We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We found this hotel many years ago, and stay there on our way to and from the Outer Banks. We like it because it's always clean, and updated from year to year. Yes, I wish the price wasn't so high, but at least we know what we are getting. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and we like the hot breakfast. It's always a good stay for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our property. We appreciate
your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing our motel and the Best Western brand.

We truly appreciate your business. Hope to see you again sometime in your travels.

Sincerely,

Michael Keyser,
General Manager
Best Western Mountain View
Covington, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    47
    40
    43
See reviews for
70
51
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

First thing we heard when checking in was the thumping of loud music. There is a nite club located within the hotel that plays their music extremely loud. This is a absolute disregard for its guests, this is a hotel above all and guests check in to get some rest. This is absolutely impossible with the music resonating from the nite club till 2am! There is a sign at the front desk notifying hotel guests that if the noise is a problem they can stay at a "sister property". When asks the front desk attendant stated that we were better off staying here.

Granted this is a Friday night and lucky us, we're booked for two nights. I'm sure Saturday night won't be any better. This probably isn't a problem during non party nights of the week.

Room was semi clean and no sign of bed bugs, bedspread had some suspicious substance on it.

In closing, after 6 hours of driving in the pouring rain, all we wanted to do was relax and get some rest but that wont be happening for 2.5 hours (until nite club closes).

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the nite club as possible when booking your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffin, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The price was a little high but the room was very clean and moderatly spacious. They had a nice pool and a lovely mountain view! The breakfast was great, so many choices. It was a very good stay overall!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank your for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our property. We
appreciate the nice comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We definitely appreciate your business and hope that we may serve you again in the
future.

Sincerely,

Michael Keyser,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upnorth Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was a convenient location for us to stop for the night. We were happy that there was a restaurant/bar on the premises. For those of you that still smoke, they have smoking rooms and you can smoke in their bar. The desk clerk, general manager and staff were great! We like being able to park right by our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our property. We appreciate your taking
the time to give us your feedback.

We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Best Western.

Sincerely,

Michael Keyser,
General Manager
Best Western Mountain View
Covington, VA 24426
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently, (July 2012) had an opportunity to visit Covington, VA on business. Normally, I'm a Hampton Inn or Courtyard customer, but with no facilities in Covington, I decided to take a chance on the Best Western. I found the Best Western to be a very pleasant surprise. The room was clean and comfortable. The room amenities were more than adequate and included things I don't get in the other hotels, like fridge and microwave. The room was value priced at about $50 less than I usually spend and included a full breakfast. Staff was friendly and the room was quiet. Also, a great benefit for me, the A/C worked great! One last thing, the free internet service was very fast, which is becoming a problem at many hotels these days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your stay at our property. We appreciate
the feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We thank you for choosing Best Western and hope that we can be of service to you again
in the future.

Sincerely,


Michael Keyser,
General Manager
Best Western Mountain View
Covington, VA 24426
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I were on our way to Williamsburg, VA when we were caught in the massive power outage throughout the eastern part of the US. We kept traveling down I-77 and realized that there was no gas to be had, no food, no bathrooms, no place to stop and feel safe, and our Verizon cells were out. It was a scary situation. We ended up at Mountain View and were greeted as if we were family. This owner did everything he could to meet our needs as best he could. There was no electricity, etc. but he offered whatever he had available. He only charged $20 for the night - he could have made a fortune but chose to be a "light" in a very dark moment. They had lost much of their food because of the power outage but we heard him tell the employees to get out everything they had available to feed the people.

This motel is older but was clean and the pool was quite nice. We would not hesitate to stay here again - only this time it would be by choice. A huge thank you to this gentlemen who wasn't closing his inn but rather was doing all he could for others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your experience at our property.

We appreciate the comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

We appreciate your business very much.

Thanks again,

Michael Keyser,
General Manager
Best Western Mountain View
Covington, VA 24426
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for the Greenbrier classic golf tournament (2nd year staying here for the tournament) and have no complaints. Now, this hotel is NOT the homestead or the Greenbrier (both of which we have stayed in) but the hotel is easy to find (right off the interstate), clean and has most of what you need. Pool, ice, restaurant, bar....Food is not 5 star mind you but is good and its right on site.

Already booked for next years tournament if that tells you anything. The staff is VERY nice and very helpful. The lady working the desk when we checked in had no power at her house but was upbeat and not complaining.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wipledale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4,696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
16 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
37 reviews
21.1 mi away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
207 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Property: Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing