We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amityville Horror - Creepy -Better to Drive Further Down The Road” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Compare Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compare Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Covington B&B and Inns
Amherst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amityville Horror - Creepy -Better to Drive Further Down The Road”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Didn't know this area, was traveling back to Ohio. Walked in to front desk, young man was nice, but the place is creepy. Went across the parking lot to our building where our room was, walked in where we were told to walk in, walked into a empty room with chairs on the table, smelled and looked creepy. Got into our room, the light did not go on, the head boards were slanted and looked like they were ready to fall. Room smelled. This is a creepy place. We went back to the front desk and got our money back and did not stay.

Room Tip: Nothing Good to Say About This Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParentofCollegeKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
5
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed once before and was in their "Executive" Annex with a lot of dogs in other rooms making a lot of noise and the chlorine smell from the "spa" infiltrating the hallways. The WiFi is non-existent and the a/c unit rattles and chugs... but... even the "annex" doesn't beat my recent stay... I was put in a room on the top floor of an office building. Walking down the hall I felt as if I may go through the floor because of the creaks and wavy areas. The hallways stank and were poorly lit. The room smelled of urine and stale grease. There were bugs running across the bathroom tiles and the bathroom had not been cleaned. The comforter looked as if it hadn't been changed or washed since 1980. the front desk staff acted extremely put upon when I requested another room and even the room I was moved to wasn't much better. Looking back on it... I should have slept in my car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SystematicVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Although my rating is "average", there is no rating that adequately represents my stay at this motel. Passing through the area and decided to stop for the evening. Not sure why but motel rates in Covington seem higher than comparable motels in other similar areas. This motel (it's definitely not a B&B) was suggested by a local we met as clean and low cost. The property is unusual because it consists of a brick bldg with inside accessed rooms on 2 floors (told to us as previously a Comfort Inn, I doubt this but possible) and 2 or more other bldgs housing suites, front desk and a conference area. We took a room in the front brick bldg, non smoking double, 1st floor. It turned out to be a heavy smoking room with an ashtray and burns on the carpet. The ground floor window had a rigged stop to keep it from being opened more than 6" but still seemed unsafe. The not very comfortable beds were positioned on foundations that were larger than the mattresses, leaving metal bedframe pieces sticking out at the right height to bang your shins. The shower faucet did not work. The flusher on the toilet broke requiring manual operation. As if this were not enough, we noticed a large slug taking up residence at the top of the wall, out of our reach (we would have loved to help him out). Where is my "terrible" rating? First, I have to think that this comedy of errors is not normal and most important, when we told the story at checkout, the front desk clerk promptly and to our satisfaction, adjusted our bill. The room rate was originally $78+; 2 other Covington motels have the same owners, Best Western Mountain View (where you eat a wonderful free breakfast when staying at the Compare Inn) rate $111+ and America's Best Value rate $66+. The Compare Inn has a friendly staff and the room had mini fridge.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank goneagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

There was loud music and people drinking in the parking lot outside our window until 6 AM in the morning. The front desk did not answer the first 2 times we called and said they couldn't help the 3rd. Best Western across street is owned by the same people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy4458101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The hotel is now called Compare Inn. The service was good, the front desk allowed us to stay until 3:30 while we were trying to find a traler tire. the only reason we stayed here was because we had a flat on the highway. Had to leave the boat and trailer. the people here are very friendly and helpful. the place is very quiet and reasonable. I paid $80 a night. The A/C did not work and in the summer, that was not very comfortable. they allow pets which is nice. Full breakfast, but you have to drive across the street to Best Western (owned by the same guy) to get breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking_Hus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

Our daughter was married in Covington the first weekend in October. We, her sisters, brother, & a few friends came up from Orlando. The bride's grandmother, aunts, uncles, and cousins came down from Pennsylvania. We had 9 rooms in all!. They were clean and neat. The included breakfast was much more than pastires and cold cereal. The staff was friendly and helpful. Any of us would definitely return and we will be recommending this hotel to anyone who asks. Thank you, Compare Inn, you made our stay so much more enjoyable!

  • Liked — How helpful staff was in getting rooms assigned to wedding guests/how well maintained
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

Loved the grounds of this B&B and the rooms were well decorated with powerful A/C.

Breakfast in the morning was yummy and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The rural setting was lovely and seeing the starry sky at night was amazing!!!

Some of the rooms have a modern bathroom and some have a clawfoot tub, so if you like a modern shower try to get one of those rooms.

The cons: very close to the interstate which takes away from the whole rural feeling, and no internet!

  • Liked — The room decor and breakfast.
  • Disliked — The location... remote and rural Virginia. Maybe a plus for some.
  • Tips/Secrets — See review.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank petchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
5.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compare Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compare Inn and Suites

Property: Compare Inn and Suites
Address: 203 Interstate Dr, Covington, VA 24426-6441
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compare Inn is set atop a hill in the beautiful Allegheny Mountains. You will enjoy the experience of friendly staff, great food,and accommodations like that of home with breathtaking views and convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Compare Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing