We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expecting museum to still be open in Danville in October”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tank Museum

Tank Museum
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey thru Military History at the most extensive collection of International Tank and Cavalry artifacts found anywhere in the world. Prepare yourself for an awesome adventure for both young and old alike. 119 Tanks and Artillery, plus uniforms, headgear and much much more dating from 1509 to present.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expecting museum to still be open in Danville in October”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

With dismay I read the comment posted here recently that the Tank Museum would be exiting Danville by Nov. 11, 2014. We're going to Virginia in October 2014 and the museum was my personal No. 1 place to visit (hopefully there's something else in Danville my wife can do for 4-5 hours). So Aug. 4, I called the museum and the person who answered said YES the museum would be open as scheduled in October, and the previously announced relocation to Ohio was NOT happening, at least at this time. Although I certainly appreciate that a business/museum like this may need a new location to be sustainable, I am planning on checking it out Oct. 17-18 in Danville.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoingThere77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    27
    7
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had no idea that there even was such a place, let alone that it would be in Danville. No frills, no dog and pony show, just lots and lots of tanks, as well as more military-related items and memoribilia than I have ever seen in one place (patches, hats, uniforms, guns). It was nice to visit something like this where you are welcome to do your own thing and see the exhibits in whatever order you please, as many times as you like. Be sure to chat with the chief cook and bottle washer - he's the one on the 3-wheeled bike!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heady-By
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Loss for Danville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Tank Museum has a great collection of tanks from all over the world. In addition to static displays, each year the museum did demonstrations with various military armaments, include a flame-thrower and car crushing with an M-60 Patton Tank. The museum also hosted war games for model tanks that were remote controlled. It was well worth the admission price to see all the history stored in the museum.

The bad news is that in June of 2014, the owners of the Tank Museum announced that the museum would be moving to Ohio. This is truly a loss for Danville being that the Tank Museum was one of the only things worthwhile seeing in Danville. It will sorely be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We came to Danville from Delaware specifically to visit the tank museum. My 14 year old son loves military history and saw it online. This really is an amazing place for a private collection. Just a word of warning - it is huge! There is so much to look at - if you looked at everything you could be there for days! We spend quite a bit of time talking to the owner’s son. It was really interesting talking with him and learning the story of the collection and the museum. If you are in the area, please visit. This is a collection that deserves to be viewed and is worth a trip and every cent of the admission fee!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun times.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very fun to see all the tank history. We're having a special program of flamethrowers and tanks running over cars. Awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tank Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing