We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible EXPERIENCE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Innkeeper Danville North
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible EXPERIENCE!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I visited the Inn Keeper on West Main in Danville Virginia.And I had a horrible experience.I woke up with feeling like there was something stinging my neck arms and legs. I woke up to find out I had been bitten by something several times. My arm was puffy and red and neck. I had a room with double beds and so I decided to lay over on other bed and not get under the covers. And I woke up again with the same results like something bitten me. I cut light on and looked at my leg again same results. So I happen to look down at covering which was white and saw this little tiny bug just a crawling towards my pillow. And I mashed it and blood came from it and I got up and said oh my goodness I've been bitten by bed bugs. So I got up and went straight to the front office to tell them.And The young lady said I had to wait until 7:00 until the manager come in. And I did and I told her about it she said they would investigate and let me know what they find. So I waited and she said she couldn't find anything I told her you are lying because there is bed bugs in those two beds.I wasn't like that before I went to bed. She was very rude and I told her I am leaving and I want my refund back. And she said well I will see what I can do. And after arguing with her over and over she said okay I will refund your money back and we prefer you not to come back here anymore.I told her I sure want be. And don't let me leave this part out I also saw two roaches crawling on the wall when I woke up after the second set of bites.And I told her about that two. And she tried to tell me those were mosquito bites I know what a mosquito bit feels like and look like. I 've been bitten by bed bugs before in another hotel and there was the same problem and there they had a nurse on duty and she told me that what it was bed bugs had bitten me. And they refund my money and acted on the situation right then and there.And she also brought the maid in that cleans that particular room and she tired to say she heard bed bugs bits don't show up until after several days. I Told her now that's a lie. I have read up about bed bugs. I am almost out with staying in any hotel now. Right now I am itching like crazy full of bite marks and some areas of my body were little bites are still red and very puffy.I going go to the doctor and see also what he said because I am very uncomfortable right now with itching. i feel the manager could have been a little more understanding with my situation. I am not trying to bring any bad things about hotel but I just want people to know this was horrible experience again for me and it's no joke.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget K, General Manager at Innkeeper Danville North, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I remember this guest well; her husband was with her and apparently had no issues with bugs or bites. The room was inspected while she was on the property by me and my maintenance man. There were no bugs of any sort found. I called in the pest control company and they inspected the room, again no evidence of bugs. As a further precaution I had a staff member and her husband stay in the room, a person in each bed and they experienced no problems.
This guest was refunded as a gesture of good will. She was advised not to return to the property as we feel we cannot fulfill her accommodation requirements.
Innkeeper North takes pride in the fact we do our utmost to take care of our guests. Our staff is friendly and hard working. We are told time and time again we are the cleanest budget hotel in the area. We work hard to keep this reputation and appreciate the business of our loyal guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
5
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is one of Danville's best hidden treasures! Very clean rooms, furniture is clean and well maintained. The grounds are cleaned daily, the staff is exceptional. The GM Bridget goes above and beyond to assure that your needs are met! Cannot say enough about her, as she met all needs for my room! Clerks are courteous, friendly, and check in was a breeze! Usually we run from inexpensive hotels; however InnKeeper not only would equate to a 4-5 star hotel that I've stayed in that were not as clean or friendly! Small quite hotels with high standards. Would bring my family here to stay! Learned some wonderful history as this was this hotel! All wonderful!
Best decision I've ever made to stay here. Don't let the grounds fool you! Kudos to Chris, Monique, Bridget, and staff! Will stay with this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget K, General Manager at Innkeeper Danville North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your favorable review. My staff and I thank you for recognizing the effort we are putting into the Innkeeper North, Piney Forest Road, Danville. Bringing cleanliness, friendliness and quality service to our guests is our number one goal. We hope more people discover “Danville’s Best kept secret”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a good budget motel -- nothing more, nothing less. Check-in was fast and courteous on a Friday night. Everything was well and pleasantly explained. The grounds are not attractive, but the outdoor pool out back has been micro-landscaped to look quite pleasant if you keep your eyes down. There are trees behind, a semi truck next door, etc. It’s a sort of small-industrial, commercial area, not Eden. The lobby and breakfast area are nice enough, kept up.

Most everything about the room is "average" for the price range. The room is not spacious but not crowded; everything fits without feeling cramped, but there's not a ton of extra space. The beds are unusually firm in my opinion. The bathroom is quite small. There is a vanity area outside with long counter and one sink (you know what I mean), adequate linens, small shampoo and some soap. It's all quite clean and stocked but otherwise unremarkable. It's a budget motel and feels like one, but they've done a good job of doing THAT right -- fresh paint, not too much of those "handyman" type repairs (but there are some, like the caulking). In that sense, I feel I got a little more than I paid for and am glad I booked this room.

The room’s Internet is High-Speed Wireless, easy to connect to and works very well (NOT "dial-up" as many online descriptions said). With Verizon cell service, I'm getting 3 (of 4) bars (3G) in my room. The microwave is small, the refrigerator OK. The TV is the tube kind, not huge. Four large drawers in the chest, enough lamps to find your way around but not well-lit, heater/cooler on floor under window (as usual), but working fine and not too noisy.

I can't find any unused electrical outlets (except in the bathroom area). I had to unplug the refrigerator to plug in my laptop. That always irks me.

You can walk to several local restaurants (fried chicken, pizza I think, subs, whatnot). Up and down the street are more choices. I don't know how late anything is open. I haven't explored the rest of the motel and can't speak to anything else.

You get what you pay for, but this is nicer than I'd have expected for the money, but not by much. So, if you're in the area and on a budget, I'd recommend it. I don't know other properties around here, but for the money, this is not a disappointment.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room. I have no tips, but ground floor allows you to park very near your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jakeadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Cove, NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Fantastic to find a hotel that you can bring your pet to with no weight restrictions. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and neat. Good restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCMikles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is one of the better economy hotel values that I've come across yet. Check in was quick, the clerk, I think her name was Monique, was very friendly and really seemed to appreciate my business. 2 story property, all exterior rooms, no elevator. My room was very clean and comfortable. Good channel lineup on the TV, wi-fi worked great. Typical amenities. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Heat worked well. Very good continental breakfast with toast, pastries, etc, waffles, cereal and biscuits and gravy. Awesome coffee (they use Royal Cup brand which is one of my favorites). Overall this was an excellent stay and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

this was a very nice place to stay,close to everything....i have been here 3 times now and soon going bk again,i wouldnt stay in any other motel,the staff are so friendly i have even made friends with some of them they go out of their way to make your trip wonderful.
everything from the rooms to the lobby and the grounds outside all very clean,and well looked after.
i can't wait to go bk again for my 4th time and it sure wont be my last time!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bessrosie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I seldom write reviews, but we stay in a hotel at least 45 weeks out of a year due to business and we generally book at least 6 to 8 rooms at a time so price is very important. This property is by far one of the nicest properties for the price! We expected alot less but when arriving to the hotel, not only was the front desk staff very friendly and efficient, the rooms were newly remodeled, spacious and most importantly clean! We stayed 8 nights and our rooms were cleaned and vacuumed daily! Sheets also changed as often as you wanted! If business leads us back to Danville, we will definately stay at this property again and will recommend it to all!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danville hotels
4.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Danville
57 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Danville
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#4 of 11 in Danville
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
277 reviews
2.7 mi away
Innkeeper - Danville West
Innkeeper - Danville West
#9 of 11 in Danville
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper Danville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper Danville North

Property: Innkeeper Danville North
Address: 1030 Piney Forest Rd, Danville, VA 24540-1508
Location: United States > Virginia > Danville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Innkeeper Danville North 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all outdoor access motel. We specialize in customer satisfaction. We offer exceptionally clean rooms and an extensive breakfast for an affordable rate. The Innkeeper is close to Averett University (3 miles), Chatham Hall (15 miles), Hargrave Military Academy (15 miles), Martinsville Speedway (32 miles), and the AAF Tank Museum (2 miles). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Innkeeper Danville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper Danville North Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing