We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy french inn and bakery and restaurants!”
Review of Thyme Inn

Thyme Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culpeper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thyme Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Culpeper B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dreamy french inn and bakery and restaurants!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am very picky and I can't even begin to describe what a well run and completely lovely place this is. Utterly perfect - beyond what you've experienced in the states, I suspect. Love, love, love it. Walked downstairs for a seafood meal. Was greeted with a glass of world-class red wine.

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room (the French Room), great location, very clean and comfortable. A little pricey, but there are specials. Love the open bathroom and shower! There is some street and restaurant noise, but you are downtown and over a restaurant. Fun to overlook Davis Street as evening approaches.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Sage Room for two nights. There is no elevator and the stairs are long, but well worth the effort. They help with bags if required. Our room was delightful, clean, had a cute gas fireplace, which was wonderful, and the bed was heaven. Coupled with the excellent food downstairs at It's "About Thyme" and the ambience of Davis Street, it's hard to find a more comfortable combination. The family is deeply involved in the operation of the "Thyme" enterprises and it shows through their attitude and attention to detail. You can jump on a plane, fly eight hours to Rome or Paris, find a lovely little spot on the "Left Bank" or some little village in Tuscany, or you can jump in the car and be in Culpeper in an hour or so and get 90% of the ambience that you would find in Europe!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Inn (and that is being somewhat generous) is located on one of Va's beautiful historical areas, Davis Street, in a town (Culpeper) that was begun in 1759. G. Washington surveyed the original town limits. The Inn is fairly hidden away above two restaurants. Never found a front desk so when we arrived, we inquired of a server on the wait staff at one of the two restaurants below. Jodie quickly appeared and, after that, we knew we were in good hands. She could not have been nicer and will supply anything you need. Funny how they trust their guests...it is wonderful that it still exists today. The rooms are beautifully decorated, a blend of European and early American...but it works. We had a nice balcony. Careful, as there are many stairs so be aware. They do have staff that will help with bags if needed. You have to think out of the box and enjoy the beauty and the differences rather than expecting a "Ritz Carlton." It is unique and reflects the typical welcoming atmosphere of Culpeper. Check out the romantic roof top or in room dining, both are great and only 15 steps from your room. In the evening, we went down one flight to the bar for a night cap. Great fun meeting friendly locals.

Room Tip: Thyme, a front street facing room with a Murphy bed...remember those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at the Inn over a holiday weekend, and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodations. While not inexpensive, the "French" room was well appointed and very comfortable.
There is no staff available after hours, which was somewhat unexpected, but not a problem.The innkeepers made the room key available to us after hours, and left a telephone contact should we require any assistance.
The market on the street level was fabulous, and I can recommend the restaurant as well. Overall, a great treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 34S_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our kids gave us an overnight stay at the inn as a Christmas gift. We enjoyed the Thyme Room - quite large with gas log fireplace, TV, and lovely bathroom with very nice amenities. Dinner at It's About Thyme Cafe was very, very good. Each dish was well-prepared and delicious. Having never been to Culpeper before, we enjoyed walking up and down Davis Street and Main Street and peeking into all the nice shops. Many lovely restaurants to choose from, too, so we'll definitely go back again. Also, interestingly, there is a Amtrak Station only two blocks from the Inn, so check out the service from DC or surrounding areas. That might make for an interesting, and convenient, experience, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After a long day of touring vineyards in between Charlottesville and Culpeper, we pulled into the Thyme Inn. It was just what we needed. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The plaster and brick work was clearly done by an artist. A gas fireplace and chandalier over the soaking tub provided just the bit of pampering I was looking for. We shared dinner with friends in the downstairs restaurant. Just a couple of things to keep in mind, the rooms are above the restaurant so it is a bit noisy but by 10 p.m. or so, things were quiet. The one bit of disappointment it that while this is called an Inn, there is no breakfast served as part of the stay and the cafe/bakery is closed on Sunday morning. But, there is a lovely little place about a block down the street called The Raven's Nest where you can find coffee, hot chocolate, and pretty little breakfast items.

Room Tip: I selected the Sage Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mddem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culpeper
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Culpeper
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Suites at 249
Suites at 249
#2 of 6 in Culpeper
286 reviews
7.2 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme Inn

Property: Thyme Inn
Address: 128 E Davis St, Culpeper, VA 22701-3012
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thyme Hotel Culpeper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing