We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stranded at IAD due to cancelled flights - great hotel, very accomodating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Stranded at IAD due to cancelled flights - great hotel, very accomodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was stranded at Dulles due to cancelled flights and was forced to find overnight accomodations on a moments notice. There is no advertisement for Marriott at the airport terminal. I hopped on the internet via my laptop and discovered this hotel. The folks in reservations were extremely accomodating by getting me a room at 11pm and granting me a corporate rate to boot! The room was very nice and being that I had to work out of the hotel room the next day, I received a late check out time. These folks are really great and are probably used to working the 11th hour crises. I received a bag of toiletries (my luggage was at the airport) and had a nice quiet nights sleep. They even solved a double booking dilemna by cancelling my destination hotel for the night and replacing it with their facility. There are free shuttles every 15 minutes - a great service! I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks for taking care of us weary stranded business travelers!

Room Tip: If stranded for the night, tell them and they can be extremely helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geocaching Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    224
    127
    52
    29
See reviews for
95
103
48
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

You stay at a hotel like the Marriott Dulles Airport purely for it's close location to the airport terminal. Rooms are standard basic Marriott although because of the design you can have long walking distances to get to your room. Quality of food in the only restaurant is okay, and lunch is served by the bar in the hotel lobby. The executive suite suite breakfast is good. Staff at the hotel are friendly, but expect a struggle to get a room if you arrive early morning off a long international flight, even if they have rooms!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chautauqua County, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We found the sheets stained and the room dirty. Also the bathroom looked as if it had been cleaned but not very well. The air conditioning was also not working and the room was stiffling hot. We complained and were changed to another room which was a little better and we were comped one night. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westernnewyork29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The upside to this hotel is it's proximity to Dulles and the 5-minute shuttle ride to the airport. Also, if you do a park-and-fly, you get two weeks of free parking, which was utterly worth it. There is a special discount code that you need to find when booking, but it is there. The rooms themselves were fairly standard and the gym was serviceable but not much more. In that respect, many of the reviews of this hotel (i.e. just kind of bog standard and not special) are correct.

What did impress me, however, was the customer service from my stay. First, I realized (when I was on the plane) that I forgot some papers. They were able to rush and search the room (before the plane doors closed) and get me the information that I had left in the room. Second, I had left my expensive electric toothbrush in the bathtub. I wrote them an email while I was abroad, they found it and saved it for me (but I hadn't received an email back confirming they had found it). Third, the shuttle driver on the way back when I went to pick up my car called ahead to housekeeping about my toothbrush. This meant, when we got to the hotel, my toothbrush was waiting for me at the front desk. In my view (because both the papers and toothbrush problems were caused by my own errors), their service went above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott(on Aviation Dr) for 1 night and we stayed since its closer to the airport but also the best priced hotel in the D.C/Virgina area.

We made the booking on www.marriott.com

Pros:

1. The hotel provided a roll-away bed for an extra person for no charge.
2. At $86 for 1 night, you cannot go wrong!
3. The hotel is a bit older but it looks cleaner, simpler and I prefer it this way.
4. Free on-site parking.
5. Has a restaurant on-site but it looked pricey!

Cons:

1. No High-Speed Wireless Internet in the rooms.
2. No free-breakfast unlike other Residence Inn we have stayed at.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tampaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
511 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed here one day to catch early morning flight. Location makes the hotel, however this hotel is old and showing it's age. From lobby to elevator (pretty grungy) one can find good wear-n-tear...not the sort of Marriott property I am use to staying in. Will choose Hilton on next visit due to reviews and closeness to airport.

Bright spot was dining option in bar area -- service was good, and food was good. Waitress even brought me another option when food was not to my taste.

Recommend you really look at reviews and choose Marriott if convenience is driving factor for selection. Some time, money and effort could make the hotel of the staandard Marriott is suppose to represent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

When i go into the lobby, i feel it is clean and grand. the most problem is they just have one elevator for the whole building. the room is also clean and grand, the bed is comfortable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinciman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing