We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Damascus Old Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Damascus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Old Mill quickly went from being a 'stop off' between KY and VA, to a destination. From the front desk staff to the restaurant staff, we received nothing but friendly conversation, relaxed and willing explanation of local history and history of the Inn. Our room, which had an overlook of the waterfall (the mill's 'machine') was beautiful - appointed beautifully and ample. The food in their restaurant was amazing.....one of the best Prime Ribs I've ever had......We will go back many times to enjoy, not only Damascus, but also the Inn. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parasailer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The room was so nice and spacious. The furnishings were real antiques. What a special place. The view from our balcony of the waterfall and lake was like a Ansel Adams print. We fished below the falls just a stones throw from our room. After a quick shower it was a wonderful evening at the Barter Theater. We are now planning our next trip for another great getaway weekend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great staff from morning through the night. Smiling faces eager to assist. Live band was phenomenal, especially Wise Old River. Food was better than some of the nearby restaurants which were pretty close as well. My friends and I are planning on coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 333Nathan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Old Mill is not on the main drag in Damascus, but about a block from main street which makes this place very quite but perfectly within walking distance of everything in Damascus. One of the owners, Stuart, is a really kind and helpful person and I enjoyed dealing with him. The Old Mill also has a pretty amazing breakfast and very clean and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My company had our Company Christmas party at the Damascus Old Mill Inn this year and we were astounded by the great service by Stuart and his staff. We had a banquet in a private room that was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The food was top rate. Well prepared, well presented and served so elegantly. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The scenery was so pleasant and relaxing. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for great service and beautiful relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely do this again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great weekend of biking the Creeper and attending costume gala at OMI. OMI has the feel of a good B&B. Rooms were clean, food and entertainment solid. The service by Stewart (GM) and the staff second to none in my experience. Will do this again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A group of us biking the Creeper Trail stayed at the Old Mill Inn the last weekend in October. The staff under the management of Stuart Wright has completely made the hotel enjoyable again since the last time we stayed there. Mr. Wright went way out of his way to make our stay for our group the best ever. The food was excellent and the rooms were first class. We even attended the Halloween party that was held on Saturday night. I have stayed at the Old Mill Inn over 8 times and I am glade we are back to the people friendly management again.
S Wilkie Hendersonville, NC

Room Tip: If your budget allows, make sure you stay in a room overlooking the spillway. The most serine and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damascus
11.5 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
12.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
208 reviews
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damascus Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damascus Old Mill Inn

Address: 215 West Imboden Street, Damascus, VA 24236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Price Range: $109 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 12 room hotel with full service restaurant overlooking 203 foot wide Mocks Mill Falls. On Virginia Creeper Trail and Appalachian Trail in town of Damascus, VA just minutes from Abington, Virginia. Large private meeting room for family reunions, corporate retreats, or weddings overlooking Old Mill pond and waterfall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing