We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Employees need lessons in customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of 316 Cibo - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
316 Cibo
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Employees need lessons in customer service”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have frequented Cibo due to its great food. The custom salads are wonderful, and the soups are out of this world. But the staff has never been friendly. I always feel like I'm bothering them when I give my order and check out. But Tuesday, July 31, was the last straw.

My husband and I walked in to the restaurant at 7:41 p.m., looking forward to getting soup and salad to go. The employee graciously brought the salad dressings back out of the cooler, where they had already been stored for the evening, but we were informed that we couldn't have soup, since it had already been put in the cooler.

Silly me. I thought the large signs in the windows that say "Open Until 8 p.m." meant that food would be served until 8:00 p.m. Apparently, it just means that the doors will be open. We were very disappointed and left without bothering the staff further.

Great food is not enough for a successful restaurant. I suggest taking some lessons from Chick-fi-la, where their employees say, "It's a pleasure to serve you" and they mean it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bailey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best Salad Around”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to be for a great salad. The salads are large enough to fill anyone. They also have a great variety.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanceyville, NC
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We absolutely love 316 Cibo! Generous portions of delicious food at affordable prices! I try to make a trip to Cibo at least once a month (we live out-of-state). Their custom salads are out of this world. High chairs are provided and there is a changing station in the women's restroom for smaller patrons. We take our infant, but I wouldn't recommend Cibo for children with picky appetites. They've recently added evening hours which is great since they're usually packed during the day. Expect at least a 15-minute wait at lunchtime (12-1pm), but it's worth it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwordsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh... did I say.. Fresh???”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Wonderful lunch spot. Fresh sandwiches made to order and a create your own salad option.. they have about 50 toppings. HUGE salads. Try the turkeypeno.. it's my favorite. The cream of carrot soup is good, too. Nice decor. Good baked goods.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great New Addition to Downtown”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Tomato Bisque is outstanding. Freshest ingredients in Danville. great location. Looking forward to the warmer weather to enjoy the outdoor seating. Also offer upstairs for larger groups or meetings

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandy5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 316 Cibo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing