We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A diamond in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claytor Lake Inn

Claytor Lake Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claytor Lake Inn
Save
You added Claytor Lake Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Dublin B&B and Inns
So. Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was actually recommended by a neighboring facility that was sold out. Thank goodness! It was a great find!! Clean, basic room, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again, and probably will when we pass through in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vouvray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We needed a place to stay while traveling through on nearby I-81. Found this in one of those coupon booklets on the interstate rest stops, with a rate of $34. At that price, and no horrible reviews on Tripadvisor, we called ahead. A very nice woman answered the phone, said they had rooms at that rate, just show up, no deposit required.

As was said in other reviews, this is a very basic hotel. But the room was clean -- king bed, non smoking. No bad smells. TV worked well, as did the WIFI. It's definitely an old place and shows it, but it's right off of the interstate and cheap. I gave it 4* because of the low rate and good value and good quality.

There's an Omlette Shop restaurant almost next door, that serves a pretty good breakfast, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HowardFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This motel is an older type where you pull your car right up to your room door. I like that. It makes loading and unloading your car easier. It is well maintained, clean, and neat. There are no amenities. There is no exercise room, complementary breakfast, coffee in the lobby, etc....nothing but a basic room. Your room will consist of only the basic needs for a night's rest off the highway. Your room will have a microwave, refrigerator, and satellite TV. You have about 100 channels to choose from on the TV. That should keep you busy channel surfing to find one that interests you. There is also a table and chairs to sit at while doing some paperwork or eating. The choice of food is limited at this exit. A pizza place close by, a Taco Bell and Omlette Shoppe, and some quick marts/gas stations over the interstate bridge. Road noise in minimal. It should not disturb your sleep. Bed and bedding were fine. In the morning, if you need a cup of coffee they have a small one cup coffee maker in the room. I chose to get my morning coffee from one of the quick marts on my way to get onto the interstate. The room rate is excellent. Use a coupon from one those coupon books that you get at the interstate rest area. To sum it up, if you just need some where to lay your head for the night it's an excellent deal. Will I stay here again?.....yep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acscolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Just the bare necessities, tv, ac, bath. Her the coupon out of the travel guide and get a room for $37.00, single or double and $10 for pets. Works out fine. Some rooms better than others, so change if you need to. Same operation as Sleep Inn next door. Also has good coupon

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When your expectations are not high and you just need a place to lay your head for a couple of nights at the lowest price, this motel will do. It does have everything one needs and plenty of space. Clean. Not much to do or around the immediate vacinity, but the area has plenty to offer if you are willing to drive. The owners also own the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Motel was ok in a pinch. The Sleep Inn next door only had smoking rooms left so we went to this one. Room had all the amenities---microwave, fridge, coffeepot but was very dated with stained pullout sofa, stained sheets, burn hole in the bedspread. Not sure if the shower cap was left by the previous tenant or by the motel for our use. Bed was a comfortable King size, but pillows were flat and should have been replaced. No breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claytor Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claytor Lake Inn

Property: Claytor Lake Inn
Address: 5080 State Park Rd, Exit 101, Off I-81, Dublin, VA 24084-5623
Location: United States > Virginia > Dublin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Claytor Lake Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing