We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food and service”
Review of La Cocina Del Sol - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Cocina Del Sol
Restaurant details
Crozet
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant is absolutely one of the worst in Crozet. We have given this restaurant several tries, but they always fall short whether eating in or ordering out. The service is terrible. They are slow and don't really care that they are. The food was once better than it has been recently. On this occasion, the food was really bad. I think that they have given up. There's no passion for what they're doing. Does Alex even care about his restaurant anymore?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penn-Virginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here it was a nice evening and wanted to sit on the back patio they said it was closed. we had the avocado and tomato appetizer it was the best part of our meal. We also ordered the crab cake sandwiches and the carne asada tacos. The crab cakes tasted like tuna very poor quality the tacos were horrible cold and the steak was so tuff the cheese wasn't melted so it was rubbery. We will never return we posted a picture of the meal on social media and 10 other commented on there lack of quality .... Take the time to go some other place any place in the area but here

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Choce”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great variety of foods. Nice outside dinning. In the heart of downtown Crozet, VA. A good choice for dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FAC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awful,just awful”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Ordered the Queso Fundida. It was like rubber and broke the chips when you tried to dip. Also ordered a chicken chimichanga and received a burrito full of rice. The solution was to deep fry the burrito. I probably weighed about 3lbs. Could not even try it. Just nasty!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lindao310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mexican and More in Crozet”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Crab cake bruschetta for an appetizer at a Mexican restaurant? Sounds odd, tastes great! One of the appeals of La Cocina Del Sol is how the menu strays from typical Mexican fare in glorious ways. Want a burrito? It's there too. We devoured key lime pie for dessert alongside a huge homemade wedge of the best caramel infused flan. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina Del Sol also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing