We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charlotte Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Danville VA
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    49
    24
    17
See reviews for
50
24
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on March 30 for the motorcycle track day the following two days. I reserved over the phone for one night only. We were not told on the phone about a two-night minimum for that weekend. Nor were we told upon checkin. We left the hotel very early the next morning to head to the track, skipping the formal checkout process. So I had no proof of the reservation, or of our leaving after one night (note to self: always get a receipt at check out). On my credit card statement the next month, I saw that they charged us for two nights. I called to dispute this and the manager, Mr. Suthar, told me there was a 2 night minimum and didn't care (or didn't believe) that we were not told of this when making the reservation or at check in. So I tried to dispute the charge through my credit card company and was not successful. During that process, an employee at Super 8 told us that they made note of us leaving on Saturday morning, then saw that we checked back in again 20 minutes later. This sounds like somebody ELSE checked in and took our room, paid for by us! Not sure if that's really what happened. But in any event, beware of what I consider unfair practices of this hotel to not inform of a 2 night minimum stay, then go ahead and charge you for a night you weren't there. We would never have booked there if we knew about a 2 night requirement. We live in Raleigh so it was only a 2 hour drive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sryder3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psuthar, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I am sorry that you did not know that it was a minimum of 2 nights but as you had written on your review that "an employee at Super 8 told us that they made note of us leaving on Saturday morning, then saw that we checked back in again 20 minutes later" now if you left early in the morning like you had written on your review "We left the hotel very early the next morning to head to the track, skipping the formal checkout process" then how did you hear a Super-8 employee 20 mins after you say that you had supposedly checked-out!!!! Now does that make sense?

Yes, she is right get a receipt when you check out at least you should know what your total rate is for your stay. I belive that she know that it was a race weekend & wanted to get out of paying for 2 nights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed at this motel many time before and have enjoyed the stay. It has been a year since my last stay and when I checked in this time, things were not the same.

First of all, the check-in was fairly cold compared to in the past. My room, when I walked in, had a strange smell. The cover over the A/C was gone and they had used a gutter guard to cover up the opening. The handle for the faucet was not attached and just came off.

I checked for any signs of bed bug and didn't see any on the mattress or the box spring, I should have checked better. When I woke up in the morning, my body was covered with bed bug bites. I had more that 40 bites on my arm, neck, and feet.

I wrote up an incident report and responded to their survey. The motel owner/manager wrote me back and said they had checked the room and there were no bed bugs in the room.

I invited him to sleep in the room tonight.

Room Tip: At room 209, for some reason, you will wake up with lots of bed bug bites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psuthar, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am sorry about you experiance was anthing but pleasure at this Super-8. I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay but I know that he has claimed that we bed bugs but there are no bed bugs. Since we do regular exterminator & our maintance & housekeepering dept had checked your room after your departature & found no bed bugs. I know we (housekeeper & Maintance) take bed bugs very seriously. I had offered this gentleman a free night stay just to prove my point that there was no bed bugs. I do plan on taking up on his offer about staying here this evening.
By the way he claims that he has stayed here many times before but it was his first time here!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danville hotels

East Aurora, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The small drab room appeared clean, but had a strong vomit smell. The A/C was not on when we checked in and the room was close to 90 deg. The smell did not go away. Unfortunately it was too late to change hotels. We moved the next day to a very new, clean Holiday Inn Express a quarter mile down the road. BTW, the continental breakfast was Sams Club quality and the coffee was weak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnloewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psuthar, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am sorry about the Vomit smell on my propery but I would like to let you know that our hosekeeping/Maintance staff are very good about the rooms should be to the Industry standard & accodring to them the room was done properly. I take pride in my Housekeeping staff & My front desk crew as well.
All you had to ask for another room & your wish could have been granted!!!
Again I would like apologize on behalf of the Super-8 Danville, VA. We would be more then happy to see you again & to see if you are happy with your stay at Super-8 Danville, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

the coolbreeze says it all. this is a very nice place for the money. not much to look at outside, but the room is quite nice, especially for a budget motel. plush towes, good desk work space and wifi connection. Unless you need something a little upscale, try to get a room here before you look elsewhere in danville.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willizannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review & hope to see you back in Danville, VA again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danville hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
106 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#1 of 11 in Danville
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Danville VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Danville VA

Property: Super 8 Danville VA
Address: 2385 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Danville VA 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Danville VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Danville
Super Eight Danville
Danville Super 8
Danville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing