We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, affordable, full of character!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rockwood Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, affordable, full of character!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Rockwood Manor, in the area for skiing at Winterplace, WV. The manor is absolutely beautiful and we practically had it to ourselves because we visited in the off-season, January 2011. Gorgeous rooms, each decorated differently and chock full of antique furniture. Loved the large bathtub, hardwood floors, and excellent service. Since we were there in the off-season and it was snowing, we had to make our own breakfast one night but it was well worth the discount we got for our stay-- and well worth the memories in the kitchen, too! This would be a breathtaking location for a wedding or other special event, or simply a weekend getaway for proximity to skiing locales!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperMica88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Service was fantastic. Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent. Owners were very nice. Planning to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The structure is not bad, although less than other B & B I've visited (such as The Lion and the roses in Asheville, fantastic!), But no big deal. The owner, an elderly lady, is intrusive. Also what happened to us is very unpleasant and unacceptable: on three nights, they made ​​us change room third night, because they had a party and we slept in a small bedroom. It's shameful, especially because, finally, we paid 450 $ for three nights without even one dollar discount. Mr. Drummond doesn't hesitate to look for ways to make some $ mor , we preferred to have respect, not a couple of soap as a gift. DON'T GO!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aleproia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadpoledude, Owner at Rockwood Manor, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
As the owner we would like to say that we are certainly sorry this lovely young Italian couple took
offense to Mother. She is such a dear and so many adore her. She must have asked too many questions though. And for their last day here we asked them to move to larger room (King vs Queen
and Square Footage too) as we had a large party of ladies taking over the whole home.
I thought they would appreciate this when obviously they did not. It would have been much easier to leave them in their original room. As for pricing they paid 135 per night. I have paid double that in their country and loved it. Ciao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Everything about Rockwood Manor is perfect. A beautiful property with a gorgeous house that combines all the comforts of home with the history and design of 1870's construction. Frank and Sarah are the perfect hosts with their engaging hospitality, friendly and easy- going attitudes and delightful stories. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and inviting and there is plenty of space to explore the property or simply relax and enjoy the stay. Our only disappointment is that we could not stay longer. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Frank, Sarah and Bud made our stay at Rockwood Manor just like being at home. The setting is so beautiful. The house is stunning. The breakfast is great with all the fresh ingredients. But most of all the owners made us feel at home. My husband and our friends stayed only 3 nights and we felt like we were home. I hated to leave. I highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschreffler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I recently married at the Rockwood B&B in Dublin in June 2010, and I have to say, it was a great experience! The proprietor Frank was very helpful (though difficult to get in touch with) in all aspects. He went above and beyond, researching an antique car company and local bagpipers! We rented out the whole inn for our wedding party to stay for the weekend and that was so special, as Frank doesn't live in the main house, so it truly felt as though we were housesitting in a grand place. Each room is gloriously decorated, and all baths are different and huge. The breakfasts (included) are good old Southern fare, with some creative touches--quite yummy! We had our rehearsal dinner on the premises as well, and Frank helped us to organize chairs and tables from his own stock and had suggestions on lots of details. The property was large enough to accommodate 2 large tents for approximately 150 people and the catering was located just under the back porch, a short walk away. The inn is located on 70 acres of forest and rolling farmland, which makes you feel as if your group are the only ones there. The best part about hosting the wedding here was that there were very little rules - I was able to procure my own catering, photographer, dj, cake, tent rental company, flowers, officiant, etc without any hidden fees or preferred vendor rules. It made the entire experience so much more personal to us as a couple. We can't wait to return on our first anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metravel7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

The Rockwood Manor B&B provided us a wonderful night's lodging combined with a slice of history packaged in a beautifully restored historic mansion. Frank Drummond, who we learned is the current President of the Virginia B&B Association, was a very pleasant, interesting and accommodating host. We very much enjoyed our stay in the meticulously decorated, immaculate Bell Room, and the following morning's pleasant and tasty breakfast during which we enjoyed an interesting and informative conversation with our host. The tasteful revitalization and redecoration of the entire house by Frank and his mother is testimony to their skills and their love of what they are doing.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingTom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
19.1 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwood Manor

Property: Rockwood Manor
Address: 5189 Rockwood Rd, Dublin, VA 24084-4533
Location: United States > Virginia > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockwood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rockwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing