We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pet friendly..clean..nice hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“pet friendly..clean..nice hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

this is a clean, pleasant hotel with wonderful prices and they allow pets. we were pleased with the size of the room and bathroom. My husband and I sleep like babies. Sometimes it is hard to find a place that allow dogs and do not charge really high rate for them. Do not pay more when you don't have to just because your fur-baby travels with you. this hotel has it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank lindasF528ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    175
    83
    45
    41
See reviews for
307
125
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We chose this hotel for the nice price but the front desk was so RUDE and unprofessional. We were told they are a family owned hotel and the front desk person said he could care less if we complained. They were completely disintereted in making our stay a pleasant one..... NEVER AGAIN !! We have lots of friends and family taking that route and informed them to stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jingles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was great find, reservation made enroute. Room 204 was exceptionally clean, along with anywhere we found in hotel, large spacious room, updated tv, nice furnishings.comfy bedding. Very convenient along our route. Ample breakfast selections and nice layout. Received a great rate and nice service. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank VGrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is about 10 miles from the closest restaurant. There wasen't even a Waffle House near by not that I'd eat at one anyway.

The hotel is not as new as it seems in the pictures. I believe it was a Comfort Inn before. Our room was generous in space but somehow it didn't have any WOW factor.

The breakfast was awful to but it best. It wasn't busy when we were there, and we got the idea that the items on the breakfast bar were put back out from the day before....and the day before....and the day before.

The alarm clock was so complicated to set that I gave up and fet my Cell Phone to wake us up.

We left saying we won't be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Hoagiedogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstable
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a great find for a one night stay on the through to Florida. I was traveling with my two pets and we had a very nice stay. The check in was easy the people very nice and the room and beds comfortable and large. I would definily stay here again. I had the breakfast,it was ok. The location is cnvenient with a gas station at the location you can gas up before you hit the road again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I made a reservation through Priceline for this hotel and was looking forward to having a nice room for a whirlwind college visit trip with my 2 teenagers. We arrived on Friday, November 2nd around 7:30 PM. This hotel looked brand new on the outside and at first glance, the lobby area was very nice as well. The room was very spacious and the beds looked very comfortable. We dropped our bags and I headed for the bathroom. I lifted up the toilet cover only to find several pubic hairs on and around the seat. I turned around and also noticed a large wadded up paper on the floor and realized the floor had not been vaccuumed.

I immediately called the front desk for a new room that was clean. The gentleman came upstairs and had us look at the room next door. I finally gave up after seeing 6 different rooms, all of which had hairs on and around the toilets, unvaccuumed floors and some had nasty dirty bed covers. I also noticed that the hallways weren't vaccuumed either.

The gentleman offered to clean a bathroom for me. I thought that might work if we took a room with what looked like clean bedding, but I really wanted the floor vaccuumed as well. I don't like walking around in my shoes all the time. He refused to vaccuum. He refused to let me vaccuum. He said management said they couldn't vaccuum. I asked if they had a vaccuum and I was assured that they did, but honestly I can't imagine the hotel looking the way it did if they really did have a working vaccuum.

I ended up calling Priceline to ask for a refund. I have never, ever done this before and have never seen a hotel where each and every room was dirty like this. This was a first and I do a fair amount of traveling.

I kept saying over and over what a shame this was - for a brand new hotel with beautiful new carpet, nice looking beds and bedding, nice sized rooms to be in such poor condition. I see other reviews here that say the hotel was clean. I'm thinking maybe they don't have many guests since King's Dominion Amusement Park is closed for the season, but all the more reason to be able to keep the rooms and the hallways clean.

Be careful about stopping here in the off season or maybe at any time in the future if they can't find a new housekeeper and a vaccuum.

Also, a very dark quiet exit during the off season. There is only a Denny's Diner and a Burger King for food, but many restaurants a couple exits down that will take you about 10-15 minutes to get to.

Room Tip: Check the room before you check in to make sure it's clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Recently stayed here on a Saturday night while visiting King's Dominion for Halloween Haunt. Checked in around 4pm, very quick and easy. Room was very spacious and the king bed and pillows were very comfy as well. Checkout the next day was not until 12pm so that was great. The free breakfast in the morning was also a good value, with a variety of items including cereal, egg and sausage patties, and a waffle maker.

The best thing about this hotel is that it is across the street from King's Dominion (can walk to park entrance is less than 10 minutes), and is also next to a Burger King and 7-11, which is convenient for a quick meal before heading to the park (cheaper as well). In sum, stay here, get a good value and save yourself the $15 that King's Dominion charges for parking!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Address: 16280 International Street, Doswell, VA 23047 (Formerly Comfort Suites Doswell)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the La Quinta Inn & Suites Doswell - Kings Dominion, VA can enjoy amenities including Free Bright Side Breakfast®, free wireless high-speed Internet access, free daily newspaper, and free coffee in the lobby. We also offer additional features like an indoor heated pool, on-site fitness center, business center, and copy/fax service.Our warm and inviting guest suites are furnished with flat-screen televisions, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious desks, irons, ironing boards, sofa sleepers, and cable television w/premium channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing