We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Airport; Decent Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Convenient to Airport; Decent Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel looks somewhat dated from the outside. But, the inside is contemporary and newly remodeled. The hotel shuttle was dependable and easy to locate at the airport. Full service restaurant and bar on site. The indoor pool and workout facility are conveniently located on the first floor near the lobby.

Through Marriott Rewards, I usually request a higher floor with a king bed but was given a first floor king. I didn't realize it was on the first floor until I entered the room as the room number started with 11. When I called to request a higher floor, the "At Your Service" rep said she had a second floor double but it was "far away." I wasn't sure what that meant so I just went to the front desk and they took care of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loimln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott the night before an early flight to London. Very nice room and comfortable bed. We had dinner in the bar area and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal. The service was also excellent. We parked our car for a week at the hotel for a reasonable fee, which is less than long-term parking at Dulles. The shuttle bus to/from the airport runs every 15 minutes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwinnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been staying at the Marriott Dulles Airport a few times in the past, always a good experience. Shuttle buses run every 15' or so, checkin quick, rooms spacious, good beds, friendly staff. The best value anywhere at our company rate, if your rate is less than 150 it's a good one.

Relaxed bar area, your basic burger/salad/sandwich food is fine, nice athmosphere. Good size gym. Breakfast rather limited but ok.

My only complaint will be the noise insulation towards the adjacent room, could hear all the sounds from my neighbour.

Room Tip: Avoid one with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was married in Washington DC in the last century (1970 to be exact) and we put our wedding party up at the Key Bridge Marriott (then new). As an Army first LT, the price (35 dollars) was over ten percent of my monthly pay. But it was luxury defined for a young kid and his new bride. The Dulles Marriott retains--for good and for bad--that 1970's feel. It takes a long time to reach a room in this rectangular hotel with a series of ramps and elevators. The rooms are last century modern, though the soft goods are new (I hope). Clean and well ventilated--but the windows do not open.

At peak times the hotel is very expensive, not so at off times (April 15th being one of those). There are more staff to welcome you than an airport TSA adventure line. But overall they are helpful, sometimes overly so. Concierge Lounge is well staffed, always busy, and spacious.

This is the first time in about fifteen stays at a Marriott hotel that my status (Platinum Premier) has been recognized and commented on by the person checking me in. Nice small touch.

So, if you crave that elusive mid-century modern experience this is your hotel. You'll be pushed back in time (except for that LG HDTV where the Zenith was).

Room Tip: Inside rooms get less airplane noise. Choose the top floor even though it's a hike from the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very helpful and friendly service. One of the most comfortable beds I have slept on. A bit far from things, however, and the shuttle from the airport was a bit slow to pick us up. Very nice stay otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulEugeneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times. It is at the airport and has convenient airport shuttle times. The rooms are average, but clean. The staff is friendly. They have the best blonde brownies I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I travel from Europe to the US a few times a year and have learned by experience that trying to connect to a domestic flight at Dulles is essentially impossible. Thus, instead of missing flights and sitting in the airport for an additional 6-8 hours, I started spending the night at the Dulles Marriott and continuing my trip via car the next day. I have stayed at this property perhaps 20 times over the past decade. It is very consistent. I use this property because of the shuttle bus service every 20 minutes. No telephones, no fuss, the bus is always there. The property is dated, but clean. The staff are very professional. The rooms are always quiet. The room service menu is functional. I think if you book through marriott.com, the internet is free (but I am not sure about this). The shuttle bus drivers will usually give you a ride to the rental car companies instead of taking you back to the airport to hop a rental car bus. All in all, I am very satisfied with this property because while it is not spectacular, it has been extremely consistent over the years. I know exactly what I will get, which is a de-stresser when traveling. If you have time and energy, explore. If you are a weary traveler looking to crash, in my opinion, this is the most efficient alternative in the Dulles area. Mid-week prices can be steep. Weekend prices tend to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask to be isolated -- the property is sprawling, so there is usually a reasonable chance to get away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGF_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing