We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerstone Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
folsom, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This stay was good... really nice price for service wonderful for children... the Denny's adjacent to the hotel was not the best at all.... the food was salty... service was horrible the first time we went and most times they were out of many things on the menu. The closeness to Kings Dominion was great and the shuttle service was a nice added touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    178
    176
    92
    81
See reviews for
426
106
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Couldn't get any better of a location for overnight stay going to Kings Dominion, even had a free shuttle to park which you could walk to if you wanted. Rooms were clean and comfy, but could use some better lighting. Grounds were nice and clean. Plenty of things for kids to like playground, shuffleboard, pool, etc. Price was a little high for what it was but for location it saved you lots of time if you have kids and are going to KD

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doswell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Staff was not very friendly or helpful at check in . Room was adequate but the bathroom was not. There was mold, rust and unmaintained faucet in the bathtub. There was not breakfast offered- just a Denny's on site. (not in the ad) Difficult to maneuver the property. Parking lot not well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very gracious - I go out of my way to stay at this Best Western to and from my visits Dorset, VT to Savannah, GA. I like the friendly reception and their willingness to accommodate me (72 in October) and my two ten-year old housecats, raised from kittenhood. I know no other place to stay and go out of my way to make it to Doswell going and returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlton
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were unsure about this hotel based on the TripAdvisor Reviews - they ran the gamut. We are glad that we stayed here.

The location is the closest to King's Dominion - while they have a complimentary shuttle that runs every 15 minutes - you can cross a small street to walk through the King's Dominion Parking Lot to get there.

Was it clean? Yes. Perfect, luxurious? No, but we were basically just showering and sleeping there.

Was the staff nice? Most of the time. We never ran into anyone who was rude or nasty. Were they overly friendly? Not really but they seemed to work very hard between the phone, the front desk, vacuuming the lobby, and handing out tennis and ping pong and shuffleboard equipment.

The pool was clean. The entire pool area was lovely.

The hotel was family friendly - it was all families and some with their dogs staying at the hotel.

Would we stay here again? Yes. You can't beat the price and/or location - go to park in a.m., come back and swim and return at night.

Is it four star luxury? Again no - but if you want a family friendly place with a pool close to the park, this is your best bet.

Room Tip: Heads up no elevators - you will have to drag your luggage up to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has too many plusses to count the small negatives going on. We stayed overnight and you cant beat the location. Check in was at 3 but we did a pre check in which was a snap. We were offered shuttle service but chose to drive over to the park until our room was ready. I cant say enough good things about the front desk staff .Extremely friendly and very helpful. We spent most of the day at the park and went back to check in about 4:30. The room we had chosen was a two bed micro fridge etc. It was clean except a few small things could have been better for instance the chairs were slightly stained, they need better towels although there was an ample supply for us.We also had chosen a smoking room but even as smokers we were quick to notice a heavy stale cigarette odor in the room. Maybe a better quality freshener is needed? The pool was wonderful but the grounds around them needed weed whacked..a little sprucing up is all. The tiki bar is located right next to the pool as well as the game room and lounge. Not an entirely great thing to have the game room located next to the lounge though. Dennys is also within the hotel and that will be an entirely differant review as that was NOT a good experience.We took the shuttle back to the park after settling in and it was prompt and quick to get us back and forth that evening.Small things such as slightly broken ceiling tiles in the bathroom which if addressed would contribute to the great things about this hotel. We stayed overnight on Aug 7 2014 and it was peaceful although the hotel was packed. As far as housekeeping not bad but the lobby needs to be dusted and tabletops need cleaned better, it would really help this place shine brighter. Overall, you cant beat the location, the price or the smiles at the front desk from everyone I encountered there and we will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

shower had sand in it and a ball of hair in drain. room not vacuumed. enjoyed the lounge and the tiki bar. hotel was busy and very loud at night. denny's was decent depending on what time you ate and who was working.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn

Property: Centerstone Inn
Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters)
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We're just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you'll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. The property is close to the State Fair of Virginia which can't be missed. We're located walking distance to Kings Dominion Theme Park. Corporate guests enjoy business services and superior meeting facilities. Enjoy an on site Denny's restaurant open 24 hours with delicious deals like the Grand Slam. The courtyard features a game room next to a swimming pool and tennis courts. Play ping pong, set the kids free in the children's play area, or head to the putting green for a little swing action on your trip. Randolph Macon College is in the neighborhood, and our Doswell hotel is a favorite for students and faculty alike. While in town, don't miss the chance to see Secretariat's birthplace and a NASCAR(R) race at nearby Richmond International Raceway. Restaurants include UNO's Pizza, the King's Lounge Cocktail Lounge and a poolside Tiki Bar. Located right off I-95, this pet-friendly and family-oriented hotel is ideal for any vacation or business trip. Plus, the premium amenities provide all the comforts of home. Book your kingly stay at the Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Quarters! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Centerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing