We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a hotel - it's a nightclub.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Reviewed June 18, 2013

You'll be awake all night listening and feeling the loud music from the bar/nightclub. The front desk is helpless against the General Manager that seems to think that the hotel should be loud.

The General Manager's name is Michael Keyser and this guy has no place in the hotel industry - he'd be better off selling hot-dogs at little league baseball games.

Be sure to get a room down the street at another hotel; unless you enjoy loud music all night - the bar closes at 2am. Plan on getting maybe 3 hours of sleep before you get back on the long road trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the bar. Don't bother trying to talk to the General Manager - he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank borninseventytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Expensive. Room was handicap. I don't know if using aarp discount made management believe we were handicapped . Shower had rubber mat to lay in tub. Toilet had plastic high riser instead of handicapped height toilet. Room smelled of urine. Free Full Hot Breakfast . We were given a sheet of paper with available choices separate and apart from the full menu. I ordered sausage gravy over biscuits. So salty you could not eat it. My advice go elsewhere The lobby was what sold us to stay, it was very deceiving.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room was great! A little wear and tear but not bad at all. Decor was nice...lighting was a little dim. The room appeared to be very clean. We had the prime rib buffet for dinner and it was wonderful! We had the buffet breakfast and it was okay....a little cold maybe...but good. The staff was very friendly. The bad part was that at 1:30 a.m. There were very loud guests outside our door as we were near the lobby. They were laughing and yelling so loudly that it woke us up. No doubt they came from the bar. We were actually a little frightened by it all as we thought they were fighting at first. It was just an uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVINITNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Passing through Covington, it was surprising how expensive hotels were here given the lack of tourist activity in the area. This Best Western was poorly maintained, expensive, and short on services. The staff was uninterested in the customer base, an example being the poor state of the computer/printer unit and the exercise room. My advice would be to go elsewhere and find better accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IdahoRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

One night stay. Cheaper and nicer than the next door motel. Nice breakfast (a little cold) is included in a dinning room with views !? The room is large, clean, well furnished and eqquipped (all in good working order). Staff freindly and helpful. What else do you need for a one night stay !? .

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitors818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room was large and had everything you would need, refrigerator, microwave, a self laundry downstairs . It was clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast was included and you ordered off a limited but adequate menu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happitrails2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been visiting Covington for 20 years and stayed at this hotel at least 50 times. Most recent trip was very disappointing. Poor lighting, poor water temp, cats everywhere, no newspaper available, noisy heater, lounge not clean, and exersize equipment not functional. The staff is very nice, but cannot make-up for shortages.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EDb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your recent stay here at Best Western Mountain View was not a success! I have looked over the problems you have listed and rest assured that the problems that we can take care of will be! We are currently working on upgrading our lighting in all guest rooms. I have not noticed any cats running around, but then again, with all the food business near us, there are probably some around. We can contact animal control to do a drive around the property. Our Maintenance Department is looking at adjusting the water temperature to accommodate the amount of guests that are at our hotel. We offer a newspaper box in the breezeway of the hotel. If you could please let us know which Exercise machine is not functioning, we will be glad to take care of it as our Fitness Room is rather new and all the equipment should be in excellent condition. We also recently replaced 10 air conditioner units and are working on replacing more! I have also forwarded your complaint in regards to the lounge, to the lounge manager. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and that your next visit is more pleasurable

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
PR Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
32 reviews
17 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,607 reviews
2 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Covington
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
59 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
67 reviews
21.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range: $103 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing