We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful scenery

Enjoyable ride down from Whitetop. You barely have to pedal so it is much easier than it may... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Auburn2004
Beautiful view around each bend!

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed riding the VCT. It was chilly (30s) but worth it. The beauty... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
fgrayson
,
Rock Spring, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 957 reviews
  
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
863
79
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
863
79
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike ride creeper trail rented bikes beautiful scenery great ride bike shop shuttle service biking experience all ages second half enjoyable ride mostly downhill bucket list enjoy the scenery fall colors green cove station whitetop station
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Enjoyable ride down from Whitetop. You barely have to pedal so it is much easier than it may sound. It can get crowded on weekends with visitors from all over.

Thank Auburn2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed riding the VCT. It was chilly (30s) but worth it. The beauty along the trail was amazing. Highly recommended!

Thank fgrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very enjoyable ride. However, we did it at a time when there was minimal foliage. We'd suggest timing your ride at time when the foliage is full or changing.

Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time riding the VA Creeper; we hope it won't be the last. We took the shuttle to the top of Whitetop, which took a little longer than we thought, about a 25 minute van ride. (If you get car sick and you take a shuttle to the top, consider sitting near the front of the van, as the shuttle trip is beautiful, but has more turns than a candy cane.) Several people said you can make the bike trip from Whitetop to Damascus (17miles) in a hour—if no one else is on the trail and you plan to fly on down! Otherwise, plan on about 3–4hrs. Our trail ride found us in peak leaf season (first week on Nov.) Every pedal of the bike opened up a new view fit for a postcard. The trail was a cathedral of color. As the top of the trail starts at higher elevation and then gently slopes downward over 17 miles, no one in our family of five (kids 11 and under) even pedaled for the first several miles of the trail. The unfortunate part about coasting for a few miles was that it was the first week in November. Not everyone in the group dressed warmly enough to face the steady, chilling breeze that whizzed by as you went down the trail. The few stands and one cafe long the way that we were told to check out were all closed. Perhaps, they all close up in November. Thankfully, we had a backpacks full of trail food (water, fruit, trail-mix, crackers and the like) and there were nice picnic tables at a "creeskide" clearing at Taylors Valley. (Taylors Valley is also were the Cafe is located that we were told to stop at for lunch.) The trail restrooms were also ... well trail restrooms. Our “non-biking” family greatly enjoyed this entire 17 mile ride from Whitetop to Damascus. (The trail continues on another 17 miles, but this being our first time, we just did the first half of the trail. Apparently, the second half, running from Damascus to Abingdon requires a bit more peddling.) I imagine the VA Creeper could be much more crowded during the weekend or in the spring or earlier fall, but our trip crowd free. We rode the trip in just under 3 hours. People and families of all ages will enjoy this trail ride. So plan for 3¬¬–4 hours (Whitetop–Damascus), dress in layers in you go in November, bring some snacks, and take a camera. Just stop long enough and ride leisurely enough to take it all in. As Barrett Browning said elsewhere, the VA Creeper trail is “crammed with heaven. And every common bush afire with God, But only he who sees takes off his shoes; The rest sit round and pluck blackberries.”

Thank NorthStar64178321838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best bike trip you could imagine period ! It’s was cool enough to wear jacket and gloves but sunny and bright , lots of people on the trail all day , we rode forever and pedaled just a little. Fun day for all.

Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was just an awesome experience- nothing like a bike ride that is completely downhill!!! Make sure to check the weather forecast before you go. It was really cold when we were there- we had brought gloves and hats, but saw lots of people without and they were freezing. The scenery is just beautiful.

Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went on the trail with three friends during the last weekend in October. It was misty with a forecast of light rain, but we made the decision to do. It was a good decision!
We were driven to a location about 15 miles from our final destination, and then began our descent. The ride is pretty easy. I don't think I actually pedaled for more than 10 minutes of the 3.5 hour excursion. There are 28 trestle bridges and planets of places to stop your bike and enjoy the views. While riding, I was making a list of all the people that I wanted to bring there!

1  Thank LeRoyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great family adventure for the kids. We head up to Green Cove twice a year and always spend at least a day on the creeper trail. Its great fun, exercise, and the kids love it!

1  Thank balexhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented bikes from a business in town which shuttled us and those bikes to the parking lot at White Top. I think the first two or three hundred feet were probably the hardest pedaling we did the rest of the ride! The trail is wide and safe, and since it was a railroad bed, there are no sharp or surprising turns. We did not go fast but took our time to enjoy the scenery. No one went whizzing by us when we were on the trail. I told my 83–year old father that he could do the ride from White Top to Damascus; it is that easy.

Plan on stopping at the Green Cove Station — interesting historical displays, well-stocked gift shop and pit toilets. Your second stop should definitively be the Creeper Trail Cafe. Even though we had a huge breakfast at our B&B, who could turn down “world famous chocolate cake?” Not us....but we did share a piece between the three of us. They also had savory food, hot and cold drinks, indoor seating and covered picnic tables.

Thank DONNAandJANET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful biking trail! A majority of the trail has a slight decline so it's an easy ride. The scenery is fantastic with trees, a river, bridges, and Christmas tree farms. There are signs along the way that share various information about plants etc. We went with a group of people and had a fabulous time. I look forward to going again!

Thank laurab9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews