We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Danville
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This was an ok hotel. Room was very humid especially after showing. The ac unit could not keep up with the humidity. Beds were soft but ok. Rooms and property were clean. Pool was crowded but nice. Breakfast was a nice free amenity

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nick9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear nick9874,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express. While you had a good stay overall, we do apologize for the aspects that didn't meet your expectations and our team will discuss your feedback in order to improve our facilities in the future. Otherwise, we're glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and found us very clean overall. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you're in Danville.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
21
1
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were returning from the Carolinas to Washington after a month long road trip,stopped in Danville to break journey.This hotel gave us a really great reception,and were very friendly.The room was on second floor with good views of front of hotel.Very,very clean and nicely furnished,in fact it was a lot better than the 4star hotels we had used on this trip,I made sure and told them my views and thanked them for their hospitality.We got there late afternoon,but still went and took advantage of the outdoor pool.
We would love to have had longer at this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will offer you the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PENANGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear PENANGMAN,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express and hope you enjoyed your road trip! I'm delighted you had such a great experience and found our service exemplary. Thanks again for your high ratings and we hope you'll be able to stay longer next time!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to Danville over Spring break because my son wanted to visit the Tank Museum (if you interested in military history it's a must see). We have never been to Danville so we weren't familiar with the area when we booked. As we were getting close to the hotel I was getting a little nervous about the area. It got a little bitter as we got closer. I wouldn't have wanted to stay for an extended amount of time, but one night was fine. As far as the hotel goes, it was fine. It was typical for this chain. There was nothing that stood out, good or bad. We didn't think the front desk staff was very friendly. It almost seemed that we were bothering them when we checked in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Marie F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review & we hope you enjoyed visiting the museum. I'm glad to hear you had a fine stay, but apologize we did not provide you with the level of service you expected; our team will discuss your comments to ensure all of our guests feel welcome and well cared for. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I travelled for my company so we had three rooms under my bosses name, I didn't need to stay one of the nights so I cancelled my ONE room for that night. I even called back to make sure they only cancelled my ONE room, my boss gets there and they actually cancelled all rooms, including his, they blamed it on me so that was a fun conversation with my boss.
Staff was not anything special, you can feel the springs in the beds, I was the very first person to have eggs in the morning and they were cold.
Not to mention that there were grown adults laying on the back parking lot jumping each other on kids bikes while drinking.
It was my first visit to the area, the hotel looks nice on the outside and inside but I think the environment of the hotel and the bad beds would lead me to not recommend this hotel (maybe this area?)

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Dnourie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - we apologize for the mix-up with your reservation and our team will use your feedback to avoid similar missteps in the future. We're also sorry that a few other aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations-please give me a call at the number below if you would like to discuss anything further. Otherwise, we again apologize for the inconvenience, but hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

For an HIE the one in Danville was very nice. They had afternoon milk and cookies and a big breakfast with some sort of eggs and meat plus cold things every morning.

We were in town for the IDA National Horseshow. The same weekend there was a Business School Rugby tournament. The Wharton Wildebeest's Ladies Rugby team and the men's Tuck team were at our hotel. Of course the ladies were more organized than the boys. At breakfast Saturday morning 40 girls in rugby gear devoured all the food. The hotel staff did a great job of restocking and keeping up with demand. The 15 or so boys rolled in slowly after the girls had already left for their games.

I asked for extra pillows and was told they only had enough for 2 in each room. We complained about noise in the lobby late at night (all those rugby players) and the desk clerk was right on it.

The service was great and very accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Suzannea2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express; we hope all went well with the horse show! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs at breakfast even though it was very busy, as well as that our staff quickly resolved any noise issues. We appreciate your high ratings and hope to see you the next time you're in Danville! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We selected this motel over the Hampton Inn, across the street, because they had queen size beds vs. "standard" full size. The Holiday Inn website had complaints about not being able to use the tub. Despite their own comments, this really is a problem that the local management is NOT addressing! They have a curved shower curtain bar for the tub/shower that is mounted too high for the inner curtain to reliably remain inside the tub when you are using the shower. We managed to use this troublesome arrangement by putting towels on the floor, carefully positioning the inner curtain, and pointing the shower head toward the back wall of the tub/shower enclosure. Elsewhere, the wood interior trim in the elevator was seriously damaged and should be repaired. This is a very nice, new facility, but the details make you wonder about long term maintenance and repair issues.

Room Tip: Inspect the room first, to see if they have fixed the shower curtain problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear David D,

We appreciate you reviewing our Holiday Inn Express and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in your guest bathroom - we are working towards fixing these issues and are thankful for the feedback as we work through it. Otherwise, we are happy to see you rate many of our aspects highly and hope to see you the next time you're in Danville. Please give me a call at the number below if you'd like to discuss anything further; thank you again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good, well run property. Close to everything of interest in Danville. Good value for price. Good free breakfast. Have stayed there several times and consistently good. Would happily stay thee again. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get top floor room for quietest stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosiertraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Danville, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Hoosiertraveler007,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; we're happy to hear you always have a good stay with us and appreciate you choosing us when you're in Danville! I'm also glad to read our location works well for your needs. Thank you again for your comments and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#1 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Danville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Danville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Danville
Address: 2121 Riverside Dr, Danville, VA 24540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Danville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the best hotel for fitness and exercise in Danville, VA. Situated on Riverside Drive overlooking the Dan River, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Danville combines a convenient location, stunning natural scenery and value-added amenities. Check out a complimentary bike or take a run on the Riverwalk Trail to Carrington Pavilion, Dan Daniel Park and Civil War sites in historic downtown. Slip into our outdoor pool after a long day or lounge on our back deck, soaking up the sun. Come to the lobby for iced fruit cups during the day and fresh-baked cookies every evening. Free Wifi, Free Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Danville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Danville Hotel Danville
Holiday Inn Danville
Danville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing