We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Welcoming Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Danville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Danville
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Warm and Welcoming Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed for a week in the Snow. (a rare event in Virginia)
The staff was great they helped me get a report scanned for work.
They were all friendly and the place was really clean.
I was very happy and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_MW7723SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear John_MW7723SD,

Thank you for reviewing our Courtyard and we hope you were able to get back home without issue once the snow cleared! I'm very pleased to hear you found our service excellent and had a great stay overall. Thanks for your high ratings and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
27
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here in for one night, along with some extended family for My Great Grandmothers funeral. The rooms were clean and staff nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anybody who'll be in the area visting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Toback,

Thank you for reviewing your visit; we send our condolences to you and your family for your loss. I'm glad that we were able to provide a comfortable stay and we appreciate your recommendation. Thanks again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was in Danville with my boyfriend for a wedding, and figured this hotel seemed like the nicest one we could stay at.

The rooms were clean and relatively large. My boyfriend kept saying that it was like a "mini apartment". The staff were all very friendly.

The location of the hotel was convenient, it was near everything we had to go to that weekend. It's also walking distance from Ham's if you're interested in getting a drink (although there are no sidewalks, which was surprising).

The only real downside was that breakfast was not included. It was about $109 for each night, which is pretty high for the area. You would think they would at least have breakfast included to even out the higher price.

Overall a nice experience. If I ended up having to go to Danville again, I would probably stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jennifer O,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we hope you had fun at the wedding! I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback regarding our breakfast onto our team. Otherwise, we're happy you found our staff very friendly and helpful and your guest room so spacious. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit to Danville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We thought this hotel was very nice. Our room was extremely clean and seemed relatively new...maybe updated? The beds and pillows were quite comfortable....no complaints there. We would certainly consider staying there again. Our only complaints were concerning our phone call for reservations. We were told there were no King rooms available, when they were clearly shown available online. When I asked her to be sure since they were shown online, she reaffirmed that there were no kings. We were also told they would not honor our AAA discount. At this, we decided just to make our reservations online and promptly reserved King rooms at a rate almost double the rate we would pay a week later at another Marriott. Two days later we received a call asking if we would mind to change to Queen rooms because there was a maintenance issue with the King rooms. When I insisted that we did not mind having rooms that were not close together, as long as they were King rooms, she kept insisting they were trying to keep us together. So, after some discussion concerning how all the Kings could possibly have a maintenance issue, I politely gave in. At this point, she told me it was okay they would leave us in the King rooms! When we checked in I asked about the Senior rate others had received and were told that our price was locked in and could not be changed.
So, aside from the telephone issues, and not receiving any discounts, we were pleased with the facility.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear uva7,

Thank you for reviewing our Courtyard. While I'm happy to hear that you had such a comfortable stay and enjoyed our furnishings, I do apologize for the mix-up regarding your booking and will pass your comments onto our team for discussion to help avoid similar miscommunications in the future. If you would like to discuss further, please don't hesitate to give me a call at the number below and I'd be happy to speak with you. Otherwise, thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you during your next visit to Danville.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I attended the Bright Leaf Brew Fest in Danville and this Courtyard was nearby and a comfortable choice. Just give yourself some time to wait for a taxi. The staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel is clean, modern, and welcoming. The King room was outstanding with plenty of space and the bedding was excellent (as usual for a Courtyard). I would definitely stay here the next time in town. I guess that will be next year's brew fest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear charleyyy,

Thanks for your review and we hope you had fun at the Brew Fest. I'm glad to read you had a great stay and found our staff very helpful and friendly, as well as that you enjoyed our furnishings and amenities. We appreciate your high ratings and look forward to seeing you next year, if not sooner! Thank you again for your feedback.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Courtyard by Marriott Danville while visiting family. We received a room with all of the specifics that we requested and check-in was easy. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable as usual.

We didn't use the cafe or any other amenities. The WiFi was free and reliable. Security was also on point, requiring guest to use their room key to enter the front entrance after hours.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vsnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear vsnead,

We appreciate you writing about your experience and hope you enjoyed visiting with your family! I'm glad you had a comfortable and clean stay and hope you will be able to eat at our Bistro restaurant the next time you're in town. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Warmly greeted, recognized as a rewards club member, and the room was exactly as ordered with extra pillows and towels. They had their game jerseys on and the NFL game on in the lounge with free hot popcorn. The bar was open until 10 PM. Very nice room, good TV selections, comfortable bed.

Room Tip: I had a 2-room suite on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Courtyard Danville, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Don M,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel; we're glad to hear everything was to your expectations during your visit and you found our staff so friendly. I hope you were able to join in with the game festivities! Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Danville.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Eden
Hampton Inn Eden
#1 of 3 in Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Danville

Property: Courtyard Danville
Address: 2136 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Danville 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Danville is a full service hotel offering our Bistro for made to order breakfast and dinner. Enjoy a comfortable room, or spacious suite. The Courtyard Danville is located along the Dan River near historic Danville, Virginia. Enjoy free wi-fi, outdoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Danville Hotel Danville
Danville Courtyard
Danville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing