We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Copper Fish

The Copper Fish
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Culpeper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carrollton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a very nice time at this restaurant. The food was excellent and there was a large menu selection. It was very busy and seemed to be a popular place for Saturday night. The only down side was we were invited by the hostess to wait in the bar, but had trouble getting the bar tender's attention to serve us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    10
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and even better food!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Copper Fish, The Thyme Market and the restaurant "It's about
Thyme" are all owned by the same people & the food is top notch!!
We ate at all 3 for lunch and dinner and had a great meals at each
one. You will not be disappointed at any of them!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Raw Oysters in Culpeper”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have found the best oysters in Culpeper are at the Oyster Happy Hour on M-F at the Copper Fish. They have a great happy hour with specials on draft beer, wine and rail drinks. What get's us in are the fresh oysters and jumbo shrimp, all served 1/2 price. The bar starts to get crowded after 5PM, so try and show up early. We go at least once a month and enjoy the friendly staff, great interior and quality fresh oysters and shrimp. I especially appreciate the selection of draft beer on happy hour. Worth a stop if your in Culpeper around happy hour and like raw oysters.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Czexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awfully slow and indifferent service”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This row of restaurants all owned by same person - so having had excellent experience at Its About Thyme we thought we would try Copper Fish. Maybe I picked a bad day - Saturday lunchtime, but we had to wait to be seated and it wasn't that busy. The man behind the counter seemed utterly indifferent to everyone. He needs a bit of motivating from the owner. After sitting for 10 minutes and being ignored we left and walked over to Foti's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rfk757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this place! (lots of copper,not so much fish)”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Is there a way to give less than 1 star?
We were visiting a local friend during restaurant week. We ate at Foti's down the block the night before, and all tried one of the Restaurant Week specials and it was wonderful. The Copper Fish served, I kid you not, a 2-3 oz piece of fish on a bed of rice. When I asked, "is this really the protein portion of this meal", I was told, "it's Restaurant Week. Most people who come here for that usually don't come back. Besides, Rest. Week is supposed to be about tasting a bunch of different things"! Really? I've been eating out in NYC several times a week for 25yrs. And Rest. Week is NOT about a tasting menu. It's a 3-course meal that is designed to get new customers to try a place. My 2 companions dishes were supposed to be a half lobster with au gratin potatoes. The shell of one was practically EMPTY of meat. When she asked the waiter, he said, "it's lobster, It shrinks in the water" I've seen that episode of Seinfeld, and "shrinkage" does NOT apply to lobsters George. Oh and no potatoes, just the same bland rice. Easily half the menu was "market price". When I asked the price of a salmon filet with crab sauce, I was told "$32...no $27...no $37 dollars". This place is a rip off from the git go. It would be a rip off in a big city, or a nice small town like Culpeper. Location doesn't matter, integrity does. PS. Loved Culpeper!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Copper Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing