We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Courtyard Danville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Danville
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I'm a frequent business traveler. This was my first trip to Danville. I am a diamond member in a competing chain, however, that location did not have good reviews on here. I'm glad I stayed at the courtyard! Nice clean updated hotel. Front desk staff told me it was remodeled in 2009. The convenience of having a restaurant on site is a plus too!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MissyS267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
27
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is a nice place to stay. It meets the usual high standards set by the Marriott Corporation in terms of the quality and cleanliness of the room, amenities for the business traveller who needs to work in his room in the evening, the professionalism of the staff, and the overall experience of your stay. It is in a convenient location if you have business in Danville. And there is a good selection of places to eat supper nearby.However, I still cannot understand why it is that when I tried to make a room reservation on the Marriott Rewards web site I was quoted a "lowest rate" of $120 + tax per night; yet minutes after that, I was quoted a rate of $102+ tax per night for the same room at this property. Needless to say, I booked through Hotels.com! I realized I could not get the Marriott Rewards points if I booked through Hotels.com, but these days, the difference of $18 + tax was worth the loss of the points.

Room Tip: Believe it or not, the rooms that are located next to the elevator shaft (room numbers end in "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLT-Homebase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'm a frequent traveler and generally look for the 'premium express hotels' (Garden Inn, Courtyard, & Hyatt Place) ...considering the source is important with reviews. This property is probably about the best you'll find in this town, although Best Western gets good reviews. It has been renovated up to the new decor/standards for Courtyards, but you can only work with what you've got when renovating. Hotel was reasonably clean, not impecable, but pretty good. Rooms a decent size, but not as large as many Courtyards. Room furnishings/appointments to current decor standards - modern, somewhat upscale, & very pleasant. The beds were surprising - not near as comfortable as the previous Courtyard, OK, but not up to premium standards. 2 frequent complaints for Courtyards are the coffee makers, which take a tea bag size 'pod' (and no free lobby coffee), and no microwave in the rooms (although they do have a fridge). Hilton Garden Inn's use real coffee makers (4 cup size) and always have free coffee in lobby. Room towels are the SAME as pool towels - small & not plush. Nice TV. No road noise. No free breakfast, but a limited menu of items ($7-10). Outdoor seasonal pool was nice (clean & private). Indoor hot tub in postage-stamp size room - too hot & very crowded and noisey. Market value would be between $89 and $109 max. $99 would be reasonable. Frankly, not the best Courtyard - I'd say in the bottom 20%, but it's still a Courtyard and a nice hotel. It may well be about the best you'll find in Danville.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Pretty decent hotel. Nice dark rooms. Adequate firness center. Food in the little courtyard restaurant is tolerable. The best thing about this hotel isthe customer service. They have these ladies that work there that are awesome. Every single one of them went out of there way to be helpful; always with a smile, and well just pleasant! Outdoor pool looked nice too, but I didn't use it. I'll definetly stay there the next time i in Danville!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my37122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast of the U.S.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a light dinner in the cafe, it was very good and reasonably priced. check in and out were both very quick and easy. Good quality bedding and decor. We would stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here while in Danville on business and it was great. Very clean room with large tv, coffee maker and refrigerator. Wifi was very fast. It has a bar/cafe in the lobby but I didnt go to it. The fitness center is satisfactory with free weights/ treadmill/ and elliptical. I will stay here again when in Danville.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One3eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The room was comfortable and the decor attractive. Ample closet space in a lovely wall unit. The staff was helpful and always pleasant. The beds were comfortable. I was there for my MBA graduation and the views from the hotel of Danville were wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willoughby460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 11 in Danville
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
24.7 mi away
Camber Inn
Camber Inn
#1 of 2 in Gretna
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Danville

Property: Courtyard Danville
Address: 2136 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Danville 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Danville is a full service hotel offering our Bistro for made to order breakfast and dinner. Enjoy a comfortable room, or spacious suite. The Courtyard Danville is located along the Dan River near historic Danville, Virginia. Enjoy free wi-fi, outdoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Danville Hotel Danville
Danville Courtyard
Danville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing