We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dinner, local place - good price food soso” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of D and J Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
D and J Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Covington
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little dinner, local place - good price food soso”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have eaten here many times in the past but were dissapointed this time. There were only a few other customers but our breakfast was quite cold - eggs, bacon and biskets. They offered to warm it but scrambled eggs do not do well in a microwave and they already tasted like they had been wrarmed over once. The bisket gravy was good but again was not as hot as one would expect and the biskets were cold so the meal was not satisfactory, The waitress seemed more interested in talking with her girl friend then checking on our coffee, etc. Unfortunately after looking forward to visiting again we will probably not be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Needs a deep clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I were in town for a funeral, we don't live there in Covington. We try to eat local to support local businesses, but this place was awful. The table and floors were sticky, the waitress NEVER washed her hands but was touching everything and then touched my food, and the menu was terrible. I ordered a ham sandwich, because I thought it was a safe bet- this is what I got: one slice of Kraft cheese, one slice of ham from a package between two pieces of white bread. What?! No mayo, mustard, lettuce, onion, tomato, etc? Who in the world eats plain cheese (Kraft?!) and ham on white bread. My other family member's meals weren't any better either. Yeah this place is cheap but who wants cheap food if it doesn't taste good?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UtahandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HomeCooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes, this is a Mom&Pop's place and yes it it definitely dated and yes the service can be slow at times. But you can't beat the home-style cooking. As mentioned before the menu is limited but they have the best fried chicken around.....broasted. Good home-style vegetables and a small salad bar. This is not the place to go if you're looking to be seen, but a good place to go for a good meal at a good price. They have a Sunday special on the 3-pc chicken dinner w/ 2-sides for $5.65. Would probably cost you $10 or more @ KFC and much better sides.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VaWhiteTailHunterVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local Mom and Pop Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for breakfast. Older Mom and Pop type place. Limited menu. Locals were shouting at each other across booths. One waitress so service a little slow. Could use some paint. Kind of looking for Barney Fife and Sheriff Taylor to walk in the door. We would come back. Try to patronize local businesses when we travel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krdrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D and J Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D and J Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing