We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Jake's on Main - CLOSED

Jake's on Main
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Jake's offers diners a trendy, fun place to have great food in a social environment. You will find upscale American food along with a large assortment of high end microbrews, bourbons, single malt scotches, wines and spirits. An emphasis on fresh and healthy ingredients is based on Jake's on Main's dedication to serve fare that is not associated with any "chain restaurant" menus. Additionally, the restaurant will procure local foods when possible, assuring the freshest ingredients and helping to sustain the farmers located in the Dan River region. We invite you to come see for yourself! Join us soon at Jake's on Main!
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Jake's has great location with ample parking. The interior is great (refurbished older building) with some modern flair. The menu is small (which I prefer), the ingredients are fresh and taste great. Some people might have an issue with grilled fish tasting a bit too "charry", but if that floats your boat then you'll love it. Good wine menu as well with some nice affordable wines as well as more expensive ones.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MistaPoupou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    37
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but a bit pricey.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here with some friends. Had a great time talking. Food was good, but a bit on the high $ side. $10 for a burger seems slightly high for me. The crab cakes are delicious though. Definitely have to get those again. It was a nice quiet place to go occasionally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beigedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I travel a lot for work and love to find local restaurants. Jake's on Main did not disappoint! Great food, service and loved the live music.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jayhawks91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Absolutely never disappoints! The servers are quick and pleasant, the drinks specials are always new and refreshing, and the food is absolutely phenomenal! No matter what you get, you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reagen_Scifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We chose this restaurant because of the reviews, and we're very pleased. The food was delicious, the staff friendly and the price excellent. We don't get to Danville often, but will be sure to return to this little gem of a restaurant next time we are here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sally700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's on Main also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing