We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Could not sleep until 1:30am when the DJ stopped playing in the bar. Even with the TV and fan on and a pillow over our heads, the base reverberated through the room. When we complained and asked to be moved, the only rooms available were smoking. We made advance reservations requesting a quiet room as we had to get up early. There was no hand soap in the bathroom and the tub was full of water when we checked in. Only decaf coffee with the coffee maker.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review of our hotel, and do take note to the problems that you listed! We apologize for the inconveniences that were presented to you during your visit and want you to know that we, as a hotel, are working hard to improve in all areas.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our rooms were not ready even though we arrived after check-in time. Because of this, we were late to a black tie event. We were told upon check-in that there is a bar in the hotel that "gets a little loud at night". I was not informed of this when I made the reservation. The hotel employee who checked us in said to let them know if the music was too loud and they would have them turn it down. When we arrived back at the hotel at 10:30, the music was so loud that we could hear it clearly in our rooms and could not sleep through it. We asked the front desk to have the music turned down, as instructed, twice. Not only did the music not get turned down, the front desk worker was rude and obviously bothered that we would even make such a request. The bathroom in one of the rooms was still dirty with hair in the bathtub and on the toilet. Our experience with this hotel was dreadful and unaccommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived! We try our best to get all guests in their rooms as soon as possible! We also apologize for any inconveinces that you encountered during your stay! We have since entered into new housekeeping procedures for our employees and have found that the new procedures are working. We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit through Covington, Va.

Thank you,
Cary Linkswiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you enjoy outdated rooms that are smelly and do not mind living in a broken down shack , this hotel is for you. The workers all were very nice and apologetic for the things that went wrong. (We were moved to 3 different rooms in a 2 night stay) The place needs new upper management and updating

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Please know that we are in the midst of a three-year renovation and upgrade project! Our guest rooms are coming along and looking great and we do hope that you will see the changes on your next visit through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

All rooms are accessible from the outside. We had a second-story smoking room because it was the only room left for the night. Pleasantly, the room did not smell stale. There seems to have been SOME renovations. The furnishings appeared new with a deep sink with gooseneck faucet and a gooseneck shower head. The vanity was very nice. Unfortunately, you can still see where the old items were attached to the walls around the nice vanity. The shower gel, shampoo and conditioner was available from a dispensing unit on the shower wall. We were stocked with towels for four, and six great pillows.

Our room also had a mini-fridge, microwave, 4-cup coffee maker and nice TV. The bedspreads were modern but the foot throw over the bottom appeared to have a stain on it. My bedskirt was on backwards. The upholstered chair also had a stain on it. Otherwise, the room was clean. The bathroom, in spite of having new plumbing, still had old walls and door. The full size mirror on the outside of the bathroom door was screwed on, but the screws were visible on the other side of the door while in the bathroom. The bathroom door needs replaced.

The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, a laundry, banquet facilities, and a full restaurant. The view is spectacular! There's a sign at the front desk that states there will be music in their bar at night just in case you want switched to a quieter room. Our room was perfectly quiet, and we slept just fine.

The hotel offers free FULL BREAKFAST in their restaurant to all guests.

We had no problem accessing the free WIFI. There is an ice machine on the second floor, but I think the only soda pop machine is on the first floor.

Overall, it's a very nice hotel for the price. If everything I mentioned was perfect, I'd expect that the room would have cost at least another $50. The hotel also accepts AAA discounts.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you prefer a quiet room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We thank you so much for the detail that you provided to not only us, but to our future guests! We hope that you will continue to stay with us during your travels through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I checked into this place on a Saturday night and come to find out after entering the room it was WAY bellow our expectations. The bottoms of the door to the bathroom had been chewed off. I was very allergic to something that was in this room, I notified the desk clerk and was either I could go to a smoking room or go find another hotel. I paid 120.00 for a room that I could not even get a good nights rest. They also have a karaoke bar here and it is so incredibly loud I definitely would not recommend anyone with children staying here. I have been trying for over 10 days to speak to a General Manager only to be told hes not here can I take a message. I have left NUMEROUS messages, and have filed a complaint with the corporate office and they can not even get in touch with this man. Goes to show you, they take no accountability for there actions. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place all together
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dbradley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and are in the midst of upgrading our property, including the doors in the bathroom! We hope that on your next visit through Covington, VA, that you may stop and take a look! Have a wonderful day.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a nice motel with helpful friendly staff. The surrounding mountains were beautiful. Restaurant food was good. Friendly staff in the bar but karaoke started at 9:00 and it got very loud and busy with patrons not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank PattiThomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate it so much, and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here several times in the last couple of years. It's an older building that needs some updates but it is clean with ample parking. We are always put on the back side of the motel where the wifi is terrible. We couldn't really get it to work while we were there either. There is a bar and the guy running it was very nice. You can play some pool, darts or jukebox while unwinding. There is also a restaurant at this motel but the food is just average. Rooms have microwaves, coffee makers and refrigerators. Bathrooms seem quite small but clean. We will stay here again because we love visiting this part of the state and there's not too many motel options here.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Teeroe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Please know that we are upgrading our hotel so that it is no longer just average! We are in the midst of a three year renovation plan, and hope that during your visits, you do notice the upgrades that are happening!

Thank you,

Cary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
17 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Covington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
45 reviews
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
57 reviews
21.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range: $108 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing