We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My 5 year old loved the show” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benihana Dulles

Benihana Dulles
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana Dulles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 86 Restaurants in Dulles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leesburg Pike
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My 5 year old loved the show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've been to other hibachi/japanese style places, but never Benihana. My wife and I had the special (chicken and filet for 2 - $49 (bonus - also came with shrimp)). My son had the kids chicken special.

The three of us sat at a table with a family that had 3 kids of their own. The chef did a really nice job keeping everyone entertained and paid good attention to the kids (volcano, choo choo train, scrambled egg in the shape of a chicken, runaway food, flipping the cup, etc). My son was entranced during the whole food preparation.

The food was good - just what I had expected. Filet was appropriately cooked to order (medium rare).

Cost was about $80 for the three of us after tip. It's a tad on the steep side for our entertainment budget - but the chef did put on a decent show. I would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill,Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lost it's Charm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Took our Grandson there for a fun experience. He enjoyed it, he had never been before . However, the cooks don 't do as my has they use to. The food was not good, chicken was tough, filet quality not great and I know the palate it generally a light one in japanese food but the meal really had no flavor. Pretty pricey for what u get. Won 't be going back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sidediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“your typical benihana”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

food was decent, overpriced, but good service and sushi was ok

Helpful?
Thank hopemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We decided to drop into Benihana's after nixing some other options in the area and were pleased to be seated right away. My observations below:

Pros:
- Unlike older reviews, our chef did do the onion volcano and some sort of vegetable train. I think he dropped one thing (not a utensil) but considering the number of times that he had food in the air, we thought this was quite well done.
- Price and value for money was good. We got the chicken and steak meal to share which included the soup, small salad, shrimp appetizer, chicken and steak. We also added on the fried rice which was another $3. My husband didn't even finish his meal (being pregnant, I polished every bit of mine off the plate) but we believe that there was plenty of food. Filling for about $50 with sodas.
- We didn't need to wait long for the chef. Despite almost all of the tables being sat (I think they have about 20?), we had a chef walk up shortly after we had finished the soup and salad courses.

Cons:
- The food wasn't exceptional, but it was tasty. I'd agree with another reviewer that the fried rice was a bit bland for the extra charge.
- It was a little bit difficult to find the server for refills. I'd probably suggest having one server for every two tables so that they can keep up with refills and anything else customers might need.
- After the chef left, he turned on a vent above the stove to cool the area down. Although I completely understand why it was turned on, it became so cold by our table that all of the women and some of the men, were commenting on how it was just too cold to eat. My husband finally went and found a server to turn it off.

Overall, I don't really think that the restaurant deserves the low rating that it currently has on here. It was good food and an entertaining evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DB129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Confusion
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Celebrated our 12th Anniversary and had a blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

It's hibachi...there's only so much that can be done. If you've been to a Fujihana or another local hibachi restaurant more than once, you've seen all the tricks. Even still, the personality of the chef makes the experience fun. The tricks are cheeky and silly but all in good fun. My husband and I had the chicken and shrimp for two special. At $36, the price wasn't that outrageous. I expected it to me more pricey simply because of the Benihana name. We had a tiny bottle of champagne (had we known the size, we probably would have ordered something different but it was a cute bottle), a shrimp lovers roll and I had a blueberry Mojito. The Mojito was delicious but it didn't taste like it had any alcohol in it and didn't really pack a punch. The chicken and shrimp was fantastic. It was perfectly prepared and our chef did just fine. I think he was a little shy because he didn't make as much noise as some other hibachi chefs...and that's a-okay with me. :) All in all, the dinner was excellent. Because we were celebrating our anniversary, we were treated to ice cream, the happy japanese song and a free picture.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OwlTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana Dulles also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 

Been to Benihana Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing