We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Prince George Family BBQ
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Disputanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Mechanicsville,Va
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Found this little gem while driving back to Richmond area after dropping our daughter off at camp in North Carolina. Restaurant was very clean as was rest room. The staff where very Friendly and the food was absolutely delicious even the iced tea was awesome!! The portions were of a good size and some of the best BBQ we have ever had.Highly recommend trying this place you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wow this place has some of the best BBQ my wife and I have eaten. They have great hushpuppies that are made special with peppers. We strongly recommend dining here. We are going back for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a large party and no one really left satisfied. The barbecue lacked flavor and the sauce tasted watered down. Hamburger was falling apart and the infant with us wouldn't eat the mashed potatoes. Potato salad looked decent. Banana pudding was literally a large cup of banana flavored pudding with a small slice of banana and a couple Nilla wafers. The service was good but I was hoping for better food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tidbit813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“mediocre at best”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

minced (not pulled) pork was a little dry and not very flavorful and both sandwiches had chunks of hard gristle, the "award winning" sauce had hints of cinnamon and pepper along with a note of apple cider vinegar and did improve the sandwich overall but there was nothing to write home about... dining room and restroom were very clean. dining tables a bit close together, tough to squeeze through.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stopped by on our way home from a day trip for lunch and both of us were very impressed with our meals. My wife had the chicken tenders with sides of coleslaw and sweet potato tots. First time we had seen the tots but they were very tasty. I had a minced bbq with an order of the best onion rings I have had in years. They were busy but we were seated and served within a few minutes. It was very clean and the waitress was very friendly. Since we don't live too far away we plan on going there again in the next few weeks to give breakfast a try, the breakfast menu looked promising.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince George Family BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Prince George Family BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing