We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice room, nice hotel...rude guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Grottoes, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice hotel...rude guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room was great! A little wear and tear but not bad at all. Decor was nice...lighting was a little dim. The room appeared to be very clean. We had the prime rib buffet for dinner and it was wonderful! We had the buffet breakfast and it was okay....a little cold maybe...but good. The staff was very friendly. The bad part was that at 1:30 a.m. There were very loud guests outside our door as we were near the lobby. They were laughing and yelling so loudly that it woke us up. No doubt they came from the bar. We were actually a little frightened by it all as we thought they were fighting at first. It was just an uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVINITNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    44
    37
    38
See reviews for
65
48
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Passing through Covington, it was surprising how expensive hotels were here given the lack of tourist activity in the area. This Best Western was poorly maintained, expensive, and short on services. The staff was uninterested in the customer base, an example being the poor state of the computer/printer unit and the exercise room. My advice would be to go elsewhere and find better accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdahoRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

One night stay. Cheaper and nicer than the next door motel. Nice breakfast (a little cold) is included in a dinning room with views !? The room is large, clean, well furnished and eqquipped (all in good working order). Staff freindly and helpful. What else do you need for a one night stay !? .

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitors818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room was large and had everything you would need, refrigerator, microwave, a self laundry downstairs . It was clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast was included and you ordered off a limited but adequate menu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happitrails2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been visiting Covington for 20 years and stayed at this hotel at least 50 times. Most recent trip was very disappointing. Poor lighting, poor water temp, cats everywhere, no newspaper available, noisy heater, lounge not clean, and exersize equipment not functional. The staff is very nice, but cannot make-up for shortages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your recent stay here at Best Western Mountain View was not a success! I have looked over the problems you have listed and rest assured that the problems that we can take care of will be! We are currently working on upgrading our lighting in all guest rooms. I have not noticed any cats running around, but then again, with all the food business near us, there are probably some around. We can contact animal control to do a drive around the property. Our Maintenance Department is looking at adjusting the water temperature to accommodate the amount of guests that are at our hotel. We offer a newspaper box in the breezeway of the hotel. If you could please let us know which Exercise machine is not functioning, we will be glad to take care of it as our Fitness Room is rather new and all the equipment should be in excellent condition. We also recently replaced 10 air conditioner units and are working on replacing more! I have also forwarded your complaint in regards to the lounge, to the lounge manager. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and that your next visit is more pleasurable

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
PR Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

came in around 830 pm, checked in and went to the room. Went back out to visit friends in area and got back after 1030pm. Not much open at that time of night but we needed to sleep. Fire alarm battery went beep every 35 seconds all night long. but finally got to sleep. Breakfast ok.a little cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancer62va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear One Night Stay,

Thank you for staying with us at Best Western Mountain View, we value your stay and your opinion.
We have taken note of your complaint in regards to the fire alarm beeping and would like to take care of this immediately so that it may not affect another guest! If you could contact the hotel with the room number that you were in, this problem can easily be fixed, if it hasn't already! Again, we thank you for being valued guest at our hotel.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
PR. Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of those hotels with the walkway on the outside. As a result, it's disconcerting to open your blinds less someone look in and see what you're doing. The room was clean, but there was kind of a smell in the bathroom. A little mildewish, but nothing too bad. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and there is free breakfast (but I did not take advantage of it). The best part was the wi-fi. It was super easy to get on and it was very fast and reliable. Other than that, there was little to rave about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnchantedRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 3,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 5 in Covington
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Property: Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing