We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for VIR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Danville VA
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for VIR”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice newly renovated room, friendly staff and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psuthar, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thanks for your great review of out newly renovated rooms. We had worked so hard to get these rooms to the Super-8 Standard. Again Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    51
    25
    18
See reviews for
53
24
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
athens, ga
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Anyone who has stayed at a Super 8 in the past, should know what they are getting with the brand. Typically, it is a no-nonsense bed for the night. Not much more - but sometimes that is all one needs. The Danville version of the Super 8 delivers that. Check-in was super fast for a 10 p.m. on a Friday night and the room was basic, but comfortable. No, I would not go out of my way to stay here (or just about any Super 8). But the hotel was fairly new, safe, and provided a good night sleep. If I find myself in Danville looking for a room, I would probably start here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psuthar, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thanks for posting your review of our property! We are new management and are working to improve the property and customer experience. We have just started a property renovation project and by mid year 2012 will have a whole new look and experience. Hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Danville, Virginia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The price was right and the facility ok..stains on carpet, smelled like mildew if the air was off and cold if the air was on...good thing we had blankets. Towels were thin and chincy. Staff was friendly and free breakfast was very limited..sugar cereal, canned juices that taste of metal, ok coffee and danish that were stale. But the price was right!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psuthar, General Manager at Super 8 Danville VA, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thanks for your comments! We are new management and are working to improve the property and customer experience. We value your feedback in order to make the changes needed. We have just started a property renovation project and are working first on the guest rooms and breakfast area. Hope to have you visit us on your next trip to Danville,Virginia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Danville hotels

pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Check-in was fast and friendly...The room is basic but clean. Good location. The room is quiet even with a sports bar next door. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the place for you, but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and the people are nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The check in at this hotel was smooth with no problems. The rooms are basic. Bed, limited drawers and hangers and decent shower and bath. The room was clean, but a past guest left gum in the carpet and their was still some signs of the same.
The continental breakfast is basic-some muffins, sweet rolls cereals, juice and coffee.
I believe the hotel is a good value for basic needs. There is no exercise room or pool. There is wireless internet. This review is short because this is a hotel offering few amenities. It is in a good location for doing business in and around Danville.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — lack of amenities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oldgeorgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

First: Despite what the Super8 website says, this motel is NOT within 1/2 mile east of the US 29 BYPASS; it is within 1/2 mile east of US 29 BUSINESS (downtown along the river). It took me 45 minutes and three phone calls to the hotel to find the right location. I understand the front desk person was having a terrible night with a water leak in one of the rooms which affected the room below and having the rearrange guests, so she had her hands full; however, knowing where US 29 BYPASS is and a simple "turn around and come back about 5 miles or so because we're west of the the Bypass in downtown" would have more quickly clarified the directions because I kept looking within one mile east of the Bypass.

The motel is between Ham's Restaurant and Burger King. What is the deal with building motels next to restaurants then having garbage pickup at 6:30 AM?!? So much for sleeping in. In addition, the clientele appeared to be up all night as room doors were opened and closed all night.

However, the room seemed clean and comfortable otherwise. The staff, even the harried evening clerk, seemed pleasant enough and helpful. Breakfast was the standard Super8 continental fare. It was a decent hotel for the price.

  • Liked — good clean room for a decent price
  • Disliked — proximity to restaurants and hearing the 6:30 AM garbage pickup
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CUTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

one word: cockroaches

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LGVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danville hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.0 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Danville VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Danville VA

Property: Super 8 Danville VA
Address: 2385 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Danville VA 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Danville VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Danville
Super Eight Danville
Danville Super Eight
Danville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing