We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel-great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a wonderfully clean and up to date hotel. Furnishings are high quality and new. Liz the manager, was very helpful and friendly. This hotel certainly hangs right in there with comparable chains such as Hilton Garden Inn and the like. Definitely the best choice in Culpeper.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindam819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

There aren't many choices for hotels in the Culpeper area. HIE is definitely the best. It is consistent. We had a wonderful stay here on Christmas Eve. Bridget at the front desk was very friendly and pleasant. Check in was quick and our room was huge! Although we were there on Christmas morning, the breakfast was tasty and the cinnamon rolls were as good as always!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank sarac9978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Rating is 0 - The hotel charged me twice for my stay on 5/15/11 (I actually checked out the same day as needed to go home and when I got my bill and paid, I asked the front desk rep to make sure they didn't charge me again the next day at normal checkout - they did though - they charged my credit card again the next morning even though I had checked out and paid already). When I called in May (seeing the double charge on line) and again in June (when I got my Amex statement) I was told they would credit back the 2nd charge. The credit never appeared on my Amex. Despite repeated calls over several months and repeated messages left for Ms. Liz Moore, who did not return my calls, they have been unwilling to give me back the double charge. Ms. Moore finally returned my calls when I threatened to call my attorney. When she did return my call she was not nice and is still withholding my refund "till she hears from Amex." She is making excuses why she has to wait to give me a refund (gee I have been waiting 6 months!)- and never would acknowledge that I had been overcharged. Six months later I am still waiting for my refund of $108.90. This is so sad for the lovely town of Culpeper.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

When looking for a place to stay, I felt the price was too high for a place like Culpeper, but I just went ahead and booked anyway. The person who took my booking over the phone did not tell me the room was a smoking room- so we arrived, checked in, and I nearly passed out when we went into the room. I cannot believe that a hotel would allow that. I mean at least get an air filter or something if you are going to let people smoke!

Anyway, that wasn't going to work so we called down to the desk. We got another room, it was great. In fact, it was more than great. What better way to end a long, stressful day than to have a beautiful suite with a hot tub. Two thumbs up for the front desk agent (I think her name was Felicia). She was very nice and pleasant.

The bed was a little hard, but it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was great. And a 12pm checkout is perfect for when you have a kid that needs a nap at 10am.

I had a great stay. The service was great. Just do something about airing out those smoking rooms before someone walks in and dies of lung cancer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpicyCreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our suite was large and super clean. Breakfast began at 5:00 AM which made it very convenient for our early departure. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HHTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I had just left a nasty dive of a hotel my work had tried to stick me with, so when I got there I was in no mood to be forgiving of the smallest mistakes. They made none. This is an immaculate clean hotel, with probably the best front desk people I have ever encountered. (All were above average, but Chasity is WONDERFUL) If it seems like I am gushing, I am. And I normally am hard to please. Thank you so much for improving my trip guys! You were wonderful!!! (If I still worked in the coporate world I would have been begging their staff to jump ship and come work for me.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very good Holiday Inn! Not many options in this area this is the best. It would be very good anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culpeper
0.1 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Culpeper
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 787 Madison Rd, Culpeper, VA 22701-3325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Culpeper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Culpeper
Price Range: $128 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Culpeper hotel offers close access to the best of the Piedmont River Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Culpeper, in the quaint horse country of Virginia, is an ideal destination for history buffs, wine connoisseurs and nature lovers.If you re traveling on business, our Culpeper, Virginia hotel offers a great location near many corporate offices. Merillat Industries and Schwan Food Industries are both within three miles of our Culpeper hotel, and the Culpeper Fairgrounds are also just a few minutes away.Our hotel in Culpeper, situated in the Piedmont River Valley, provides close proximity to several of Virginia's most historic sites and attractions. Many important Civil War battlefields are also nearby, including Brandy Station, Cedar Mountain and Kelly's Ford. Famous homes within 30 minutes of our Culpeper hotel include James Madison's Montpelier home and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello home. Additionally, our hotel is near the Gray Ghost, Prince Michel and Unicorn vineyards. Tours and tastings are offered at these Culpeper vineyards daily.When you stay at our hotel in Culpeper, take advantage of the indoor pool and fitness center. Before heading out for the day, you can stop by the hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Reserve your Culpeper hotel reservations today and see the beautiful sites and historic attractions that Virginia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Culpeper
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing