We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...”

King Family Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Private Winery Tours in Nelson County
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Crozet Hop-On Hop-Off Brewery Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Crozet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: King Family Vineyards is a family owned and operated winery located at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Crozet, Virginia just fifteen minutes from Charlottesville. The winery specializes in the production of ultra-premium wines that showcase the remarkable quality and terroir of the Monticello AVA. Beginning with carefully selected estate grapes, winemaker Matthieu Finot creates wines inspired by the old world, but are uniquely expressive of Virginia. Our passion is the customer, our craft is the wine. "When you visit our winery, you are coming to our home. We hope that you enjoy the fruits of our labor as much as we enjoy sharing them with you." -The King Family
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Osceola, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Two couples - one from Indiana and one from California (wine country) - visited Charlottesville on our way to DC for a week of meetings. King Family Vineyard is one of those gems we find occasionally when we just start looking around and asking people for advice. We visited on a Friday afternoon in early June, squeezing this impromptu visit into our schedule. They weren't busy and it was close to closing. Because they had an evening wedding we were asked to leave a little early, which was disappointing. But not before we had a fun wine tasting and were able to relax for a brief while on the patio enjoying a bottle of Crose', some snacks, conversation with friends and the nice view of the polo grounds and the hills.

We do not usually care for Rose' wine but this one is dry and darn good. We also gravitated to the Viognier, Merlot and Meritage so we bought a case to have shipped home. They were very accommodating and even shipped our wine glasses for us. Nice glasses, too...seem, which seemed a little nicer than most. Besides, I like the logo.

KFV did a nice job following up on the shipment. They had a question and called me just to make sure they were doing the right thing.

Suggest you allow yourself plenty of time to select a glass or bottle of your favorite new King Family wine and relax on the patio while enjoying the surroundings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beej5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    94
    11
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wines”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great setting and very good wines. This winery has a very nice set up on a nice plot of land with ample parking and outside table seating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravisParsons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed - too much emphasis on the polo scene”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Admittedly we arrived at the end of the day having driven up from North Carolina, but it did feel like paying customers were not that important - perhaps we were seen as not the polo type. The vinyard was very picturesque with the Blue region mountains as a backdrop.

The servings on the tasting were too small to get a real feel for the wines, and the glass was not washed after each serving which showed a lack of respect for their wines. The young man who served us was friendly and had a fair knowledge of their wines, and let us sample one not on the tasing list - we bought 2 bottles of this but disappointingly the price of the tasting was charged in full in addition. We were in and out in 20 minutes and left with a poor impression of the vinyards and wines of this region which may not be justified.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank klellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine tasting along with Polo match - great way to spend a Sunday”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Not knowing what to expect reading the reviews we knew we definitely wanted to attend a Polo match held on Sunday afternoons at King Family Vineyard. Had we planned better we would have arrived early, as there were thousands (yes that many) people camped out around the polo field. That didn't keep us from getting a good spot though. Make sure to bring along a canopy as the sun can be quite hot and you're sitting out in the open. They allow outside food so be sure to bring along a nice big picnic, get comfortable and watch the gorgeous horses run around the track. If you run out of that bottle you picked up in their tasting room, no worries, a fully stocked gold cart drives around with plenty of King Family wine for sale. Oh, and the wine is very good too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WeTravel4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGaheysville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Private Tasting”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came as a large group (14 people or so) for my wife's birthday, and signed up for a private tasting. The tasting was in the barrel room so was nice and private for our group. Our hostess was extremely friendly and made us feel right at home, giving us plenty of time to relax and hang out with our friends. The wines were also delicious. We had a great time - highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Family Vineyards also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to King Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing