We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like choice of pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like choice of pillows”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My friend and I went to this hotel because we were visiting his mother who lives in Culpeper. I walked in and was given a goody bag, which I did not expect to receive. It contained water and snacks. I had requested early check-in and the room was ready at noon. The room key worked well. The room was clean and the lobby has very nice furniture. There are cookies available at night. The hotel room had two types of pillows: firm and soft. I had not previously stayed in a hotel with two types of pillows. But the bed was very firm and I had difficulty sleeping on it. Alot of food was included in the breakfast. Except for the bed being too firm for my taste I had a good experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    46
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
44
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Culpeper for two nights while on a fly fishing trip. From the moment we walked in the hotel, the staff treated us as family and not as though we were bothering them. Very friendly and welcoming. We usually reserve a king bed but this time we reserved 2 queens (i think the price of the king was higher when making reservations). This is the first time we have ever reserved anything other than king and I can say the queen bed just isn't as comfortable as the king. The Q bed was ok but we both did wake up with back aches. The room was really nice with ample space. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of room. The FREE hot breakfast was great; eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, cereal, and fruit. The small refrigerator and microwave in our room was a nice bonus. There are plenty of restaurants, shopping, etc. if you head north on RT 29 (within 5 miles). I would definitely stay here if ever in the Culpeper area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRVLNIS4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband has been staying at the Holiday Inn in Culpeper for three weeks now as he transitions to a new job in a new town. My children and I have been spending the weekends with him and WOW, it is great! The customer service is out of this world! The staff is always friendly and personable. There is a terrific breakfast daily, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, and homemade soup each night! There is an indoor pool that my kids had a great time playing in, a workout room, and a business room with 2 computers. The guest rooms are lovely and very clean. I don't usually enjoy staying in hotels, but this one is great!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agwalrond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Holiday Inn express in culpeper is the most beautiful hotel there is I love it because one its my Job and we all as staff work so hard to make sure that when you walk in at our hotel you feel welcome, and we make sure that you have a pleasant time our rooms are always neat and tidy our hotel is very clean and we all welcome you with friendly service and a big smile i hope that you all enjoy our hotel as much as we do

Room Tip: rooms are always nice on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marnita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington park, md
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on my way to Massanutten Ski Resort. It's a great hotel with friendly staff. Tasty breakfast buffet included bacon, scambled eggs, sausage, four cereal choices bagels, pre-made waffles, self-make pancakes. Indoor pool was standard and nicely heated (although it could use a good scrubbing as the area above water level had residue). Beds were very firm. Room was clean and modern.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshall201107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynch Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a 24-hour flight ending at Dulles Airport. We drove part of the way home and finally gave in to our fatigue and stopped here for the night. Desk clerk was unusually friendly and welcoming, pointing out that there was a large pot of vegetable soup if we were too tired to eat elsewhere. This was great because we were jetlagged and exhausted. Bed was very comfortable, shower was great. Breakfast was excellent with bacon, sausage, eggs, several juices, pastries, cereal, pancakes, just about anything you could want. Everything was nearly new and completely spotless. A good choice, probably the best in Culpeper.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leesvillelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a wonderfully clean and up to date hotel. Furnishings are high quality and new. Liz the manager, was very helpful and friendly. This hotel certainly hangs right in there with comparable chains such as Hilton Garden Inn and the like. Definitely the best choice in Culpeper.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindam819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culpeper
0.1 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Culpeper
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
23.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 787 Madison Rd, Culpeper, VA 22701-3325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Culpeper hotel offers close access to the best of the Piedmont River Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Culpeper, in the quaint horse country of Virginia, is an ideal destination for history buffs, wine connoisseurs and nature lovers.If you re traveling on business, our Culpeper, Virginia hotel offers a great location near many corporate offices. Merillat Industries and Schwan Food Industries are both within three miles of our Culpeper hotel, and the Culpeper Fairgrounds are also just a few minutes away.Our hotel in Culpeper, situated in the Piedmont River Valley, provides close proximity to several of Virginia's most historic sites and attractions. Many important Civil War battlefields are also nearby, including Brandy Station, Cedar Mountain and Kelly's Ford. Famous homes within 30 minutes of our Culpeper hotel include James Madison's Montpelier home and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello home. Additionally, our hotel is near the Gray Ghost, Prince Michel and Unicorn vineyards. Tours and tastings are offered at these Culpeper vineyards daily.When you stay at our hotel in Culpeper, take advantage of the indoor pool and fitness center. Before heading out for the day, you can stop by the hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Reserve your Culpeper hotel reservations today and see the beautiful sites and historic attractions that Virginia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Culpeper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing