We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not new, but spruced up. Staff was very friendly and helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Covington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not new, but spruced up. Staff was very friendly and helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was late; we had been driving all day and lost track of the time with no plans for accommodations for the night. We had tried every hotel in town and there wasn't a room to be found anywhere! After calling the main reservation number for this place (we had a heck of a time finding it as the GPS sent us to some mobile home park up in the hills), we drove in and asked if they had anything. The manager on duty was very helpful and apologetic, but the only room they had left was a smoking room and was experiencing a problem with its door lock such that no key cards could be programmed for it. Well, that's way safer than a Wal-Mart parking lot (which was our only alternative at that point), so I was happy to take it. He showed me the room before doing any paperwork, just to be sure that we'd be satisfied before checking in. We were; I expected a stinky room (I hate smoking rooms) but I would never have known it was a "smoking" room. He also suggested (since we were tired) a local pizza delivery and gave me the menu so we could just park ourselves in the room for the night (it was fast and tasty). Given our circumstances (desperate for a room, tired, etc.), I would have expected to get gouged on the price but we got the a rate either at or close to what you see here on Tripadvisor, AND he also asked if we were AAA members so that he could extend that discount. This motel/motor lodge is not new and it harks back to a time when rooms were smaller and you walked up diamond-plate metal steps and across outside corridors to get to the rooms. I have no problem with that style of accommodation, as long as it is clean and well maintained---and this was. The rooms were recently renovated and very attractive, offering an excellent use of the smaller space. Breakfast was OK (again, clean and maintained---all I can really ask for from free breakfast buffets!). The morning staff was also very friendly and helpful. If we're ever in Covington again we would certainly be happy to stay at this place again---even if there were other rooms available in other hotels in town!

Room Tip: Try to get away from the stairwells if you can. We were close to the steps and heard people as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_S_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    23
    24
    21
See reviews for
35
20
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here during the 2014 Greenbrier Classic Golf tournament and were certainly gouged on price. Normally this hotel's rate is well under $100, but we were gouged for $239 plus taxes. The hotel was in no uncertain terms, nasty! Unknown substances on the bed linens, shower curtains and towels were "gray" from overuse. In, general, everywhere you looked, it was dirty. I also woke up after the first night with several insect bites. Had we had any other alternative, we would have left the first night, but unfortunately we had a lot of money invested in the trip, tickets for the tournament, concerts, etc. If this is your only option, just stay home. Avoid this place entirely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Hotel is easy to find-bathroom was recently remodeled-no problem with the A/C. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I was skeptical of the reviews on here as to stay or not, but needed a close place to the Greenbrier and this was only a half hour away. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This newly remodeled Quality was very cozy and modern. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and breakfast was very adequate. The only disadvantage was they had satellite TV and wifi and it stormed the night we were there thus messing up the wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moli K, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Covington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you.

We hope to serve you even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here because the prices for other hotels in Covington were almost double the price. I was warned by local friends that the location was sketchy, but we decided it was worth the risk. We arrived in town for a wedding around 2 pm, and were able to check-in fairly quickly. The room was decent, and looked ok overall. We quickly changed and didn't return until after the wedding around 9 pm. The people in the rooms around us were loud. The toilet was not set properly, and would wobble. The a/c was awful. It apparently had an energy-saving feature that caused it to run for a few minutes and then shut off for several minutes. It didn't get cool in the room until sometime in the middle of the night. While we were preparing to leave, my wife found press-on nails left on the counter, as well as a disgusting stain on the bed under the sheets. We would gladly pay the extra money for another hotel if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Check in was slow but adequate. Traveled there on business so 4 of us took about 30 minutes to get our keys. No one else was ahead of us. One of my party had major disfunction with his room key and had to get another room. hour later he got a room. Room was clean although the bathroom could have used a little more attention to detail. clean towels. Small room. I stayed in a single king on the first floor and could hear footsteps in the room above me pretty vividly which, to me, is very annoying. but slept ok in a comfortable bed with 4 pillows. Housekeeping staff is very friendly. The guy that checked us in was still there at midnight and there in the morning, He was there in the afternoon after we returned from work and is still here! HMM.. Any way this place is OK but no places within walking distance for dinner, but, had some great restaurants available for delivery. OK place for a slow season if your looking for price. It was quiet and slept OK. the continental breakfast was below average. Do yourself and the local economy afavor walk down the street for a meal in the morning, your not going to miss the hotel breakfast savings at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312seanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Not sure what all the other reviews were about but I stayed in 102 for two nights when I was there, everything was tidy and neat. Room service came later in the afternoon instead of the usual 11am-12pm check out times. We stayed while all the paper factory contractors were out of town and only 3 other people stayed there.

The only bad about this place is the seemingly lackadaisical management style. Milk was expired for 11 days and breakfast was all pre-frozen microwaveable food. When I brought the milk to the attention of management who happened to be an Indian owner, he said, "You look like a tough guy, should be no problem." Not an apology offered nor any compensation given.

I'm an easy-going, low-maintenance type of person so from a room perspective it was cheap ($77 with military discount). Cheapest in the town of Covington. From a management perspective, horrible, I rather not deal with them. Just give me my room and leave me alone.

Oh, place is not pet friendly FYI. We had a dog with us, but if you get caught its a $250 fine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Itbecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
1.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
23.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Covington

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Address: 429 W Main St, Covington, VA 24426-1518 (Formerly Quality Inn Covington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Covington 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing