We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Stay....”
Review of Courtyard Danville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Danville
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restful Stay....”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was in town for 1 night and booked a room at this Courtyard because of the location to an upcoming event. I thought the hotel was nice, update to date/modern with great customer service. My keycards fail to work but I did not fuss as many other guests tend to do and kept my room and when I did need to step out the front desk representative personally escorted me to my room. The manager Sue and the front desk representative Zerita were fantastic. They were apologetic and offered a room change to which I declined because I didn't think it was a big deal and I loved my room. The engineer on duty and the BISTRO staff were also great. My room was very spacious and quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Thanks for a peaceful stay Courtyard by Marriott at Danville!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Kathleen A,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Courtyard and are glad you had a great stay! I would like to apologize again for the inconvenience with your room key, but am happy to hear our staff was able to handle the situation to your satisfaction. It's also great to hear you found our guest room very spacious and comfortable. We're grateful for your high ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Danville! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
27
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had an excellent experience. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was nice and the bed firm. If you like firm beds, you won't go wrong with this Courtyard. The hotel was clean and attractive. The breakfast meal wasn't included but the food was varied and good at a decent price. I'll stay there again when I'm visiting the area. I had a room on the 3rd floor looking out on the city of Danville, which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGNevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear PGNevis,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I'm very pleased you had an excellent stay all-around and found our staff helpful and friendly. We really appreciate your high ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Danville! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a frequent traveler, I have developed a high opinion of Marriott management. But in the last year, I have had increasing disappointments. This hotel is an example. While basically all OK, it was not what I expect from a Marriott. The checkin was fine, the room a bit tired, but OK. However there was a very noisy machinery closet across the hall that forced be to wear earplugs to sleep. I noticed that in a hotel that was mostly empty, the rooms next to this noisy machine all appeared to be occupied…? When I complained about the noise, I was told "first time I have ever heard that…" which considering that the noise was apparent from the elevator landing - the managers must have never visited the 2nd floor. At the restaurant, nice people, but on three visits, the staff was not present on two of them - and I did not have time to find them. My complaints were responded to by the manager with a classic example of corporate weasel words that meant nothing and I suspect indicated that the manager had not even read the complaint. I will go to Danville many times on business - but I will start to explore the alternative hotels. This one was not great, but it was not managed like I expect a Marriott to be. And hopefully there are better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from 226, 225 due to lots of machinery noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ed B,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm sorry to hear your stay fell short of your expectations and would be happy to speak with you further if you would like to give me a call at the number below. Providing excellent service is one of our biggest priorities and we appreciate your feedback to help improve in the future and make sure our guests know how much we value you. We will also investigate the noise issue you encountered and apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stopped in Danville for a quick overnight stay and decided I couldn't go wrong with a Courtyard. Upon arrival, I was given a gift bag for being a loyal Marriott member. I thought that was so sweet. The gift bag contained a bottle of water and a cookie. Loved it!

When I got to my room, I was so impressed with how clean it was. Everything was perfectly in place and the room was very spacious. The toiletries were Paul Mitchell brand {love this stuff}.

The hotel was extremely quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. The bed was a dream – so, so comfortable. Unfortunately, I slept so well that I didn't have enough time to try breakfast! :)

Thanks for a wonderful stay Courtyard by Marriott Danville!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank en1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear en1187,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and are delighted to hear it was a great one! I'm delighted you had a clean, comfortable visit overall and enjoyed the variety of amenities we offer and some of our other special touches. We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait to see you the next time you're in town! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The courtyard is a pleasant place to stay in Danville. They have great staff-always friendly and helpful. The bistro is like other courtyards but again the staff make for a better experience. Many hotels and workers could learn a few things from this group.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodeats00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear goodeats00,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel - we're delighted to hear you find our staff so accommodating and friendly and appreciate your high ratings! Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
custer, MI
Level Contributor
259 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Now by rating this- I have to compare this to other Courtyards. The staff was very good, the rooms were not as good as other Courtyards. Your not paying for a super 8 and your not paying for a top Marriott hotel. It is a nice clean hotel-great for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear pyrohobie,

Thank you for reviewing our Courtyard by Marriott. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay overall and found our service great, and we appreciate your feedback regarding your guest room. Thanks for your high ratings and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Danville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Friendly, efficient staff. Treats at the front desk (more than normal). Beautiful room. Quiet, comfortable, spotless. All the little things are there too -- extra electrical outlets by the bed, and lightswitches that are intuitive.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear DonnaSC,

Thanks so much for your review and kind words! We're delighted you had a great all-around stay and enjoyed the variety of amenities we offer. We appreciate your high ratings across the board and can't wait to see you the next time you're in Danville. Thank you again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#3 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Eden
Hampton Inn Eden
#1 of 3 in Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Danville

Property: Courtyard Danville
Address: 2136 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Danville 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Danville is a full service hotel offering our Bistro for made to order breakfast and dinner. Enjoy a comfortable room, or spacious suite. The Courtyard Danville is located along the Dan River near historic Danville, Virginia. Enjoy free wi-fi, outdoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Danville Hotel Danville
Danville Courtyard
Danville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing