We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fright night is hilarious fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Dominion

Kings Dominion
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Doswell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grab your friends and family and come to Kings Dominion - Virginia's ultimate 400-acre destination for summertime fun! With more than 60 rides, shows and attractions including the largest coaster collection on the East Coast, Planet Snoopy, our Peanut's themed children's area and WaterWorks, a 20-acre water playground which is included in your park admission. Kings Dominion is Virginia's only destination offering two parks for the price of one. We have everything you need for creating lifelong memories. Our 40th Celebration starts in 2014 and offers magnificent experiences you won't find anywhere else! While it's our birthday, this celebration is all about you! We've taken all of the thrills, chills, smiles and dazzling moments of our history and crafted them into a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Don't miss it! To end the day, stay for Dominion at Dusk - a KD40 Nighttime Celebration! Start off with the vibrant lights and sounds of Snoopy's Starlight Spectacular and the stunning water and lights display of our fully refurbished International Street Fountain. The party really gets going as the Grande Bandstand and the midways of International Street come to life with our all-new block party, Ignite the Night! featuring an impressive cast singing some of your favorite hits! And the party isn't complete without a magnificent display of fireworks lighting up the nighttime skies above the park. Open daily during the summer; weekends in the spring and fall.
Ralegh, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fright night is hilarious fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went up to KD on the last Sunday of their season. Most of the rides were no or short lines especially earlier in the day. Flight of Fear had the longest line, but it is certainly worth the wait. The take off is long and takes your breath away. We love the Rebel Yell and the Stunt coaster. The only improvement I would like to see is wait times on some of the rides like Flight of Fear since you can't see the line.
We went out to eat then came back for Fright Night - well worth the experience. We hit 3 haunted mazes and the lines while long went by fast. The scare staff went out of their way to scare the wits out of you even if it means following you through the maze! My husband thought the mazes could have had more special effects, but I had so much fun with what they had. You have to let go of your serious self and just have fun when you enter the park at night.
Will probably be back to get scared next year. Well worth the 2 hour trip from Raleigh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelismyhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    497
    200
    84
    42
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great rides but ridiculous lines”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went for Haunt night and it was really disappointing. They really put hardly any effort into it being scary. The kids had a OK time but waiting on the lines made it terrible. Some of the lines were two hours long. I was glad to see they opened a chick fil a so I can eat somewhat decent food and when we got our chicken it was raw. definitely not what you expect from a chick fil a. A lot of the patrons were cutting lines and being rowdy. They have no security that we saw. They are oblivious to what people are doing in the park.
We definitely will not be going back there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank kenmendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My fiance and I visited the Kings Dominion park on 10/26, mainly to participate in the Halloween Haunt attraction. When we purchased our tickets we looked up coupon codes online and were able to knock nearly $20 off our total!

This was our first visit to the park and we looked online the night before to see what time the park opened. The website said that the park opened at 10:30 but when we arrived apparently the park actually opened at 10. No big deal because the park didn't close until midnight!

In the first two hours of our trip we were able to ride several coasters with little to no wait, however as the day progressed the park got packed with visitors. We waited in line about an hour and a half for Volcano.

The view from the Eiffel Tower in the middle of the park is absolutely amazing (also a little nerve wrecking if you don't like heights). The mazes for the Halloween Haunt event were awesome. All of the mazes (except the medieval one) were excellently themed. They had so many small details that made the experience even better. The lines seemed long for these attractions but we were able to do 9/10 of the attractions AND ride a roller coaster between 6-11:30. I highly recommend this theme park, especially the Halloween Haunt to anyone who is in the area looking for a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time during the week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took our grandchildren here during the week (ages 1 and 3) and had a total blast at the "Scooby Do Park." The rides for children are great and there is virtually no wait (unlike weekends from what we understand). Food on site is "OK'" and parking is a rip off, but overall its a great " children's day out adventure!"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank woodstock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long lines. Not worth money or wait,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

To really enjoy you would have to spread the Haunt out over several nights. The lines are extremely long- 30-40 mins plus for each attraction. So, in order to do them all you would stand in line after line after line. Oh, don't forget that the park is not well lite. Not a good idea for younger or pre teen kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Dominion also viewed

 

Been to Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing