We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planet Snoopy was a great addition!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Dominion

Kings Dominion
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Doswell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grab your friends and family and come to Kings Dominion - Virginia's ultimate 400-acre destination for summertime fun! With more than 60 rides, shows and attractions including the largest coaster collection on the East Coast, Planet Snoopy, our Peanut's themed children's area and WaterWorks, a 20-acre water playground which is included in your park admission. Kings Dominion is Virginia's only destination offering two parks for the price of one. We have everything you need for creating lifelong memories. Our 40th Celebration starts in 2014 and offers magnificent experiences you won't find anywhere else! While it's our birthday, this celebration is all about you! We've taken all of the thrills, chills, smiles and dazzling moments of our history and crafted them into a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Don't miss it! To end the day, stay for Dominion at Dusk - a KD40 Nighttime Celebration! Start off with the vibrant lights and sounds of Snoopy's Starlight Spectacular and the stunning water and lights display of our fully refurbished International Street Fountain. The party really gets going as the Grande Bandstand and the midways of International Street come to life with our all-new block party, Ignite the Night! featuring an impressive cast singing some of your favorite hits! And the party isn't complete without a magnificent display of fireworks lighting up the nighttime skies above the park. Open daily during the summer; weekends in the spring and fall.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Planet Snoopy was a great addition!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are season pass holder, and it was getting boring. This year they opened planet Snoopy. This is the kids area. Most of the rides were upgraded and they also added new ones. My daughter loved it. Wish they could upgrade the old Scoobydoo roller coaster though. Food prices are ridiculous
They should re-think this area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank giemony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    495
    198
    83
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SAME , SAME”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

entertainment for young and old, but now pricey to get in and out. Nice to have a outting with the children and ride the rides, but mostly the same thing in theme parks across the USA

Helpful?
1 Thank zgateisfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kings Dominion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Kings Dominion is a pretty good park, great coasters, clean and appears to be well maintained. There are a few things I would recommend. The price for food is ridiculous even by theme park standards, $4.50 for one slice of cardboard pizza, $8.00 for a large fry. Bring your cooler and tailgate in the parking lot and save your money. The lines for Volcano and Flight of Fear were long (1hour+) all day, they need to add more trains or start some kind of time return ticket. In contrast the newest coaster, Intimidator 305, moved quickly (the best coaster in the park!). There are a few items inside that are an additional charge (Go karts, etc), once i pay to get in everything should be included.There is plenty for the little kid set to do. If you have a choice between KD and Busch Gardens I would go to Busch Gardens.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still Epic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Kings Dominion is not as mind blowingly awesome as Cedar Point, but it is still worthy of all 5 stars!

✓ Rides
Are awesome. Most do not cause you that throbbing headache because most rides, if not all, are very smooth. There is an assortment of rides to fit the needs of different riders. Are you intimidated by the big roller coasters? Well they have smaller rides that are still enjoyable! For hard core riders, there are more intense rides than Six Flags has to offer. For this reason I always loved Kings Dominion.

✓ Wave Pool
A giant pool ("bay") that generates ocean-like waves. Fun for kids and adults!

✓ Gift Shops
Like many amusement parks, their gift shops are alluring. There's always something I want to take home. They also have caricature artists at this park.

✓ Intimidator 305
Is one of their newer rides. Highly recommended! It was AWESOME!


Highly Recommended!


Tip: I always say this - If you are prone to headaches, consider taking a pain reliever beforehand or bringing it with you to take later. You don't want a headache to ruin your time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieTheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgiinia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“never gets old...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My first trip to Kings Dominion was in 1975 or 1976, it was lion country safari and we drove our car through the park with wild animals roaming all around! Since then, it has evolved into a huge amusement park. It is a great place to spend the day or even a few hours with family or friends. Sometimes the lines can be a bit long, especially on weekends, but it's always a good time. If you are in central Virginia and have a few hours, definitely go!!!! Right off I95 and a memorable occasion for all! Fright fest in the fall is especially fun for teens!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gointonegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Dominion also viewed

 

Been to Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing