We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western and Best for Kings Dominion!”
Review of Centerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We arrived early morning to go to the theme park. We went into advise the reception lady we were going to the park which was open unitl 10pm we might be checking in late. The lady was very pleasant and checked for a room although one wasnt available.

Our room had 2 double beds, a TV, a safe, a coffee maker and hairdryer. The bathroom had a bath with shower head and toilet. The towels were clean and fresh. The beds and pillows were comfortable. We only stopped one night.

There is a little free bus that circles from the hotel to the theme park to the campsite aprox every 30 mins which is great to save the walk across the car park. There was plenty of room for us to park in the carpark which was free.

There is a 24/7 Dennys on site and we had an evening meal and breakfast which were good and the service was fast.

The hotel has a pool which is outdoor and heated only by the sun but was a nice swim. There is a poolside bar with cocktails and towels provided. There is also a playground for the young ones.

After the theme park we returned to our hotel room where our smoke alarm battery was bleeping. I phoned reception and a man was out within minutes and the battery changed. Amazingly fast service for that time of night! Could not fault it.

Ideal hotel if your visiting Kings Dominion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Best Western Kings Quarters.
We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our great location next to Kings Dominion amusement park. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel and the great service provided by our associates. Thank you again for your review and we hope that will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Best Western Kings Quarters while showing cattle at the Virginia State Fair. It was incredibly convenient to commute back and forth to the fair and the rooms were clean and spacious. The best part was having Denny's at the hotel since we were at the fair late for 2 nights showing and were still able to get something to eat at the hotel. I would recommend Denny's, but several hotel guests advised us against getting an Uno's pizza (also on site) as the service was poor and the pizzas weren't properly cooked. Although we didn't use it, there were plenty of activities for kids at this hotel as well. We will definitely stay here again during State Fair next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kisander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Best Western Kings Quarters. We appreciate that you our convenient location to the Virginia State Fair worked out well for you. We are even more appreciative of the opportunity to learn where we can make improvements regarding the service and quality of the Uno's pizza. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for the state fair each year and anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Best Western has a 24 hr arcade room, a 24 hr Denny's, a Really nice outdoor pool w/ a snack bar serving food & drinks during the day. They even have a bar "walk-up window" for so you can sit by the pool & sip frozen drinks at night. Family rooms have a Fridge & microwave.
And since Kings Dominion is a short walk across the parking lot from the hotel,
my teens were able to come & go as they pleased. We were able to come back to the hotel for dinner WITHOUT RE-parking the car! Much less stress on the parents!
I HIGHLY recommend this vacation for families with Teens who enjoy amusement parks.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martalayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2010

Wow! Thanks for such a glowing review of the Best Western Kings Quarters. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our amenities. We are glad that our convenient location next to Kings Dominion amusement park added value to your vacation.
We thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We checked into this hotel to be close to the location my daughter was getting married in. The room was dated but all appeared clean. I just didn't know how clean it was going to be later.

We unpacked and hung our stuff up, getting it ironed and ready for the big day. Unfortuanetly my wife's dresses obscured the room safe so we didn't even know we had one in the room. We left the next day to get the errands done for the wedding nd went back later that night. Sometime during the day, like when the room was cleaned most likely, our $300 digital Cannon camera was stolen.

I didn't notice it until the day of the wedding when we are all dressed and now looking for the camera. We found the safe but no camera. So the lesson is, if there's a safe, use it. If not, take your valuables with you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2010

We were extremely concerned to hear of this guest's experience at the Best Western Kings Quarters. This was brought to our attention during the guest's stay and we quickly addressed the situation. We do provide an in-room safe in all rooms for guests to store their valuable items and it is large enough to hold a laptop computer. Upon further investigation, a lock interrogation revealed that only housekeeping and the guests had access to the room. The employees have been employed at the hotel for many years without incident. It was also revealed that the guests left their door open several times that day while they were going out to the car and during this time, the camera was left on a table in front of the window. We were truly sorry to hear about this situation but the circumstances were not in control of our management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We chose to stay at this Best Western because of the location. Free shuttle location to King's Dominion was great. We weren't sure how our 16 month old would do and didn't want to drive back and forth to the hotel, so this was a good solution. He actually did great being at the park 11 1/2 hours. Not having to pay for parking at KD was great. Once we returned we went to Denny's for a snack, which service was terrible. Much was the same in the morning for breakfeast. We stayed in the pool till close and enjoyed it. Rooms are basic and nothing over the top, but we slept great. Bed were actually real nice...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyb10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2010

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and amenities at the Best Western Kings Quarters. We offer our apologies that the service at Denny's did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback because it lets us know what we are doing correctly and where we have an opportunity for improvement.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay at a hotel near Kings Dominion in order to enjoy a full day at the park. After shopping around, we found the Best Western had the best price and was closest to Kings Dominion. this was perfect for us, since we were able to enjoy the park to our fullest ability, then return to the hotel for the rest of the night and relax.
First, the good stuff...
The proximity to the park was excellent, it was within walking distance (across the parking lot), but they had a free shuttle that ran an hour before and after the park hours.
There is a Denny's on site that was open 24 hours.
the staff was pleasant and our room was clean and inviting.
On to the bad stuff...
Many of the light fixtures in the rooms were missing bulbs or had bulbs that were burnt out.
The bathroom was very small, with only enough room for the tub and toilet and only enough floor space to swing the door open/closed. It also sounded like there was a leak somewhere between the toilet tank and bowl since it sounded like there was water constantly flowing into the tank.
The mattresses were firm, with 2 feather pillows on each, and once compressed were thin and didn't retain their shape.
After one trip out of the room, we checked to make sure the door was locked, and it didn't lock automatically like it should, after trying it a couple times, we were able to get it to lock by re-entering the key card and resetting the lock that way.
The Wi-Fi service was free, which while this good, it was an unsecured network, open to anyone in the area, which mean anyone can use it, so there were several times where the bandwidth was extremely slow.

Of the few issues we had, we would still stay at this hotel again for our next Kings Dominion trip assuming they still had the best rate.

This hotel also has a game room and lounge, which we didn't visit during this stay, so I am no able to provide a review for either of these.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2010

We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the great location of the Best Western Kings Quarters.
Glad to hear that our location right next to Kings Dominion Amusement park worked out well for you and that you were able to enjoy the convenience of Denny's being open 24/7.
We appreciate feedback such as yours because it allows us to know what we are doing right and where we have some room for improvement.
We are hopeful that we will be able to upgrade our bedding program in the very near future and we will share your maintenance issues that you experienced during your stay, with our staff. Thank you again for your review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I booked a room Poolside with two double beds on the first floor from Aug 2 - 4, 2009. It was very easy to get to, the directions were clear and the GPS was on target. I had to wait a little bit to check in as the two employees were working on a few individuals when I walked in. I got checked in fairly quickly when it was my turn, and the instructions as to find parking close to our room were easy.

The Room: There were many problems with this room, among them being; light bulb burnt out, very very small bathroom, the hot water spigot needed tightening, and the A/C was louder than in other hotels I've stayed in. The biggest issue with this was you had to play with the door a bit to make sure it locked correctly. The hotel has free wireless internet, and was easy to connect to, however, it was as slow as dial up most times. Don't plan on using it for more than just short browsing.

Denny's: We ate at Denny's Sunday for dinner and Monday for breakfast. Both times we did not have to wait, and the food and service were excellent. For dinner I had top sirloin steak with mashed potatoes and gravy as well as corn. The waitress made sure I was happy with how well my steak was cooked (medium well) and checked up on as a few times. The corn was not as hot as I'd like it to be and seemed very dry. For breakfast I had scrambled eggs and toast. The eggs were nice and hot and very dry like I requested, however the toast could have been warmer.

Shuttle For Kings Dominion: The shuttle starts running at 0930 and runs from then till an hour or so after the park closes. At 0930 the shuttle arrived promptly. It is somewhat small so we really had to cram ourselves in (if you are short hang on to your tall companion!) and we were at the entrance in no time. When it was time to be picked up, we waited at the shuttle stop for a few minutes (shuttle runs every 15 minutes or so), then hopped on for a quick trip back to the hotel.

Uno's: After a long hard day of fun at the park, my husband and I ordered pizza from Uno's (located next to the lobby). In order to have them deliver to us we needed to pay by credit card. If we wanted to pay by cash we would have had to go and pay for it, then wait for it to cook, then bring it back to the room. However we were beat so we paid by credit card.

All in all, we would stay here again because of how close it is to the park. It was actually cheaper than some hotels that were farther from the park than the Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmokeysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2010

We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the great location of the Best Western Kings Quarters. We appreciate feedback such as yours because it allows us to know what we are doing right and where we have some room for improvement.
We will share your maintenance issues that you experienced during your stay with our staff. Thank you again for your review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
108 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
279 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruther Glen
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn

Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: $41 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We're just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you'll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. The property is close to the State Fair of Virginia which can't be missed. We're located walking distance to Kings Dominion Theme Park. Corporate guests enjoy business services and superior meeting facilities. Enjoy an on site Denny's restaurant open 24 hours with delicious deals like the Grand Slam. The courtyard features a game room next to a swimming pool and tennis courts. Play ping pong, set the kids free in the children's play area, or head to the putting green for a little swing action on your trip. Randolph Macon College is in the neighborhood, and our Doswell hotel is a favorite for students and faculty alike. While in town, don't miss the chance to see Secretariat's birthplace and a NASCAR(R) race at nearby Richmond International Raceway. Restaurants include UNO's Pizza, the King's Lounge Cocktail Lounge and a poolside Tiki Bar. Located right off I-95, this pet-friendly and family-oriented hotel is ideal for any vacation or business trip. Plus, the premium amenities provide all the comforts of home. Book your kingly stay at the Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Quarters! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IBC Hospitality, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing