We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at the Kings Dominion LaQuinta on 12/26/13. A decent motel at a decent price. Needs a little modernization in spots but all in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. The one downfall was the wireless internet. Very spotty and slow at night when I guess a lot of people are using it. Much better early in the morning when I got up. Kind of out in the middle of nowhere when Kings Dominion is closed. Went to the Burger King next door which was downright awful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 638 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, Massachusetts
11
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the family style suite. This 'room' has one bedroom separate from the main room that has two queen beds. For our family with two teens this was perfect. While basically clean- there were bugs in the light domes that were not expected. Pets are welcome and will come into the dining area. Breakfast was not great. Breads were stale and there was no variety.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here while traveling on I95 to Florida. It is right next to the Kings Dominion park and right off the exit. We got a good rate using the hotel travel magazines they have in the rest areas ($64) which was ten dollars more for being the weekend. Breakfast had eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurts, plenty of drinks, oatmeal, etc. definitely would plan to stay there again. Rooms are very clean and we had two queen beds. Very comfortable. Free WiFi worked fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whittel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank cjwnc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is located across the street from the amusement park, which is closed at this time of year. It was very quiet there as there were only a few travelers staying there. The staff is nice, the room was huge and it was nice and clean. The side entrance card acceptor was broken so you could go out but not back in. Some people put things to prop the door open when they went out. Even though it was not a busy area at all, that still felt uncomfortable

The room doors slam loudly and I was startled awake a couple times with others taking their dogs out.

There is not much for food right by the hotel so as another reviewer stated you have to go to the next exit to get something. I thought of that as I was getting close to the exit, but the numbers skip and before I knew it I was at the exit, after 8 hours driving I didn't want to back track. So a Burger King salad was dinner. Anyway glad I had some apples and nuts with me. It looks like the front desk also sells some microwave dinners but I just saw them in passing. I don't eat those but I'm sure it is a lifesaver for other travelers.

Overall it was a good, quiet and convenient stay at this LQ.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at the La Quinta inn 10/26 - 10/28 and it was overall a great experience.

My fiance and I stayed to go to the halloween haunt and it was the perfect location. We were actually able to walk right to the park and save $15 on parking.

When we entered the room we were amazed at how spacious it was. It had a very large bathroom, a living area with a couch and a king sized bed. It also contained a flat screen television which a lot of budget hotels do not have. The value was excellent, for two nights we only paid about $150.

The free breakfast left a little to be desired but it's free so we weren't expecting a gourmet meal or anything. All in all it was a great experience, in the future we will look for La Quinta properties to stay at if they're all this nice :)

Room Tip: I would try not to stay on the first floor, we did have a dead insect in our bathroom and someone el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank MATTHEW D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruther Glen
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion

Address: 16280 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922 (Formerly Comfort Suites Doswell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: $58 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the La Quinta Inn & Suites Doswell - Kings Dominion, VA can enjoy amenities including Free Bright Side Breakfast®, free wireless high-speed Internet access, free daily newspaper, and free coffee in the lobby. We also offer additional features like an indoor heated pool, on-site fitness center, business center, and copy/fax service.Our warm and inviting guest suites are furnished with flat-screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious desks, irons, ironing boards, sofa sleepers, and cable television w/premium channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing