We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not too bad; but rooms need better sound proofing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Reading
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not too bad; but rooms need better sound proofing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had to stay here after I missed my connection from Dulles to Jacksonville; it's not a bad hotel, functional is the best word for it.

My room had TWO connecting rooms too it and the soundproofing was poor; I heard their TVs and other noises during the night. Not the best Marriott I've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choubi_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    226
    131
    52
    29
See reviews for
95
106
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night in November for a business trip. With an early morning flight out of Dulles, this is the place to be. You really cannot pick a more convenient location to the airport.

The quality of the hotel is a different story. The lobby area is great; no complaints. My room was strange. I had a king room with ceilings so low that I could touch them (I am 5'8"). The carpet, linens and curtains were new but the furniture was from either the late 70's or more likely the early 80's (this fake, light wood). The bathroom was very, very tight. My 3rd floor hallway smelled like mildew. The shampoo in my bathroom was half gone. The bathroom tile was a 1980's beige but the countertop was updated. I wasn't sure if the whole hotel had this sort of "half upgrade" so I didn't feel the need to report anything to the front desk.

It was a fine experience since the hotel staff was very friendly and the location was ideal. However, just know what you are getting; it's not a brand new or recently overhauled Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximillion1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Dulles Marriott is a very good hotel and is located closer to the terminal than any other hotel. It could probably get by on that alone but thankfully the property is up to Marriott standards and the service is excellent. I've stayed there several times a year for several years now and there have been no surprises, it's a good experience every time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Dulles Airport Marriott during a layover after a long flight from overseas and before continuing on to the West Coast. Overall, the Marriott was what you would expect from an Airport hotel. The check in process was very fast; even though there were a lot of people checking in, we were on our way to our room very quickly. Beyond that, there was very little service provided. No assistance was provided (or offered) in getting our four bags to the room and except for a very nice security guard near the elevators, no one seemed interested in providing assistance to the guests.

One bright spot was the bed; the mattress was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in!

Also, the chicken teriyaki from room service was fantastic!

This hotel is located on the airport grounds so if you are looking for a place to stay during a layover and you don't mind the high cost, then this may be your place. If you are looking for a hotel to stay in while touring Washington DC, I would recommend staying closer to the City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvBah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel looks somewhat dated from the outside. But, the inside is contemporary and newly remodeled. The hotel shuttle was dependable and easy to locate at the airport. Full service restaurant and bar on site. The indoor pool and workout facility are conveniently located on the first floor near the lobby.

Through Marriott Rewards, I usually request a higher floor with a king bed but was given a first floor king. I didn't realize it was on the first floor until I entered the room as the room number started with 11. When I called to request a higher floor, the "At Your Service" rep said she had a second floor double but it was "far away." I wasn't sure what that meant so I just went to the front desk and they took care of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loimln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott the night before an early flight to London. Very nice room and comfortable bed. We had dinner in the bar area and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal. The service was also excellent. We parked our car for a week at the hotel for a reasonable fee, which is less than long-term parking at Dulles. The shuttle bus to/from the airport runs every 15 minutes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwinnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been staying at the Marriott Dulles Airport a few times in the past, always a good experience. Shuttle buses run every 15' or so, checkin quick, rooms spacious, good beds, friendly staff. The best value anywhere at our company rate, if your rate is less than 150 it's a good one.

Relaxed bar area, your basic burger/salad/sandwich food is fine, nice athmosphere. Good size gym. Breakfast rather limited but ok.

My only complaint will be the noise insulation towards the adjacent room, could hear all the sounds from my neighbour.

Room Tip: Avoid one with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing