We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings dominion trip”
Review of Centerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerstone Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Reviewed August 17, 2013

had a great stay here for the price...We were very pleased with the service and pricing of the packages that were available to our family of four and we also was able to go and shop and eat and even go to kings dominion all from the same room Thanks for the stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MKolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for being our guest during your visit to Kings Dominion. We know that you always have a choice in lodging and we are happy that you choose us. We look forward to having you stay with us again, and enjoy the many amenities of our property along with Kings Dominion.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 743 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good stay for the value. Saved KD parking fees. Very nice pool, especially for kiddies. Beware the online calendar, reserved the date of reservation, not date of intended stay, Cost us $130. Manager very helpful in resolving problem, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I want to thank you for being our guest for your visit to Kings Dominion. We try to provide each guest with superior customer service, clean & comfortable accommodations in a fun and safe atmosphere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was astounded at the filth and complete disregard for customer service at this best western .. From the moment we arrived we were treated poorly ..the young man at the front desk did not even look up and greet us just handed us our papers to sign... Did I say something ? Absolutely !! We are paying to stay here and you can't even look up and smile and greet us ?? The rooms are very old but we figured we were only going to be there to sleep . Kings dominion was our goal !!! The kids used the pool and tennis courts .
Our first night there ... The adults went to sit by the pool only to find employees who were still on the clock drinking alcohol !! The filthy language that we heard was unspeakable for being around families !!!!! You should be aware that cell phones have recording devices !!
Best western should be ashamed to have its name tied to this facility !! The next morning we all ate at the Denny's which was less then adequate and all 4 of our kids ended up severely ill with one being hospitalized ...
Beware !!!! Drive to Ashland and stay at a better and cleaner facility who teaches it employees how to treat its guests !! And who's main goal is pride in its workplace ...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I want to apologize for your experience at our Best Western Kings Quarters hotel. Our goal is to provide superior customer service in a family atmosphere, and I am so sorry that we failed to achieve that goal for your family visit. I have reviewed your comments and looked at video feed from the pool area and the employees that I find there are all from the restaurant which is a separate entity, although that is not an excuse. I have met with the regional manager for the restaurant company and all employees have been banned from being in the pool area or drinking at all while on property. While that does not solve the issues from the past, I hope that it goes a long way toward keeping the problems from happening in the future. We hope that you will consider Best Western for your lodging needs in the future, and will give us another try for your next visit to Kings Dominion.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Granted, a hotel couldn't be any closer to King's Dominion without being in it. Having a shuttle and being able to leave my car there was a plus, But, yuck! The stairwell had pieces of garbage on it, the room was dirty, and the extra sized family suite had a pull out couch that pushed into the bed it was across from. Arrived at 1 AM and not only had to make the sofa bed myself, but had to remove the balled up dirty sheets that were folded up in it. And I had a fitted sheet and 3 pillowcases! The desk clerk brought a sheet right away-he seemed pleasant and willing to help. Apparently the cleaning staff needs some serious training. Also, almost all our plastic cups were cracked. Can't believe how much I paid for this room, and didn't even have breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamacox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

First I want to apologize for the negative experience you had at our Kings Quarters hotel. Although an older property there is still no excuse for sheets left on a sofa bed. We usually do not make up the sofa beds with clean sheets as we do not know when the next guest will use the bed and they tend to get dusty and dirty under the cushions. However, there is still no excuse for not having the property sheeting to make up the bed, or for dirty sheets balled up in the bed. I have taken your comments to our executive housekeeper for review and we are changing the procedure regarding the sofa beds so that they are more thoroughly inspected before each guest. We hope that you will continue to think of Best Western for your lodging needs and hope to see you at Kings Quarters on your next visit to Kings Dominion.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are staying here to go to the park you have made the best choice. The hotel is a little dated and could use some updating. The pool area could be better... they could spray some bug spray every so often. Otherwise the room was pretty good and quite fine for the little amount of time we spent in it. The shower could use some better water pressure and temperature control. You can walk to the park and that's the best feature, especially if you have to pay for parking. Its location is the best feature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We want to thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Kings Dominion. We have given your comments to our chief engineer regarding the water pressure and temperature control in the shower. We have also passed you observation regarding the pool area to our pest control company for them to work out a solution. We appreciate your honest comments and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Kings Dominion for the first time and Best western was right next door and offered a package deal one night stay plus 2 day passes for each member of your family plus parking and a shuttle over to the park Although the walk was not more then 10 minutes

You can check in at 9 am, Not to you room though and park there all day .Saves you parking fee at Kings Dominion . You can pick up your tickets at the hotel and go have fun. You can return the hotel any time after 3 pm to get into you room if you like then return to the park .

On the next day you can continue to park there until your ready to go home.

The hotel has UNO pizza and Denny's next door if you chose to eat here, very convenient after a day at the park. They can deliver to your room if you chose.

Found the hotel very convenient and a good deal too. Hotel wasn't anything special but clean we had a family room that was a little bigger then a normal room they also offer some specialty rooms for family's that want to keep the KD theme going

Room Tip: Family room are on the second floor if you want a ground floor room you should request it when you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish_oinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We want to thank you for being our guest. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and their time at Kings Dominion. We work hard to provide clean & comfortable accommodations in a safe and fun atmosphere. I agree it is a bit of a walk to the ice machines rom the family rooms, as the machines are all centrally located between buildings but the family rooms are all in the endcap room at the outside ends of the buildings. We hope that you will consider our Best Western Kings Quarters for your return visit to the park.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived early on Fri Aug 9. We were able to pre register and get our tickets. The family room was bigger than most could have been a little bigger. Our room was clean and neat and the air conditioner was working very very well felt good. Reading other reviews about the room being dirty ours wasnt. The only thing I didnt like was where our room was located room 153. I would have rather had a room where Im facing something when I come out. That seem to have people sitting on the steps smoking and talking on their cell phones I cant trust people so I made sure our door was locked. I would have rather been near the front entrance. I would come back again I would request a room facing front entrance. The game room was small need more games. I didnt eat at Dennys but my husband said terrible. Also you can walk to the park which takes you 5 mins. We were lucky to catch the shuttle each time we started. Overall I like it!! Had a great experience. Front desk girl with the blonde hair very nice and also the tall thin guy with blonde hair very nice. Thinking of coming back next year. and bringing more people.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot near lobby seem to be the best. Wish I had that side..if you have child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Feejaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

As general manager it is always nice to hear that my guests have enjoyed their stay with us. The family rooms, like you were in, are all located in the endcap rooms and face the stairways when you exit the room. I am sorry that you were a little uncomfortable with the other people around, but we have had no incidents with guests being "not safe" while on the property. The rooms facing the front of the hotel all have 2 double beds and the micro-fridge, but are a bit smaller and without the sofa sleeper. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future. Should you put together a group of 5 or more rooms, please be sure to contact our Director of Sales and get a group discount for your stay.
Yours in hospitality,
Dave Clausen, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
109 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
283 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn

Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047-1914 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: $38 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We're just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you'll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. The property is close to the State Fair of Virginia which can't be missed. We're located walking distance to Kings Dominion Theme Park. Corporate guests enjoy business services and superior meeting facilities. Enjoy an on site Denny's restaurant open 24 hours with delicious deals like the Grand Slam. The courtyard features a game room next to a swimming pool and tennis courts. Play ping pong, set the kids free in the children's play area, or head to the putting green for a little swing action on your trip. Randolph Macon College is in the neighborhood, and our Doswell hotel is a favorite for students and faculty alike. While in town, don't miss the chance to see Secretariat's birthplace and a NASCAR(R) race at nearby Richmond International Raceway. Restaurants include UNO's Pizza, the King's Lounge Cocktail Lounge and a poolside Tiki Bar. Located right off I-95, this pet-friendly and family-oriented hotel is ideal for any vacation or business trip. Plus, the premium amenities provide all the comforts of home. Book your kingly stay at the Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Quarters! Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IBC Hospitality, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing