We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Girls' Weekend at Rockwood Manor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwood Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockwood Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls' Weekend at Rockwood Manor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My ladies book club has been coming to Rockwood every winter over the last several years for a "spa weekend" to relax and have a grown up slumber party. What a delightfully fun way to spend a cold and snowy weekend in a beautiful setting with room enough for all of us to connect, relax and laugh! They even arrange for a massage therapist and nail technician to come and pamper us while we gab the days away! Sometimes we even talk about the book. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I've slept in at least four of the 10 bedrooms in the main mansion - and I do mean MANSION. ALL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paatii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I came from Tampa, FL for a VT game. We absolutely loved Rockwood Manor. The house is incredible. There is beauty, history, and charm everywhere! Frank made us feel right at home. There is also an adorable dog named Chardonnay and she was a gracious host! We stayed in the Porterfield room and loved it! Every room in the house is unique with character. The property is so pretty with fields, barns, a small vineyard, and wildlife to see! Frank made us a delicious breakfast and we chatted with another couple staying here as well who also had a wonderful stay. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone I know! It was a perfect weekend!

side note: the the couple who wrote a bad review, if you don't like southern hospitality from kind, wonderful and friendly people, don't stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Rockwood Manor B&B for a Virginia Tech football weekend. Our initial impression as we entered the property was that we would enjoy exploring the extensive property and its outbuildings. It's a scenic location with cow pastures, barns, silos and beautiful resting spots.

As we entered the manor building itself we were awed by the architectural details- crown moldings that defy description, niche arches, tall ceilings and rooms of beautiful proportions decorated tastefully and comfortably.

Our hosts Frank & Rochelle did a marvelous job of making each guest feel special and appreciated, deftly offering a great blend of hospitality and privacy. The butler's pantry adjacent to the kitchen is stocked with coffee and tea and served as a convivial afternoon meeting spot for arriving guests.

Breakfasts were plentiful, a great combination of sweet and savory, prepared by Frank and Rochelle and were served in the manor's gorgeous dining room. Guests enjoyed an opportunity to mix and mingle as plans for each day were finalized. Frank and Rochelle provided great tips for visiting travelers, appreciated by one and all.

The warmth of the hosting and the history of the home made for a memorable stay and we hope to make this our regular home away from home when we return to Virginia Tech. Nicely done!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blakemore Room- it has a working gas fireplace, great seating area and a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandbridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We needed a place to stay near Dublin, VA and found this on our phone app while driving South on 81. By the time we arrived, it was almost dark, but as we drove up the long driveway, we realized that we had found a gem. The stately old home is very special, each room perfectly appointed in every way. Frank and Sarah have created a uniquely wonderful B&B and an extraordinary place for a wedding. The farm has been in the family for generations and the owners love for the place is obvious. Wonderful breakfast. Delightful stay. We certainly hope to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Found this lovely spot while searching for a hotel near Radford on a trip up I81. Stayed in the recently renovated barn which is a separate building (Chardonnay room) overlooking the new vineyard. We were the only guests, so we should have stayed in the main house, where the rooms were period rooms and just lovely. Sarah and Frank were welcoming and helpful, had breakfast with us in their beautiful dining room (this is a bed and breakfast). Clean and updated accommodations, great hospitality. Felt like a event, not a hotel stay, with new friends. Sarah had a career as a designer, and the Manor shows her talents. Appear to have many weddings there, it is a lovely setting and would make for a great location. WiFi available.

Room Tip: Some rooms with shared bath,private bath more expensive. Two rooms in separate building, others in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VATraveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just got back from a weekend stay here. We stayed in the Bell Room. The room is huge! It has wonderful antique furniture including a very tall king size bed (a step stool is provided if you are short). The bathroom is huge with a big walk in shower with two shower heads, one is handheld. The shower is also designed to sit down in if need be. The entire property was spotless. Breakfast was fresh and hot, the coffee was good, and the owners show real attention to their guests. Make sure you check out the entire property, it is stunning!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crashman2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Rockwood Manor, in the area for skiing at Winterplace, WV. The manor is absolutely beautiful and we practically had it to ourselves because we visited in the off-season, January 2011. Gorgeous rooms, each decorated differently and chock full of antique furniture. Loved the large bathtub, hardwood floors, and excellent service. Since we were there in the off-season and it was snowing, we had to make our own breakfast one night but it was well worth the discount we got for our stay-- and well worth the memories in the kitchen, too! This would be a breathtaking location for a wedding or other special event, or simply a weekend getaway for proximity to skiing locales!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperMica88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Jackson Park Inn
Jackson Park Inn
#1 of 1 in Pulaski
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
19.1 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwood Manor

Property: Rockwood Manor
Address: 5189 Rockwood Rd, Dublin, VA 24084-4533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockwood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rockwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing