We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Older property, good for a stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
AVON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Older property, good for a stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from a road trip to see family in the Norfolk, Va., area. This property is an old hotel that has been remodeled & will take you back a few years. The biggest drawbacks are that the bathrooms are tiny! I mean t-i-n-y! Luckily, your sink is located outside this very small room with commode and shower, but it is a little bit of tight quarters. Decor is somewhat outdated, and the towels are flimsy. However, for one night, it was a fine stop. Just know that you are going to a remodeled, retro site. They had their restaurant open at night, which served adequate dinner food and had super staff. The hotel staff is extremely nice. The room was clean and quiet and the Internet worked very well. The only pool is an outdoor one. There is a small workout room. The free breakfast was knockout outstanding. You order off a menu, and they bring you a piping hot plate of fresh food, which we found quite impressive. I think it even made up for, in my book, the t-i-n-y bathroom.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samaisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel! We love hearing how your stay was and hope that we can provide you another opportunity down the rode to join us for your overnight accommodations! We are in the beginning stages of a three year plan to completely renovate our property, starting with the guest rooms, so we hope that on your next stop through Covington, VA you will see a more updated facility!

C. Linkswiler
PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    44
    37
    38
See reviews for
65
48
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel facilities are about average for BW hotels, certainly acceptable. The restaurant, on the other hand, is a disaster. Food was improperly prepared (What part of "medium rare" rib roast don't you understand? How can you ruin a fried egg? They found a way). We spent the meal joking with the couple at the next table about the "quality". On the bright side, our waitress performed like a real trouper to make us satisfied and without her we would not have been. The hotel offers a discount on the dinner bill, which is an optional choice of use for the free breakfast coupons, but they don't tell you that. Thus we paid full price for the dinner and got the breakfast for free. Had we been told we could use the discount tickets for dinner, we would have gladly eaten breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for my friend's family reunion. This is by far the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. I'm not fond of hotel rooms that allowed smoking so I asked for a non-smoking room and was accomodated without hesitation. The extremities didnt do the hotel any justice. It's outdated and made the hotel look suspicious. It could use a little paint and a new street sign. The banquet dinner for the family reunion was prepared by the hotel staff. It was delicious!! The hotel "club" was so much fun. The DJ was very observant and played music according to what the patrons wanted. Customer service and cleanliness can make or break a hotel. The customer service was more than I could ask for. Great job Best Western Covington!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacked78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I usually look for Best Western on road trips because of the consistency. You pretty much know what you can expect. This one was at the lowest end of what I expect to get for $100+. The rooms are old and smelly. We had rode our Harleys over 200 miles and it was getting dark, so we weren't in the mood to be picky. The next exit heading south had no rooms and we were told there were no more hotels for another 30 miles. So we turned back, went to the previous exit and found the BW. There really isn't much better in the area so we stayed the night. Next time I would go another 30 miles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Smithfield, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Larger hotel chain right down the street did not offer a discount for Veterans or Military! Although this is an older hotel, it was well maintained and the stay pleasant. The location was great for the local area and surrounding attraction. I would stay here again on my next stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed there for one night and really enjoyed our stop there after a long drive.
The hotel has different parts, some rooms have a pool view, others have no view except the back alley and trees. We were very pleased to get a room located where we wished to: facing the entrance and the parking lot (with our car right in front of our door), and the mountains in the back.
The lady at front desk was absolutely wonderful. We felt we got a warm hospitality there.
Not much to do in Covington except the Humpback Bridge just a few miles from the hotel, so we went there - a quite interesting old wooden bridge.
Couldn't find any nice restaurant in town so we had dinner at the hotel Mountain View restaurant. We didn't regret it. Our waitress was so friendly, really. Food was good, my friend got a bacon chicken with rice, I got BBQ pork. Oh and quésadillas as appetizers, excellent ! Wine list was limited but we could get our White Zin and Chardonnay so that was OK.
It was a saturday and they had a DJ at the bar so the guests could come there, enjoy the music and dance. That was nice, and pretty quiet in fact, we stayed there for a while, beers were very reasonably priced. The noise of the music doesn't seem to come to the rooms. Some locals came too, and seeing us (too girls alone) they became a little bit insistant about dancing with us. Well, that wasn't a problem, the hotel had two security men at the entrance of the bar, and anyway we just declined the invitation and left. But if you like to dance, that can be fun and a plus, really.
Room was very comfortable and clean, large windows and good beds.
Breakfast was OK, it's a buffet, was good to start the day with such a big meal (eggs, sausages, bacon, potatoes) and good coffee.
A very pleasant stop, we would stay there again with no hesitation. We won't forget the warm hospitality we got there from this hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place was the closest to our destination for the day. Well marked entrance up to hotel and it was near a major highway. The place is showing it age. The employees were very friendly. The breakfast was included and very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 3,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Property: Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing