We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Recently remodeled, not as clean as it should be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Covington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Havre de Grace, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recently remodeled, not as clean as it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

This Quality Inn was recently remodeled with modern furniture, new beds, etc. This is the only hotel in downtown Covington and is located very close to the MeadWestvaco paper mill. I think a lot of contractors that work at the mill must stay here as the carpets and linens in my room were stained and there were boot scuff marks on the walls and doors. There were a lot of work trucks in the parking lot the night I was there.

The room was comfortable however when I checked in I had to wipe down several surfaces as there were remnants of spills, dust, and dirt on the furniture. Housekeeping obviously leaves a lot to be desired. The bed was in good shape and I slept well. The HVAC unit was quiet and worked well.

I usually say something to management if a room isn't reasonably clean but I was in a rush to leave the next morning so I can't comment on a response from management.

I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior61323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    24
    29
    28
See reviews for
40
22
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a good value and decent place. The room furnishings were new, the bed comfortable, the bathroom updated. The room was pretty small, but that was not an issue for us. The breakfast was very good - comparable to what we get at the Hampton Inns where we usually stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here wth two friends. Visited Lewisburg and White Sulphur Springs and this is the closest we could get to those because of WV state fair. As others have said, the room was recently redecorated - mod 70's type decor - comfortable beds - and OK continental breakfast. Had flat screen tv. Covington itself does not have much to offer or if it did we did not see it. Only negative about hotel itself was that the lights were very dim in room - I know that is to keep down energy costs but would have preferred a little brighter I thought the rate was a little high - $139 - but I am assuming rates were higher because of the fair. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I checked Tripadvisor before booking and Covington is quite small so not much choice and the reviews are all a bit old but this looked like the best choice and on reflection we made the right choice. The reception is quite modern in decor with a breakfast room off it. The receptionist was very welcoming and switched us to a king size bed which we prefer. Although is was after 5pm she went and double checked the room was all ready for us. The doors on the lower floor open on to the parking lot and we were able to park outside our door, however, there were several oversize trucks and some other bad parking which made the oddly shaped car park a tight squeeze. There is an additional parking lot across the road.
The room itself was perfectly clean, fresh white bedding (comfy comforter on top), with a flat screen tv. The room also has an iron/board hidden away and a small desk with 2 chairs. The bathroom is all a kind of marble, and is a good size.
Breakfast was included and was from 6-10 during the week. There was tea/coffee/juice/cereal/toast/bagels/pastries/fruit and bacon/egg. More than adequate. There was also an ice machine and drinks vending machine.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to recommend as what it is - good value, clean, basic accommodation.
There isn't that much in the local area, although we did find an Applebees, several pizza delivery companies, Walmart, cvs etc. We chose Covington as we wanted to visit the Humpback (covered) Bridge, which is apx 3 miles away, Moomaw lake is also not far.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galaxy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel was more than I expected by far. The rooms were so nice and clean. they seemed to be modern and up to day. Granit tops, fridge, and the colors were beautiful. The staff were nice. The breakfast was more than normal, including eggs, toast, bacon, bagels, yogart, and so much more. Bathrooms were a little small but the hotel is worth every penny, which wasnt many. I would recommend anyone to stay there and we would again anytime.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaFurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Md
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

When we were told of this hotel I really wasn't sure of it.
What a nice suprise. This hotel has been completely remodeled and WOW how beautiful. After traveling for almost 7 hours with three children (2, 4 and 8 years old), we were ready for rest. The beds were also a nice suprise. Linens like a 5 star hotel and the bed slept like a dream. The staff was very kind and gracious. The breakfast room was exceptionally cleaned and stocked well. Everything was so very nice. Thanks for a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank precious8006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel was beautiful, clean, and the beds were a dream! We reserved 3 rooms for a weekend family celebration and was GREATLY impressed with facility and customer service. Great management!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chessieRichmond_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
1.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Covington

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Address: 429 W Main St, Covington, VA 24426-1518 (Formerly Quality Inn Covington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Covington 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing