We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely diversion in Bath/ Allegheny counties”
Review of Lake Moomaw

Lake Moomaw
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Covington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There's something for everyone at Lake Moomaw, from hiking and swimming to fishing.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely diversion in Bath/ Allegheny counties”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent some time at Lake Moomaw on a recent weekend trip to the VA mountains. The lake itself is very nice, and the facilities are well-kept and clean. As another reviewer mentioned, it is not the easiest lake to find, but the drives are very scenic, as well. So, as long as you are not in a rush, locating the lake can be a part of the relaxing trip. We chose to picnic near one of the swim areas because most of the picnic areas were offset from the lake, with no views of the lake. However, there are picnic tables right next to the lake near the marina, which we discovered on a second trip to the lake after our picnic. We saw deer several times while we were driving around the lake, as well as red squirrel and chipmunks. This is a very lovely lake in the mountains, and is a great option for taking in the mountain views without having to hike. Many of the parking areas to access the picnic and swim areas are honor pay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank maashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

It's a great place for boating, though I wouldn't recommend swimming there

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank travlinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice clean lake and facilities”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a very nice lake to visit. Good fishing and places to swim and picnic. A little out of the way but worth the drive.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidinVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“God's country indeed!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our gps was useless in the mountains, so bring a good map. Otherwise you're not going to have an easy time finding the large lake. It was a reconnaissance trip so we were just looking to picnic and swim somewhere. This place was amazing! Mountains all around the lake, and clean clear water, God's country indeed! We saw one boat the whole time we were there, and were the only people there for most of the time. Small swimming area, probably better for a boat (not a rowboat!) and some fishing. Great place to relax! Clean showers and restrooms too. Make sure to bring some food and water, nothing's around otherwise.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Got2Teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanardsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful Lake!”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The lake is really beautiful....it is an emerald shade of green when you are in it and looks like the waters of Jamaica from a distance.

Helpful?
5 Thank BengalCatMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Moomaw also viewed

 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Lake Moomaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing