We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is a great deal if you are going to the park!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We did not have reservations and were headed back to SC from a visit to PA and just stopped in without a reservation. The front desk staff was very friendly and pleasant. I know it was no longer busy season so we got a great rate. If you are there to do to the park it is just perfect. Our room was average but was clean. Our stay was pleasant and the staff was very helpful. The only bad thing was the service at Denny's during breakfast. Although the restaurant was empty the service was very slow. Besides that if you want a good deal and are going to the park it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineRotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to thank you for staying with us at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that your time with us was enjoyable. I do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your meal in the Denny's restaurant. Unfortunately, we do not operate the food & beverage venues on the property. However, you are our guest and we always strive to ensure that each guest has an exceptional stay during their time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 743 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions as we go to King's Dominion. Each time we've stayed the staff is always very welcoming and friendly. Whenever we've been there (usually mid-September) the kids can find things to do with a pool, small mini-golf, a game room among things to keep them occupied.
Our beds and pillows have always been extremely comfortable and offer a restful nights sleep after a long day at the park.
Also helps that Denny's restaurant is right in the hotel.

Room Tip: A decent place to stay for a restful night....Not a 5 star, but not a hole in the wall either....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to thank you for staying with us at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that your stay was enjoyable during your time here with us. Here at Kings Quarters, we always strive to ensure that each guest has an exceptional time here with us. We always want our guests to feel that they are a part of our extended family. We are glad to hear that we were able to accomplish that for you. We hope to see you again very soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel about 30 years ago and believe me they haven't changed a thing it smells old dirty moldy it looks like it might have bedbugs although we didn't see any. but PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY its not worth it. we had the most horrible night sleep we ever had in our entire lives.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms its time to upgrade this hotel i wll never stay there again until they do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veretta41113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional! We are currently in the process of designing a new layout of a room renovation that will add a sense of a more modern decor to our rooms. Here at Kings Quarters, we always strive to ensure that each guest has an exceptional stay during their time with us. It saddens us to hear that your stay was anything less than that. If at any time you experience any issues with your room or any of the amenities around the property, please feel free to contact the Front Desk immediately. There is an agent available to assist you 24 hours daily with any needs that you may have.

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked 3 rooms the day of my arrival. We waited because of expected weather but decided to go ahead with our trip. The reservation clerk was very friendly on the phone and my reservation was waiting when I got there. She offered me the manager's special and we were very appreciative. As far as location, you can't beat it. The rooms were ample and clean and were available when we got there which was a plus. The shuttle service to KD was a little slow we thought, but it could have been just our timing was off and it was longer than it seemed. Regardless, due to a terrible rainstorm at the park, we left and missed the shuttle and decided to walk to the hotel, and it was a very close walk and very doable with small children. I will say the Denny's that evening was very slow and we were given a 20% discount due to the length of time it took to get our meal after ordering. Most of our party enjoyed their menu selections. Breakfast the next morning was enjoyed by all and the service was much faster. Our kids enjoyed the game room at the hotel. We did not take advantage of the pool or outside games due to the inclement weather but it looked nice. My kids did play on the outdoor playset the morning we left while we were packing and enjoyed it. I do not have any problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cansecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to start by saying thank you for staying with us here at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at Kings Quarters, we always want our guests to feel that they are a part of our extended family. I'm glad to hear that our staff was able to provide you will exceptional service. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Rooms were not clean. No cont. breakfast - only choice is to purchase from Denny's which has poor food and poor service. There were skunks in the courtyard - yes skunks! We stayed 2 nights and room was not cleaned after first night - we had to ask for clean towels. Rooms smelled moldy. Floors were not vacuumed. In room coffee was nasty - only other option was to purchase. We stayed here to take advantage of shuttle service to kings dominion but will not stay again. There are too many nicer hotels in the area for same or better price. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onenadozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. I have passed your comments in regards to the cleanliness and odor of your room to our Executive Housekeeper, so that we are able to ensure that these issues do not occur again. If at any time you experience issues with your room or any of the amenities around the property, please feel free to contact the Front Desk immediately! There is an agent available to assist you 24 hours daily. Again, I do sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with exceptional service!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were a group of 5 families (21 adults and children) wanting to spend the Labor Day weekend at Kings Dominion and this hotel was a natural choice, due to its convenient location. Rooms are rather tired but generally clean. Ample parking (saves $15 per vehicle parking in the park) and within walking distance to the park. Also good view of the park's fireworks in the evenings from the hotel grounds if you decide upon leaving the park earlier. On site Denny's is a real attraction but unfortunately was let down by the lack of kitchen staff over that weekend - thus having long waits for dinner (8/31) and breakfast (9/1). But servers were extremely polite and tried their best to keep disgruntled customers calm (not their fault but kitchen's shortage). The food upon arrival was good. What the families loved the most was the facilities in the hotel - a nice clean pool, putting green, tennis courts, table tennis table etc. which kept the children engaged. They also allowed BBQ on the grounds which again was well received by the families - having a late night gathering around small fire for smores and a couple of beers! Overall, a great experience. Would have given a 5-star review if not for the rooms being somewhat tired and the Denny's long wait experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, we are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters. We are glad to hear that you were able to spend time with your family and enjoy your Labor Day weekend. I do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced in the Denny's restaurant. We are currently designing a new layout for a room renovation that will add a more modern decor to our rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

While the hotel property itself is nice, rooms clean, and spacious, and the location next to Kings Dominion is nice, the service leaves a lot to be desired. I called about an hour in advance for a room; upon arrival, there were a few people sitting in the lobby, but the front desk was deserted. I walked up, and kept yelling "hello" and finally, after about 5 minutes, a girl emerges from the back, stinking like a ciggarette, and instead of asking "may I help you" or something of that nature, just kind of tilts her head and looks at me like "what do you want." The whole time she was checking me in, she was rushing through everything. I could see her gentleman caller in the back, perhaps she was eager to get back to what she was doing with him. Not a very good first impression. The directions she gave to the room (outdoor entrances with multiple buildings) were poor, took ahwhile to find our room. Our room had a good view, but faced this courtyard where there was a swimming pool and tennis courts. There were several teenagers on the courts making a lot of noise- this was 1115 at night, and no one was doing anything about it. The common areas should be shut down at a reasonable time. They boasted having a pizza shop in the hotel, I called the extension for it, there was no answer, so the call was automatically directed to the front desk, and they were clueless as to whether or not the shop was still open- it was supposed to still be open, but upon further checking, they closed early that night without explanation, and I could not find another pizza shop to deliver. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dclausen, General Manager at Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. I have passed your comments in regards to the service you received at the Front Desk to our Front Office Manager, so that he is able to speak with that representative and ensure that it does not occur again! Our interior courtyard is fully operational until midnight each evening. However, if there is ever an issue with noise, please feel free to let us know immediately. We are always willing to ensure that the noise level is maintained to tolerable level until it is closed. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service!

Yours in hospitality,

David Clausen
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doswell
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
109 reviews
6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
283 reviews
6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion

Address: 16102 Theme Park Way, Interstate 95 and Route 30, Doswell, VA 23047-1914 (Formerly Centerstone Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Doswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Doswell
Price Range: $45 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welcome to Centerstone Inn. We are conveniently located next door to Kings Dominion Theme Park, and a hotel partner for the Virginia Sports Complex and the Meadow Event Park. We’re just minutes from a host of exciting area attractions and you’ll find a wonderful selection of shopping and dining nearby. Centerstone Inn is a pet-friendly hotel with plenty of free parking, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and a laundromat. Our property includes a seasonal outdoor pool, lounge, bar, tennis courts, a fun-filled family entertainment courtyard, and 24-hour video game arcade, as well as two delicious restaurants on-site. We have a variety of accommodations to fit your individual, group or family needs at Centerstone Inn, including a microwave, refrigerator, and sleeper sofa in select units. With an expanded cable TV package, comfortable beds with crisp, clean linens and all the comforts of home, the perfect place to stay in Doswell is Centerstone Inn." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IBC Hospitality, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerstone Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kings Quarters Hotel Doswell
Best Western Hotel Doswell
Doswell Best Western
Best Western Doswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing