We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Danville
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Reviewed March 29, 2011

A typical Hampton Inn - good size room, great breakfast, friendly staff.

Located on main road near other motels with a couple of OK-ish restaurants within walking distance. Address (Riverside Drive) kind of suggested it was by the river and I had imagined a leafy pleasant park-like location but it was not like that. Can't see the river as it's the other side of a very busy main road and fronted by restuarants and other businesses. It was a short drive to a nearby mall with a good selection of shops and surrounding by a good selection of chain restaurants.

Hotel looks to be under rennovation with new furniture arriving and preparing to redecorate hallways. Room was a good size as was the bathroom.

Breakfast area was small but was always well stocked and a very good selection of both hot and cold dishes.

Used the computer in the lobby which was rather slow - but free of charge so can't complain!

Staff everywhere were really friendly and helpful.

Shame the outdoor pool area wasn't open as whilst we were there it was very warm and it would have been nice to have been able to sit outside - there is no other patio/seating area other than around the pool.

Danville itself was rather disappointing - though a good base to explore the surrounding area. Downtown seemed rather run down will lots of empty shops/buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 306 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2010

The hotel is not far from the shopping centers (main ones are not on the main roads but off the side streets, including Walmart, Lowes, Target, as well as the ones in the standard mall) and quite a few restaurants, though there is only one drug store in the entire area! All hotels here are on the main road and can be a little noisy, depending where your room faces.

This is a typical Hampton in that feels like it's been updated fairly recently. The rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfast was very nice. All the staff were polite and helpful.

The only negative is the "business center" which consists of one computer in the main lobby - it is very old, very slow, and often doesn't load pages. When I started the first thing that printed was someone else's boarding pass; I assume they had given up and just gone to the airport. The staff member said it was a common problem, all guests complain, and the staff have complained to the managers/owners but they won't do anything to fix it.

I would definitely stay here again - but only if I don't have to print anything, or depend on their computer to look up something.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roogirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

A newer Hampton Inn located just north of downtown Danville. The property and rooms have been maintained very well. Great bed and breakfast!! The staff at check in and in the breakfast area were great. The only issue is the traffic on the adjacent street is heavy and can cause delays exiting and entering the parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoovinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This was our second stay at the Hampton Inn in Danville - both times we were attending events at Virginia International Raceway. Our first stay in April of 2009 was great, and this year was even better. The rooms are comfortable and very clean as are all of the common areas. The continental breakfast was above average with both hot and cold selections - biscuits, sausage gravy, bagels, danish, toast, yogurt, a large assortment of cold cereals, fresh fruit, breakfast bars (easy to grab and go), etc. In the afternoon and evenings, there are snacks set out at the front desk and breakfast area - chips, pretzels, fresh cookies, danish, prepackaged muffins, prepackaged Oreos, Rice Krispie bars, cereal bars, etc. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within easy driving distance to many of the area's restaurant and shopping centers. We've already booked our stay for next year's event!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenEyedLady518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I've been frequenting Hampton's for business lately and this one was not unlike all the rest, clean, updated with an inviting decor, but for paying $110 a night I felt it should have been better.

I ended up with some time and walked next door to the Courtyard and was more impressed. The woman on duty told me the price was $105 and upon showing me a room, I decided this would have been a better deal. The room was a double queen and about 25% larger than mine (with the two double beds). Although I will say the Hampton is better decorated, the Marriott felt a little spartan. Anyway, on with the review.

Room: A bit small, with two doubles (which I'm not too fond of, I mean unless you're traveling on the cheap, who needs 2 doubles?) a CRT 27" TV, internet outlet and desk. It was updated though and up to Hampton standards.

Bathroom: Small. Just the basics, toilet, sink, shower/tub. I did notice the only provided shampoo & conditioner. Not that I'm into all the frills, but usually you get moisturizer and mouthwash.

Cost: Like I said before, I got $110, which for Danville (even being the last capital of the Confederacy) was a bit steep.

Breakfast: This was surprising as they had more options than most of the other Hamptons, more cereal, types of yogurt, and the hot portion of the meal was actually cooked, not seemingly cooked, sausages. I'm not a big fan of the hot Hampton breakfasts but they did good here.

Service: A bit slow, there were at least 3 people on duty, but they all seemed to be busy with other things. They weren't rude or anything, just not over the top good.

Hotel: Interior is quite nice, up to Hampton quality. The exterior is typical Hampton, sort of general looking, but there's enough parking and it's easy to find. The business center isn't secluded and is right on the left as you walk in the main door, so while they have one, it's not the best. They have a pool as well, but it wasn't open yet and it was outside. Don't know if it's heated or not, but me being from Florida, I wouldn't have jumped in unless it was.

Summary: It was a typical Hampton (although smaller rooms) and I really had no problems with it, but with the nicer Courtyard next door, for the same price, I'll stay there next time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Another Family Reunion lead us to the Hampton Inn Danville.

Our stay was excellent. Rooms were clean and quiet. Location is convenient. Kids really enjoyed the outdoor pool. Breakfast was fine (although I actually ate at the Biscuitville across the street since it is one of my favorites) but kids ate at the hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank letstravelwithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Convenient to Danville, VA. Good size rooms with continental breakfast and free internet.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jeff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#5 of 11 in Danville
150 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Danville
116 reviews
24.7 mi away
Camber Inn
Camber Inn
#1 of 2 in Gretna
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Danville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Danville

Address: 2130 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range: $116 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or leisure, stay at the Hampton Inn hotel in Danville, VA and you will be within easy reach of all the town has to offer. Our hotel has 58 clean and comfortable guest rooms, including accessible rooms. Enjoy our free hot breakfast every morning with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal. As always, your visit is backed by the 100% Hampton Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Danville Hotel Danville
Danville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing