fly and save the cost of parking at a Dulles economy lot. You do still have to pay a nominal parking fee but its cheaper than the Dulles fee and you have less risk of missing your flight for sure. My main complaint is that they must have the worst system for the shuttle. I have stayed there several times before flights and twice on my return we had problems with the shuttle. Once we even had to walk back to the Marriott because the 'substitute' shuttle vehicle only had a sign in its window indicating it was affiliated with the Marriott...and the sign had fallen out of the window!! i dont know how many times it passed us but at 1 AM i was not going to wait forever. Unfortunately, i had entered their phone number incorrectly in my phone and could not reach them. The second time, i did have the correct phone number and called them 3 times letting them know every other hotel shuttle had passed us, some twice! (i told them the Bed Bug Inn had even passed us by, i guess i was a little upset:)...oh well:)...it did eventually arrive, but after returning from 80 degrees in the caribbean, 40 degrees was pretty darn chilly to wait for half an hour! we were traveling with 2 other couples and they appreciated the closeness to the airport for our departure. Not impressed by the shuttle service either, especially after the HORRENDOUS experience of getting thru customs at Dulles, Seriously, there were hundreds of arriving passengers, 50 "brand new immigration kiosks" and only 6 were manned! i guess i cant review the customs service can i...lol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's apparent from the time you step inside the hotel that the entire staff has a sense of pride in serving its clientele. Speedy professional check in. Rooms are arranged in a large square with only 3 floors.Rooms are small be Marriott Hotel standards. My double bed room did not have an easy chair (it wouldn't fit if there was one), but the furniture is above average and the work desk area is adequate. Clock radio has a mp3 hook up. Heating/cooling easy and accurately controlled. Bathroom is small with toilet, sink, tub in the same room. Went to take a shower and discovered the conditioner bottle was previously opened and was nearly empty. Room service missed that one. Bed was very comfortable and led to a good sleep. Good shower head, average shower amenities. Work out room was large with 4 of the 5 treadmills working, 3 ellipticals, 2 bikes. Full rack of dumbbells, adjustable bench and two leg machines. Fruit is stocked. Easy logon and reliable wireless connection. The bar/restaurant has a good selection of entrees and beer styles. Check out the potato chip appetizer. Blue cheese and full strips of bacon pilled high. G'head- indulge! Deduction for very chilly hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Futbol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had to stay here after I missed my connection from Dulles to Jacksonville; it's not a bad hotel, functional is the best word for it.

My room had TWO connecting rooms too it and the soundproofing was poor; I heard their TVs and other noises during the night. Not the best Marriott I've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choubi_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night in November for a business trip. With an early morning flight out of Dulles, this is the place to be. You really cannot pick a more convenient location to the airport.

The quality of the hotel is a different story. The lobby area is great; no complaints. My room was strange. I had a king room with ceilings so low that I could touch them (I am 5'8"). The carpet, linens and curtains were new but the furniture was from either the late 70's or more likely the early 80's (this fake, light wood). The bathroom was very, very tight. My 3rd floor hallway smelled like mildew. The shampoo in my bathroom was half gone. The bathroom tile was a 1980's beige but the countertop was updated. I wasn't sure if the whole hotel had this sort of "half upgrade" so I didn't feel the need to report anything to the front desk.

It was a fine experience since the hotel staff was very friendly and the location was ideal. However, just know what you are getting; it's not a brand new or recently overhauled Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximillion1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Dulles Marriott is a very good hotel and is located closer to the terminal than any other hotel. It could probably get by on that alone but thankfully the property is up to Marriott standards and the service is excellent. I've stayed there several times a year for several years now and there have been no surprises, it's a good experience every time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Dulles Airport Marriott during a layover after a long flight from overseas and before continuing on to the West Coast. Overall, the Marriott was what you would expect from an Airport hotel. The check in process was very fast; even though there were a lot of people checking in, we were on our way to our room very quickly. Beyond that, there was very little service provided. No assistance was provided (or offered) in getting our four bags to the room and except for a very nice security guard near the elevators, no one seemed interested in providing assistance to the guests.

One bright spot was the bed; the mattress was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in!

Also, the chicken teriyaki from room service was fantastic!

This hotel is located on the airport grounds so if you are looking for a place to stay during a layover and you don't mind the high cost, then this may be your place. If you are looking for a hotel to stay in while touring Washington DC, I would recommend staying closer to the City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvBah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing