We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mr.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Covington
La Grange, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Service was great and rooms were very clean. Met the owner and he was very hospitable to our family in a tough time due to family death. I would not hesitate to stay there if I or family were coming to this town again. Full breakfast was wonderful

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank louisvilleLaGrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments to our hotel! We are sorry that you had to stay with us during such a sad time! We welcome you back to the hotel anytime!

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    47
    40
    41
See reviews for
70
50
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family planned to stay at this hotel but ended up leaving and booking a room somewhere else after a short time. There was a band playing until 2 a.m. and dozens of teenagers and college-aged students running around shouting from the hall area. Management's response was simply that we could leave and go to a run-down sister property. Though they didn't deliver on their promise to provide a decent room to sleep in, they wouldn't refund our money. I would not recommend this hotel unless you plan to get drunk and run around yelling in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Livingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Horrible filthy, non working room! Noisy and stunk! We had been traveling about two weeks and had stayed in several hotels, this was the last till we got home and the worst and highest price, disgusted!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank pricelessdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Priceless Dolphin,
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel! In order to remedy the situation and be able to move forward we will need to be able to know who you are! If you could be so kind as to send us an email with your name and the room number that you were in, we would be glad to take a look at whatever problems you encountered! You can email us at bestwesternfd@gmail.com.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

During a cross-country trip my family was compelled to stop in Covington, a well-hidden little town near the West Virginia border that has a paper mill leaving a distinctive odor wafting over the town. The hotel itself is in an interesting hillside location, and the local odors did not permeate our room, but the hotel has aged a bit; the bathroom light in my room was broken (cover missing and light itself barely lighting). Nice staff at the desk, and a real if modest morning breakfast that goes beyond a few day-old pastries. The price was frankly a bit much for a double ($116 after taxes, $103 before), and we might in retrospect have done better to drive on to Lexington. It is perfectly fine for those driving through and requiring an overnight layover.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! As for the aging of the hotel, we are just beginning a major renovations of the guest rooms, which should be completed by the end of the year! Our little town is known for the Papermill, unfortunately that smell just lingers and we do try to mask it out of the rooms! We do appreciate your patronage and hope that you will return, whether it be in the next week, or later on, and appreciate the changes that we are making. Have a Happy New Year!

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

For the area there were only 2 good choices. Hotel is average but decent. Rates that I booked online, did not match up when I checked in or checked out. Make sure you have your original reservation information upon arrival so there are no discrepancis

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Carlee,

I am sorry that your rates were different than what you had booked online! On the hotel level, we can only fix the rates of that which we actually book! If you book online or thru a Third Party Site you may not be getting the greatest rate as opposed to calling the hotel directly! We do appreciate your patronage at our hotel, and hope that with your next visit through Covington, VA, that you will again choose our hotel and book directly by calling 540-962-4951! Thank you and have a Happy New Year!

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A hotel room on the border between Virginia and West Virginia that does not have sound proof rooms, has bottom sheets that easily come off the mattress and is somewhat mediocre should not be charging over 100 bucks a night. For what they charged we expected better.

Room Tip: There are 4 other motels in the area. One other is owned by Best Western. We stopped there first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessfromHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Tess from Hampton,

We are extremely sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel, but feel that for the location and competition in our area, we are rather on the lower side of the price scale! I will pass this information onto our General Manager in regards to the sound proofing and the sheeting.

Thank you and have a wonderful New Year!

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room was clean and the linens were without any fragrance or chemical odors, however the room had a smell of cleaning agents. The receptionist did go out of her way to find a room with the least amount of odor, but still required an open door and an air cleaner to remove most of the odor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Samuel,

Thank you for your response, we are sorry that the cleaning chemicals that we use tampered with your room experience! We actually need these comments for our housekeepers; they get immunized to the smell of the chemicals that they cannot smell the difference! I apologize that this happened in your room and I have sent this information to the Housekeeping Manager!

Thank you, and I hope that you have a Happy New Year!

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Property: Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing