We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atheneans

Atheneans
Ranked #36 of 97 Restaurants in Culpeper
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://www2.starexponent.com/news/2011/aug/31/no-myth-greek-restaurant-opening-west-side-ar-1275853/http://www.yelp.com/biz/atheneans-culpeperphone number: 540-727-0191http://www2.starexponent.com/news/2011/sep/03/our-view-much-needed-restaurant-ar-1282947/http://www.headlineva.com/index.php/public_notices/notice/ABC_NOTICE_Triantafillos_VisikidesJose_S_Villatoro_Velasquez_Trading_as_ATH/https://foursquare.com/user/11151886
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ordered fried mushrooms for an appetizer. They were good, you could tell they weren't pre-made. But it was almost $8 for 8-10 mushrooms, a little much. The pizza was great. They are very generous with their toppings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ctuck020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch with plenty of dessert options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had the house special for lunch: Pastitsio, for $7.95. It is similar to lasagne. Came with salad and garlic bread. It was so delicious! Instead of flat pasta, there is penne noodles stacked and baked.
Like many Greek establishments, there is a great-looking dessert case filled with cheese cake, pies, chocolate cakes and more.
Also, the owner is tied to the Aberdeen Barn (Charlottesville's premier Prime Rib restaurant) - our lunch was served on plates from there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ereina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent food and pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a local I welcome new restaurants to Culpeper. Atheneans serves typical Greek/Italian diner food and has tasty subs and pizza. This place has no fine dining pretensions and does what it does pretty well. The servers are very friendly and helpful. My husband enjoyed his pasta with red sauce and sausages, garlic bread and salad. Haven't tried any of the Greek dishes. Generous portions for reasonable prices. I think Atheneans is a good family restaurant and a welcome addition to Culpeper.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plant-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Always Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I'm always happy with the food at Atheneans. Usually I do carry-out, so I can't speak to dining in. The calzones are great, the pizza is good, and my very favorite is the steak sub! Wow is that delicious!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajbabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Every Experience A Winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visit Atheneans at least once a week and have never been disappointed! In July they opened up Plaka, their bar.....wonderful!! The bartenders are superb! If you have not visited either...you truly need too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atheneans also viewed

 

Been to Atheneans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing