We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was very happy with my stay here. The staff, and especially the check-in staff were all very helpful and nice. Our room was clean with plenty of towels. We asked for an infant crib, and it was brought to us within about 10 minutes of our check-in. Our kids used the pool, which was nice and warm. They had a good time. It's a very convenient location, literally across the street from Kings Dominion. The breakfast was very crowded, but the food selection was good for such a small hotel. I would definitely stay here, again, because it was a good value.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    109
    55
    27
    22
See reviews for
177
58
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everything here exceeded our expectations. Very clean, comfortable bed/pillows, wonderful staff, lots of breakfast choices & free cookies!!!!
We stopped for one night for a good nights' sleep and that's exactly what we got!
Great value and Geno could not have been nicer.
We will definitely be back!
Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Got a early check in, they charged me $10.00 more for that even though the room was empty. Room was clean, quite, and updated. Lobby was clean and updated. Check in was quick and the receptionist was nice. Would consider staying there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightstalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Minas, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was first class all the way! Beautiful room,comfortable bed and very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the whole surroundings were extremely pleasant. Excellent value for the price. One of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. Have paid more and received much less! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Breakfest Was Great Room Was Clean Next To Kings Dominion Went in 2011Staff Were Nice Safe the red carpet in Suffolk was nothing like this was durity failing aprtet staff was maen never agin at red carpet inn

Room Tip: Kids Activites And Resturant None On Site Just To let you know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Mr Eric

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are excited to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on our way from CT to FL. Very pleasantly surprised. $56.64 total for a spacious king bed room. The entire facility is non-smoking. Gino, the front desk person was friendly, engaging and very helpful. The lobby is warm and inviting. The parking lot is well lit. Train tracks run behind the building but the noise was not oppressive and was in fact interesting. Room was well appointed and immaculate, the towels plentiful and plush and the hot water hot. Since we were an arrive late and leave early guest we did not use the pool or the workout room. The complimentary hot breakfast was what we need to get started on our way. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Property is very clean and well maintained, both our room and the public areas. Staff was friendly and professional. Room was a good size, including the bathroom, with comfortable beds. Plenty of clean, new, thick linens provided. Breakfast area is not huge but was not crowded either morning we ate there. Good selection and quality for this type of lodging--different hot entrees each morning. Fresh baked cookies at the front desk. Location pros--right across street from Kings Dominion and about a mile from the state fairgrounds complex; away from interstate so minimal traffic noise. Cons--very limited dining choices nearby, must go 6 miles south on interstate to exit 92 unless you want Denny's or B. King; train tracks run right behind property--we asked for a room on the front side of the hotel and got one, did not hear trains during sleeping hours, did hear the whistles and some minor track noise both nights between 9:50 and 10:40pm, but definitely did not experience bed rattling, etc. mentioned in some other reviews. Overall this is a great value, particularly at the AAA rate. Would definitely stay here again if going to Kings Dominion or state fairgrounds or needed a stopover north of Richmond.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front side of hotel to minimize any potential concerns with train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDR_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndoswell, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Inn
Centerstone Inn
#3 of 5 in Doswell
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
90 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Address: 16250 International St, Doswell, VA 23047-1922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Doswell
Country Inn & Suites Doswell Hotel Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing